VRSK · Technology(services-computer processing & data preparation) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Verisk Analytics, Inc. reported revenue of $3.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 1.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 26.7% in 2019 to 43.7%, and it earned 15.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $7.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 91.1% went to buybacks and 22.8% to acquisitions; the share count fell 15.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 6.12 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.1B+1.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin43.7%gross margin 69.9%
Return on invested capital15.8%19.0% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.1B37.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.6×net debt 4.1B
Piotroski F-score6/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2019Revenue 2.6BOperating income 696.9M
2020
2020
2020
2020Revenue 2.3BOperating income 956.3M
2021Revenue 2.5BOperating income 911.4M
2022Revenue 2.5BOperating income 1.4B
2023Revenue 2.7BOperating income 1.1B
2024Revenue 2.9BOperating income 1.3B
2025Revenue 3.1BOperating income 1.3B
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+7.2%
+6.2%
+1.8%
Operating income
-1.5%
+7.0%
+7.6%
Net income
-1.6%
+5.0%
+8.1%
Earnings per share
+2.6%
+8.5%
+10.2%
Free cash flow per share
+19.9%
+11.4%
+7.5%
Dividend per share
+13.4%
+11.0%
+6.9%
Shares
-4.1%
-3.3%
-1.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 4.3%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2019Return on invested capital 9.3%
2020
2020
2020
2020Return on invested capital 11.9%
2021Return on invested capital 9.9%
2022Return on invested capital 16.9%
2023Return on invested capital 26.4%
2024Return on invested capital 26.2%
2025Return on invested capital 15.8%
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2019Economic profit 297.5M
2020
2020
2020
2020Economic profit 487.3M
2021Economic profit 397.9M
2022Economic profit 865.1M
2023Economic profit 708.7M
2024Economic profit 811.0M
2025Economic profit 758.8M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
293.9%
Return on assets
14.7%
Asset turnover
0.50×
Research & development
1.3% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
14.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2019Net income 449.9MFree cash flow 739.5MAfter stock-based pay 696.8M
2020
2020
2020
2020Net income 712.7MFree cash flow 821.4MAfter stock-based pay 773.8M
2021Net income 666.2MFree cash flow 887.3MAfter stock-based pay 831.6M
2022Net income 953.9MFree cash flow 784.3MAfter stock-based pay 727.8M
2023Net income 614.6MFree cash flow 830.7MAfter stock-based pay 776.7M
2024Net income 958.2MFree cash flow 920.1MAfter stock-based pay 872.2M
2025Net income 908.3MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2019–2025
7.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 22%1.7B
Acquisitions 23%1.8B
Dividends 19%1.5B
Share buybacks 91%7.2B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -55%-4.3B
Over the same years it paid 358.6M in stock. The share count fell 15.9%. 6.8B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.50$5.00$7.50$10.00
2019Earnings per share $2.70Free cash flow per share $4.44Dividend per share $0.98
2020
2020
2020
2020Earnings per share $4.31Free cash flow per share $4.97Dividend per share $1.06
2021Earnings per share $4.08Free cash flow per share $5.43Dividend per share $1.15
2022Earnings per share $6.00Free cash flow per share $4.93Dividend per share $1.23
2023Earnings per share $4.17Free cash flow per share $5.64Dividend per share $1.34
2024Earnings per share $6.71Free cash flow per share $6.44Dividend per share $1.55
2025Earnings per share $6.48Free cash flow per share $8.51Dividend per share $1.79
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
140.0M150.0M160.0M170.0M
2019Diluted shares 166.6M
2020
2020
2020
2020Diluted shares 165.3M
2021Diluted shares 163.3M
2022Diluted shares 158.9M
2023Diluted shares 147.3M
2024Diluted shares 142.8M
2025Diluted shares 140.1M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2019Net debt 3.5B
2020
2020
2020
2020Net debt 3.5B
2021Net debt 4.2B
2022Net debt 5.0B
2023Net debt 2.6B
2024Net debt 3.3B
2025Net debt 4.1B
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.6×
Interest coverage
8× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.20 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 50d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
6.12safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.56+0.49
Retained earnings ÷ assets 1.26 × 3.26+4.11
Operating income ÷ assets 0.22 × 6.72+1.46
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.05 × 1.05+0.06
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.96below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.91+0.84
Gross margin slipping 0.98+0.52
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.07+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.05-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.09-0.40
Leverage rising 1.12-0.37
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
85% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$408.47discounted at 4.3% a year · 85% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
63.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
38.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
20.0×
Free cash flow yield
2.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today9.4B
Everything after, today51.9B
The whole business61.3B
Minus net debt-4.1B
What belongs to shareholders57.2B
Divided among 140.1M shares: <strong>$408.47</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2019Reported 696.8M
2020
2020
2020
2020Reported 773.8M
2021Reported 831.6M
2022Reported 727.8M
2023Reported 776.7M
2024Reported 872.2M
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Projected 970.2M
2027Projected 1.0B
2028Projected 1.1B
2029Projected 1.1B
2030Projected 1.2B
2031Projected 1.2B
2032Projected 1.3B
2033Projected 1.3B
2034Projected 1.4B
2035Projected 1.4B
2019202020202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
3.3B
3.4B
3.6B
3.8B
4.0B
4.1B
4.3B
4.4B
4.5B
4.7B
Growth
6.0%
5.6%
5.2%
4.8%
4.4%
4.1%
3.7%
3.3%
2.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
29.8%
Free cash flow
970.2M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
1.4B
Worth today
930.2M
941.9M
950.3M
955.2M
956.5M
954.3M
948.5M
939.2M
926.5M
910.6M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
3.3%
425
589
958
2,559
—
3.8%
325
416
577
940
2,509
4.3%
261
319
408
567
924
4.8%
217
256
312
400
555
5.3%
184
212
251
306
392
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
23.8%
267
296
327
361
397
26.8%
301
333
368
405
446
29.8%
335
370
408
450
495
32.8%
368
407
449
495
544
35.8%
402
444
490
540
593
All the inputs moving at once
3,862 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 4.5%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$191.93
Median$346.00
90th percentile$610.56
$200.00$400.00$600.00$800.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$250.65</b> and <b>$475.71</b>; one in ten below $191.93, one in ten above $610.56.
Does the long run make sense?
32.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 32.5 times that year's EBITDA.
21%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 12% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 21% on the new capital — it has earned 19% on average over the last five years.
85%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.9M5 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans80%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.