HLT · Consumer discretionary(hotels & motels) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Hilton Worldwide Holdings Inc. reported revenue of $12.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 7.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 13.2% in 2016 to 22.4%. Of the $13.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 108.0% went to buybacks and 10.8% to dividends; the share count fell 27.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of -0.06 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.0B+7.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin22.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay1.9B15.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 6.6BOperating income 868.0M
2017Revenue 8.1BOperating income 1.1B
2018Revenue 8.9BOperating income 1.4B
2019Revenue 9.5BOperating income 1.7B
2020Revenue 4.3BOperating income -418.0M
2021Revenue 5.8BOperating income 1.0B
2022Revenue 8.8BOperating income 2.1B
2023Revenue 10.2BOperating income 2.2B
2024Revenue 11.2BOperating income 2.4B
2025Revenue 12.0BOperating income 2.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.1%
+22.8%
+7.0%
Operating income
+8.7%
—
+13.4%
Net income
+5.1%
—
+17.6%
Earnings per share
+10.6%
—
+21.9%
Free cash flow per share
+12.9%
+29.0%
+12.2%
Dividend per share
+10.6%
+31.7%
-3.7%
Shares
-4.9%
-3.0%
-3.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Operating 13.2%Net 5.1%Free cash flow 15.1%
2017Operating 13.9%Net 13.3%Free cash flow 9.7%
2018Operating 16.1%Net 8.6%Free cash flow 13.3%
2019Operating 17.5%Net 9.3%Free cash flow 13.8%
2020Operating -9.7%Net -16.6%Free cash flow 15.4%
2021Operating 17.4%Net 7.1%Free cash flow 1.3%
2022Operating 23.9%Net 14.3%Free cash flow 18.7%
2023Operating 21.7%Net 11.1%Free cash flow 17.5%
2024Operating 21.2%Net 13.7%Free cash flow 17.2%
2025Operating 22.4%Net 12.1%Free cash flow 16.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2016Return on invested capital -0.5%
2017Return on invested capital 36.2%
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2016Economic profit -631.2M
2017Economic profit 450.4M
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
8.7%
Asset turnover
0.72×
Overheads (SG&A)
3.3% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Net income 338.0MFree cash flow 993.0MAfter stock-based pay 902.0M
2017Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 791.0MAfter stock-based pay 670.0M
2018Net income 764.0MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2019Net income 881.0MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2020Net income -715.0MFree cash flow 662.0MAfter stock-based pay 565.0M
2021Net income 410.0MFree cash flow 74.0MAfter stock-based pay -119.0M
2022Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2023Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.6B
2024Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2025Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
13.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 7%996.0M
Acquisitions 2%240.0M
Dividends 11%1.4B
Share buybacks 108%14.4B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -28%-3.7B
Over the same years it paid 1.5B in stock. The share count fell 27.7%. 13.0B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $1.03Free cash flow per share $3.02Dividend per share $0.84
2017Earnings per share $3.31Free cash flow per share $2.42Dividend per share $0.60
2018Earnings per share $2.50Free cash flow per share $3.88Dividend per share $0.59
2019Earnings per share $3.04Free cash flow per share $4.49Dividend per share $0.59
2020Earnings per share $-2.58Free cash flow per share $2.39Dividend per share $0.15
2021Earnings per share $1.46Free cash flow per share $0.26Dividend per share $0.00
2022Earnings per share $4.53Free cash flow per share $5.93Dividend per share $0.44
2023Earnings per share $4.32Free cash flow per share $6.80Dividend per share $0.60
2024Earnings per share $6.14Free cash flow per share $7.67Dividend per share $0.60
2025Earnings per share $6.12Free cash flow per share $8.52Dividend per share $0.60
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
225.0M250.0M275.0M300.0M325.0M350.0M
2016Diluted shares 329.0M
2017Diluted shares 327.0M
2018Diluted shares 305.0M
2019Diluted shares 290.0M
2020Diluted shares 277.0M
2021Diluted shares 281.0M
2022Diluted shares 277.0M
2023Diluted shares 264.0M
2024Diluted shares 250.0M
2025Diluted shares 238.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.5B-1.0B-500.0M0
2016Net debt -1.0B
2017Net debt -524.0M
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.66 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 51d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
-0.06distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.09 × 6.56-0.59
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.09 × 3.26-0.29
Operating income ÷ assets 0.16 × 6.72+1.08
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.24 × 1.05-0.26
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.53below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.99+0.91
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.00+0.41
Sales growth 1.08+0.96
Slower depreciation 1.28+0.15
Overheads vs sales 0.88-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.19
Leverage rising 0.94-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (101M) is well below depreciation (177M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$212.71discounted at 10.2% a year · 55% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
34.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
17.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
4.2×
Free cash flow yield
3.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today22.6B
Everything after, today28.0B
The whole business50.6B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders50.6B
Divided among 238.0M shares: <strong>$212.71</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Reported 902.0M
2017Reported 670.0M
2018Reported 1.1B
2019Reported 1.1B
2020Reported 565.0M
2021Reported -119.0M
2022Reported 1.5B
2023Reported 1.6B
2024Reported 1.7B
2025Reported 1.9B
2026Projected 2.1B
2027Projected 2.5B
2028Projected 3.0B
2029Projected 3.5B
2030Projected 3.9B
2031Projected 4.4B
2032Projected 4.8B
2033Projected 5.2B
2034Projected 5.4B
2035Projected 5.5B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
14.8B
17.9B
21.2B
24.6B
28.0B
31.3B
34.2B
36.6B
38.3B
39.3B
Growth
23.0%
20.7%
18.4%
16.2%
13.9%
11.6%
9.3%
7.1%
4.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
14.1%
Free cash flow
2.1B
2.5B
3.0B
3.5B
3.9B
4.4B
4.8B
5.2B
5.4B
5.5B
Worth today
1.9B
2.1B
2.2B
2.4B
2.4B
2.5B
2.4B
2.4B
2.3B
2.1B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
220
233
248
266
286
9.7%
205
216
229
244
261
10.2%
192
202
213
225
240
10.7%
180
189
198
209
221
11.2%
170
177
185
195
206
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
19.0%
21.0%
23.0%
25.0%
27.0%
11.3%
154
166
179
192
207
12.7%
168
181
196
211
227
14.1%
183
197
213
229
247
15.5%
197
213
230
248
267
16.9%
212
229
247
266
287
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$160.99
Median$212.95
90th percentile$288.19
$200.00$300.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$183.21</b> and <b>$248.12</b>; one in ten below $160.99, one in ten above $288.19.
Does the long run make sense?
7.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 7.9 times that year's EBITDA.
23%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 11% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 23% on the new capital.
55%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 29.5%) = <strong>4.71%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.