CHH · Consumer discretionary(hotels & motels) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Choice Hotels International Inc reported revenue of $1.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 7.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 23.2% in 2016 to 28.1%, and it earned 17.4% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $2.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 61.1% went to buybacks and 32.1% to acquisitions; the share count fell 17.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.55 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.6B+7.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin28.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital17.4%21.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay125.3M7.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.7×net debt 1.9B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Revenue 807.9MOperating income 187.1M
2017Revenue 941.3MOperating income 289.7M
2018Revenue 1.0BOperating income 318.5M
2019Revenue 1.1BOperating income 318.5M
2020Revenue 772.6MOperating income 121.7M
2021Revenue 1.1BOperating income 428.9M
2022Revenue 1.4BOperating income 478.6M
2023Revenue 1.5BOperating income 375.0M
2024Revenue 1.6BOperating income 463.8M
2025Revenue 1.6BOperating income 448.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+4.4%
+15.6%
+7.9%
Operating income
-2.1%
+29.8%
+10.2%
Net income
+3.7%
+37.5%
+14.8%
Earnings per share
+9.6%
+42.4%
+17.2%
Free cash flow per share
-13.7%
—
+5.0%
Dividend per share
+6.4%
+20.3%
+3.8%
Shares
-5.5%
-3.5%
-2.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016Operating 23.2%Net 13.2%Free cash flow 15.7%
2017Operating 30.8%Net 13.0%Free cash flow 24.9%
2018Operating 30.6%Net 20.8%Free cash flow 18.7%
2019Operating 28.6%Net 20.0%Free cash flow 19.1%
2020Operating 15.7%Net 9.8%
2021Operating 40.1%Net 27.0%
2022Operating 34.1%Net 23.7%Free cash flow 21.5%
2023Operating 24.3%Net 16.7%Free cash flow 14.8%
2024Operating 29.3%Net 18.9%Free cash flow 13.4%
2025Operating 28.1%Net 23.2%Free cash flow 10.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 4.7%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Return on invested capital 6.7%
2021Return on invested capital 24.8%
2022Return on invested capital 26.8%
2023Return on invested capital 17.9%
2024Return on invested capital 20.4%
2025Return on invested capital 17.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Economic profit 20.7M
2021Economic profit 266.8M
2022Economic profit 300.0M
2023Economic profit 212.3M
2024Economic profit 270.2M
2025Economic profit 264.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
204.1%
Return on assets
12.7%
Asset turnover
0.55×
Overheads (SG&A)
20.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2016Net income 106.7MFree cash flow 126.8MAfter stock-based pay 112.2M
2017Net income 122.3MFree cash flow 233.9MAfter stock-based pay 209.0M
2018Net income 216.4MFree cash flow 195.2MAfter stock-based pay 180.2M
2019Net income 222.9MFree cash flow 213.2MAfter stock-based pay 196.6M
2020Net income 75.4M
2021Net income 289.0M
2022Net income 332.2MFree cash flow 301.2MAfter stock-based pay 260.8M
2023Net income 258.5MFree cash flow 228.0MAfter stock-based pay 187.5M
2024Net income 299.7MFree cash flow 212.7MAfter stock-based pay 174.2M
2025Net income 369.9MFree cash flow 163.6MAfter stock-based pay 125.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 19%501.6M
Acquisitions 32%856.5M
Dividends 17%459.9M
Share buybacks 61%1.6B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -29%-778.4M
Over the same years it paid 259.5M in stock. The share count fell 17.1%. 1.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00$8.00
2016Earnings per share $1.90Free cash flow per share $2.26Dividend per share $0.82
2017Earnings per share $2.16Free cash flow per share $4.14Dividend per share $0.86
2018Earnings per share $3.82Free cash flow per share $3.45Dividend per share $0.86
2019Earnings per share $4.00Free cash flow per share $3.83Dividend per share $0.86
2020Earnings per share $1.36Dividend per share $0.46
2021Earnings per share $5.17Dividend per share $0.45
2022Earnings per share $6.03Free cash flow per share $5.47Dividend per share $0.95
2023Earnings per share $5.10Free cash flow per share $4.50Dividend per share $1.11
2024Earnings per share $6.23Free cash flow per share $4.42Dividend per share $1.15
2025Earnings per share $7.94Free cash flow per share $3.51Dividend per share $1.15
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
45.0M50.0M55.0M60.0M
2016Diluted shares 56.2M
2017Diluted shares 56.5M
2018Diluted shares 56.6M
2019Diluted shares 55.7M
2020Diluted shares 55.5M
2021Diluted shares 55.9M
2022Diluted shares 55.1M
2023Diluted shares 50.7M
2024Diluted shares 48.1M
2025Diluted shares 46.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Net debt 824.0M
2021Net debt 548.9M
2022Net debt 1.2B
2023Net debt 1.5B
2024Net debt 1.7B
2025Net debt 1.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.7×
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.87 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 47d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.55safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.56-0.14
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.79 × 3.26+2.59
Operating income ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.72+1.03
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.07 × 1.05+0.07
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.14below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.17+1.07
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.02+0.41
Sales growth 1.01+0.90
Slower depreciation 0.94+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.05-0.18
Profit not in cash 0.03+0.16
Leverage rising 0.92-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 17% against revenue growing 1%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (370M against 270M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
Net debt is 3.7 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
83% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$444.61discounted at 4.7% a year · 83% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
56.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
44.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
14.1×
Free cash flow yield
0.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today3.8B
Everything after, today18.8B
The whole business22.6B
Minus net debt-1.9B
What belongs to shareholders20.7B
Divided among 46.6M shares: <strong>$444.61</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016Reported 112.2M
2017Reported 209.0M
2018Reported 180.2M
2019Reported 196.6M
2020
2021
2022Reported 260.8M
2023Reported 187.5M
2024Reported 174.2M
2025Reported 125.3M
2026Projected 314.5M
2027Projected 358.7M
2028Projected 403.9M
2029Projected 449.0M
2030Projected 492.7M
2031Projected 533.5M
2032Projected 569.9M
2033Projected 600.6M
2034Projected 624.3M
2035Projected 639.9M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.8B
2.1B
2.4B
2.6B
2.9B
3.1B
3.3B
3.5B
3.7B
3.8B
Growth
15.5%
14.1%
12.6%
11.2%
9.7%
8.3%
6.8%
5.4%
3.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
17.1%
Free cash flow
314.5M
358.7M
403.9M
449.0M
492.7M
533.5M
569.9M
600.6M
624.3M
639.9M
Worth today
300.4M
327.2M
351.9M
373.6M
391.5M
404.8M
413.1M
415.8M
412.7M
404.0M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
3.7%
463
601
855
1,464
4,977
4.2%
367
453
589
837
1,435
4.7%
302
360
445
579
823
5.2%
254
295
352
434
565
5.7%
217
248
289
345
426
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
11.5%
13.5%
15.5%
17.5%
19.5%
13.6%
292
322
355
390
427
15.3%
330
363
400
439
481
17.1%
367
405
445
488
534
18.8%
405
446
490
537
588
20.5%
443
487
535
586
642
All the inputs moving at once
4,324 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.6%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$229.77
Median$408.72
90th percentile$771.09
$250.00$500.00$750.00$1,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$298.69</b> and <b>$565.84</b>; one in ten below $229.77, one in ten above $771.09.
Does the long run make sense?
24.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 24.9 times that year's EBITDA.
10%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 25% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 10% on the new capital — it has earned 21% on average over the last five years.
83%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$540,9981 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.