DOC · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Healthpeak Properties, Inc. reported revenue of $604.0 million in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 13.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 22.3% in 2016 to 97.6%, and it earned 3.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $9.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 78.8% went to dividends and 74.7% back into the business; the share count rose 48.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025604.0M-13.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin97.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital3.3%3.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay342.6M56.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.7×net debt 9.4B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Revenue 2.1BOperating income 475.8M
2017Revenue 524.3MOperating income 318.6M
2018Revenue 144.2MOperating income 258.7M
2019Revenue 144.3MOperating income 209.0M
2020Revenue 436.5MOperating income 436.0M
2021Revenue 471.3MOperating income 286.3M
2022Revenue 494.9MOperating income 680.1M
2023Revenue 527.4MOperating income 515.3M
2024Revenue 568.5MOperating income 553.6M
2025Revenue 604.0MOperating income 589.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+6.9%
+6.7%
-13.1%
Operating income
-4.7%
+6.2%
+2.4%
Net income
-47.8%
-29.6%
-21.5%
Earnings per share
-52.0%
-33.3%
-24.9%
Free cash flow per share
—
—
-12.0%
Dividend per share
+0.5%
-3.8%
-5.8%
Shares
+8.9%
+5.6%
+4.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.2%
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2016Return on invested capital 2.0%
2017Return on invested capital 2.1%
2018Return on invested capital 6.1%
2019Return on invested capital 2.8%
2020Return on invested capital 3.1%
2021Return on invested capital 2.2%
2022Return on invested capital 5.1%
2023Return on invested capital 3.8%
2024Return on invested capital 3.2%
2025Return on invested capital 3.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-800.0M-600.0M-400.0M-200.0M0
2016Economic profit -771.2M
2017Economic profit -667.3M
2018Economic profit -129.4M
2019Economic profit -554.4M
2020Economic profit -548.9M
2021Economic profit -638.8M
2022Economic profit -277.5M
2023Economic profit -457.5M
2024Economic profit -693.8M
2025Economic profit -685.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
1.0%
Return on assets
0.4%
Asset turnover
0.03×
Overheads (SG&A)
15.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 627.7MFree cash flow 755.2MAfter stock-based pay 732.3M
2017Net income 414.2MFree cash flow 375.3MAfter stock-based pay 361.0M
2018Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 287.8MAfter stock-based pay 271.3M
2019Net income 45.5MFree cash flow 168.8MAfter stock-based pay 150.6M
2020Net income 413.6MFree cash flow -30.5MAfter stock-based pay -47.8M
2021Net income 505.5MFree cash flow 35.5MAfter stock-based pay 17.3M
2022Net income 500.4MFree cash flow -61.7MAfter stock-based pay -88.2M
2023Net income 306.0MFree cash flow 181.7MAfter stock-based pay 167.2M
2024Net income 243.1MFree cash flow 333.7MAfter stock-based pay 318.2M
2025Net income 71.3MFree cash flow 357.0MAfter stock-based pay 342.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
9.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 75%7.1B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 79%7.5B
Share buybacks 4%407.5M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -58%-5.5B
Over the same years it paid 178.3M in stock. The share count rose 48.9%. 229.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-1.00$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2016Earnings per share $1.34Free cash flow per share $1.62Dividend per share $2.10
2017Earnings per share $0.88Free cash flow per share $0.80Dividend per share $1.48
2018Earnings per share $2.23Free cash flow per share $0.61Dividend per share $1.47
2019Earnings per share $0.09Free cash flow per share $0.34Dividend per share $1.47
2020Earnings per share $0.78Free cash flow per share $-0.06Dividend per share $1.48
2021Earnings per share $0.94Free cash flow per share $0.07Dividend per share $1.21
2022Earnings per share $0.93Free cash flow per share $-0.11Dividend per share $1.20
2023Earnings per share $0.56Free cash flow per share $0.33Dividend per share $1.20
2024Earnings per share $0.36Free cash flow per share $0.49Dividend per share $1.18
2025Earnings per share $0.10Free cash flow per share $0.51Dividend per share $1.22
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
400.0M500.0M600.0M700.0M
2016Diluted shares 467.4M
2017Diluted shares 468.9M
2018Diluted shares 475.4M
2019Diluted shares 489.3M
2020Diluted shares 531.1M
2021Diluted shares 539.2M
2022Diluted shares 539.1M
2023Diluted shares 547.3M
2024Diluted shares 676.2M
2025Diluted shares 696.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2016Net debt 9.0B
2017Net debt 7.7B
2018Net debt 5.4B
2019Net debt 6.2B
2020Net debt 6.6B
2021Net debt 6.0B
2022Net debt 6.4B
2023Net debt 6.8B
2024Net debt 8.6B
2025Net debt 9.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
5.7×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 3.3%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 5.7 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$13.17discounted at 7.2% a year · 65% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
128.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
11.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
30.7×
Free cash flow yield
3.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today6.5B
Everything after, today12.0B
The whole business18.5B
Minus net debt-9.4B
What belongs to shareholders9.2B
Divided among 696.0M shares: <strong>$13.17</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Reported 732.3M
2017Reported 361.0M
2018Reported 271.3M
2019Reported 150.6M
2020Reported -47.8M
2021Reported 17.3M
2022Reported -88.2M
2023Reported 167.2M
2024Reported 318.2M
2025Reported 342.6M
2026Projected 768.1M
2027Projected 814.6M
2028Projected 860.3M
2029Projected 904.8M
2030Projected 947.5M
2031Projected 988.0M
2032Projected 1.0B
2033Projected 1.1B
2034Projected 1.1B
2035Projected 1.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
643.2M
682.2M
720.5M
757.7M
793.5M
827.4M
859.1M
888.3M
914.4M
937.3M
Growth
6.5%
6.1%
5.6%
5.2%
4.7%
4.3%
3.8%
3.4%
2.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
119.4%
Free cash flow
768.1M
814.6M
860.3M
904.8M
947.5M
988.0M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
Worth today
716.3M
708.4M
697.6M
684.2M
668.2M
649.7M
629.1M
606.5M
582.3M
556.6M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.2%
14
17
20
25
31
6.7%
11
14
16
20
24
7.2%
9
11
13
16
19
7.7%
7
9
11
13
15
8.2%
6
7
8
10
12
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
10.5%
95.5%
5
7
9
11
13
107.5%
7
9
11
13
15
119.4%
9
11
13
16
18
131.3%
11
13
15
18
21
143.3%
13
15
18
20
23
All the inputs moving at once
4,997 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 17.9%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$1.16
Median$5.94
90th percentile$14.66
$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$3.07</b> and <b>$9.73</b>; one in ten below $1.16, one in ten above $14.66.
Does the long run make sense?
9.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.5 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
65%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.