WDAY · Technology(services-computer processing & data preparation) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-31
Workday, Inc. reported revenue of $9.6 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 22.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -22.4% in 2017 to 7.5%, and it earned 4.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $14.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 43.0% went to acquisitions and 28.4% to buybacks. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.72 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20269.6B+22.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin7.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital4.6%0.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.2B12.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.6×net debt 1.5B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5.0B05.0B10.0B
2017Revenue 1.6BOperating income -353.1M
2018Revenue 2.1BOperating income -303.2M
2019Revenue 2.8BOperating income -463.3M
2020Revenue 3.6BOperating income -502.2M
2021Revenue 4.3BOperating income -248.6M
2022Revenue 5.1BOperating income -116.0M
2023Revenue 6.2BOperating income -222.0M
2024Revenue 7.3BOperating income 183.0M
2025Revenue 8.4BOperating income 415.0M
2026Revenue 9.6BOperating income 721.0M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+15.4%
+17.2%
+22.2%
Free cash flow per share
+26.9%
—
—
Shares
+1.7%
+2.5%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
8.9%
Return on assets
3.8%
Asset turnover
0.53×
Research & development
28.0% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
9.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Net income -384.7MFree cash flow 229.8MAfter stock-based pay -142.5M
2018Net income -321.2MFree cash flow 324.2MAfter stock-based pay -154.2M
2019Net income -418.3MFree cash flow 404.2MAfter stock-based pay -248.3M
2020Net income -480.7M
2021Net income -282.4M
2022Net income 29.0M
2023Net income -367.0MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay -2.0M
2024Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 501.0M
2025Net income 526.0MFree cash flow 2.2BAfter stock-based pay 673.0M
2026Net income 693.0MFree cash flow 2.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026
14.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 10%1.5B
Acquisitions 43%6.2B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 28%4.1B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 18%2.6B
Over the same years it paid 10.3B in stock. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2017
2018
2019
2020Earnings per share $-2.12
2021Earnings per share $-1.19
2022Earnings per share $0.11
2023Earnings per share $-1.44Free cash flow per share $5.07
2024Earnings per share $5.21Free cash flow per share $7.23
2025Earnings per share $1.95Free cash flow per share $8.14
2026Earnings per share $2.58Free cash flow per share $10.36
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
220.0M240.0M260.0M280.0M
2017
2018
2019
2020Diluted shares 227.2M
2021Diluted shares 237.0M
2022Diluted shares 254.0M
2023Diluted shares 254.8M
2024Diluted shares 265.3M
2025Diluted shares 269.2M
2026Diluted shares 268.1M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2017
2018
2019
2020Net debt 531.1M
2021Net debt 410.8M
2022Net debt 305.8M
2023Net debt 1.1B
2024Net debt 968.0M
2025Net debt 1.4B
2026Net debt 1.5B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.6×
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.32 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 89d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.72grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.56+0.74
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.03 × 3.26-0.09
Operating income ÷ assets 0.04 × 6.72+0.27
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.76 × 1.05+0.80
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.78below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.06+0.97
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.37+0.55
Sales growth 1.13+1.01
Slower depreciation 0.92+0.11
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.12-0.58
Leverage rising 1.09-0.36
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (162M) is well below depreciation (237M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.