CTRE · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
CareTrust Reit, Inc. reported revenue of $1.2 million in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 9.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Of the $1.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 66.7% went to dividends; the share count rose 264.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.2M-9.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin30122.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital7.4%5.6% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.5×net debt 696.2M
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2016Revenue 3.0M
2017Revenue 3.2M
2018Revenue 3.4M
2019Revenue 3.4M
2020Revenue 2.1M
2021Revenue 0
2022Revenue 0
2023Revenue 0Operating income 94.6M
2024Revenue 0Operating income 154.7M
2025Revenue 1.2MOperating income 369.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
—
-10.0%
-9.4%
Net income
—
+31.7%
+30.4%
Earnings per share
—
+13.1%
+13.0%
Dividend per share
+5.0%
+5.4%
+7.5%
Shares
+28.3%
+16.5%
+15.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10000.0%20000.0%30000.0%40000.0%
2016Gross 14.2%Net 988.3%Free cash flow 2164.3%
2017Gross 15.3%Net 801.5%Free cash flow 2738.4%
2018Gross 12.3%Net 1714.2%Free cash flow 2887.7%
2019Gross 14.5%Net 1367.9%Free cash flow 3640.0%
2020Gross 10.0%Net 3893.5%
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025Operating 30122.0%Net 26166.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023Return on invested capital 4.7%
2024Return on invested capital 4.7%
2025Return on invested capital 7.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
7.9%
Return on assets
6.2%
Asset turnover
0.00×
Overheads (SG&A)
4282.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-100.0M0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2016Net income 29.4MFree cash flow 64.3MAfter stock-based pay 62.7M
2017Net income 25.9MFree cash flow 88.4MAfter stock-based pay 86.0M
2018Net income 57.9MFree cash flow 97.6MAfter stock-based pay 93.7M
2019Net income 46.4MFree cash flow 123.4MAfter stock-based pay 119.3M
2020Net income 80.9M
2021Net income 72.0M
2022Net income -7.5M
2023Net income 53.7M
2024Net income 125.1M
2025Net income 320.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%5.3M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 67%1.1B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 33%533.1M
Over the same years it paid 55.5M in stock. The share count rose 264.3%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-0.50$0.00$0.50$1.00$1.50$2.00
2016Earnings per share $0.52Free cash flow per share $1.15Dividend per share $0.67
2017Earnings per share $0.36Free cash flow per share $1.22Dividend per share $0.72
2018Earnings per share $0.73Free cash flow per share $1.23Dividend per share $0.79
2019Earnings per share $0.50Free cash flow per share $1.33Dividend per share $0.87
2020Earnings per share $0.85Dividend per share $0.98
2021Earnings per share $0.75Dividend per share $1.05
2022Earnings per share $-0.08Dividend per share $1.10
2023Earnings per share $0.51Dividend per share $1.09
2024Earnings per share $0.81Dividend per share $1.11
2025Earnings per share $1.57Dividend per share $1.27
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
50.0M100.0M150.0M200.0M250.0M
2016Diluted shares 56.0M
2017Diluted shares 72.6M
2018Diluted shares 79.4M
2019Diluted shares 93.1M
2020Diluted shares 95.2M
2021Diluted shares 96.1M
2022Diluted shares 96.7M
2023Diluted shares 106.2M
2024Diluted shares 155.2M
2025Diluted shares 204.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016Net debt 442.2M
2017Net debt 552.0M
2018Net debt 453.0M
2019Net debt 534.3M
2020Net debt 526.7M
2021Net debt 653.5M
2022Net debt 706.3M
2023Net debt 301.1M
2024Net debt 183.1M
2025Net debt 696.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.5×
Interest coverage
8× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 1.5%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.