CVBF · Financials(state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $2.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 44.0% went to dividends and 24.2% to acquisitions; the share count rose 27.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 5 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital—5.9% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay211.1M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/5tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0100M200M300M400M
2016Operating income 170.3M
2017Operating income 197.1M
2018Operating income 223.9M
2019Operating income 313.2M
2020Operating income 263.8M
2021Operating income 303.7M
2022Operating income 300,000
2023Operating income 314.0M
2024Operating income 314.0M
2025Operating income 314.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+915.3%
+3.5%
+7.0%
Net income
-3.8%
+3.4%
+8.4%
Earnings per share
-3.2%
+3.3%
+5.5%
Free cash flow per share
-6.1%
+3.7%
+4.8%
Dividend per share
+2.8%
+2.3%
+6.0%
Shares
-0.7%
+0.1%
+2.7%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%5%10%15%
2016
2017
2018
2019Return on invested capital 11.2%
2020Return on invested capital 9.3%
2021Return on invested capital 10.4%
2022Return on invested capital 0.0%
2023Return on invested capital 7.2%
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
9.1%
Return on assets
1.3%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100M200M300M
2016Net income 101.4MFree cash flow 111.9MAfter stock-based pay 109.1M
2017Net income 104.4MFree cash flow 133.5MAfter stock-based pay 130.6M
2018Net income 152.0MFree cash flow 160.8MAfter stock-based pay 157.3M
2019Net income 207.8MFree cash flow 202.7MAfter stock-based pay 197.1M
2020Net income 177.2MFree cash flow 180.4MAfter stock-based pay 174.9M
2021Net income 212.5MFree cash flow 190.6MAfter stock-based pay 185.4M
2022Net income 235.4MFree cash flow 268.4MAfter stock-based pay 260.5M
2023Net income 221.4MFree cash flow 291.1MAfter stock-based pay 281.7M
2024Net income 200.7MFree cash flow 244.6MAfter stock-based pay 234.4M
2025Net income 209.3MFree cash flow 217.3MAfter stock-based pay 211.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 3%55.7M
Acquisitions 24%497.7M
Dividends 44%905.1M
Share buybacks 13%266.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 16%332.4M
Over the same years it paid 59.3M in stock. The share count rose 27.3%. 206.7M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$1$2$3
2016Earnings per share $0.94Free cash flow per share $1.04Dividend per share $0.48
2017Earnings per share $0.95Free cash flow per share $1.22Dividend per share $0.52
2018Earnings per share $1.25Free cash flow per share $1.32Dividend per share $0.54
2019Earnings per share $1.49Free cash flow per share $1.45Dividend per share $0.68
2020Earnings per share $1.30Free cash flow per share $1.32Dividend per share $0.72
2021Earnings per share $1.57Free cash flow per share $1.41Dividend per share $0.72
2022Earnings per share $1.68Free cash flow per share $1.92Dividend per share $0.75
2023Earnings per share $1.60Free cash flow per share $2.10Dividend per share $0.81
2024Earnings per share $1.45Free cash flow per share $1.77Dividend per share $0.81
2025Earnings per share $1.53Free cash flow per share $1.59Dividend per share $0.81
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
100M110M120M130M140M150M
2016Diluted shares 107.7M
2017Diluted shares 109.8M
2018Diluted shares 122.0M
2019Diluted shares 139.9M
2020Diluted shares 136.2M
2021Diluted shares 135.4M
2022Diluted shares 140.0M
2023Diluted shares 138.5M
2024Diluted shares 138.6M
2025Diluted shares 137.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-2B-1B01B
2016
2017
2018
2019Net debt -185.5M
2020Net debt -2.0B
2021Net debt -1.7B
2022Net debt 791.5M
2023Net debt 713.7M
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 5 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (4M) is well below depreciation (15M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$675,6002 purchase(s) by 2 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$917,6801 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.