SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Red Rock Resorts, Inc.

RRR · Consumer discretionary (hotels & motels) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Red Rock Resorts, Inc. reported revenue of $2.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 21.0% in 2016 to 29.7%, and it earned 14.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $4.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 71.7% went back into the business and 16.8% to buybacks; the share count rose 199.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.06 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 2.0B +3.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 29.7% gross margin —
Return on invested capital 14.7% 14.0% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay 258.4M 12.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA 4.1× net debt 3.3B
Piotroski F-score 7/8 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+6.5%+11.2%+3.5%
Operating income+2.1%+46.5%+7.6%
Net income-2.9%—+8.3%
Earnings per share-2.3%—-4.1%
Free cash flow per share+11.5%+5.3%-6.9%
Dividend per share+1.8%+62.6%+16.0%
Shares-0.7%+7.8%+13.0%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 5.5%

Economic profit

Economic profit

(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.

Return on equity
90.3%
Return on assets
4.5%
Asset turnover
0.48×
Overheads (SG&A)
21.9% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

4.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 72% 3.1B
  • Acquisitions 7% 303.7M
  • Dividends 17% 718.8M
  • Share buybacks 17% 725.0M
  • More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -12% -525.6M

Over the same years it paid 166.8M in stock. The share count rose 199.2%. 558.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
4.1×
Interest coverage
3× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.79 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 13d

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

7of 8 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell passed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before failed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

1.06distress zone
  • Working capital ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.56-0.12
  • Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.05 × 3.26+0.16
  • Operating income ÷ assets 0.14 × 6.72+0.96
  • Equity ÷ liabilities 0.05 × 1.05+0.06

Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

-2.85below the -1.78 line
  • Receivables vs sales 1.11+1.02
  • Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
  • Soft assets 0.91+0.37
  • Sales growth 1.04+0.93
  • Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
  • Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
  • Profit not in cash -0.10-0.47
  • Leverage rising 0.99-0.32

Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Net debt is 4.1 times EBITDA.

Benign

A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.

Worrying

Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +11.2% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

interest expense ÷ debt = 5.9%, kept between the risk-free rate and +8 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 11.6%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

77% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions $76.15 discounted at 5.5% a year · 77% of it from after year 10
$35.6380% of 4,813 simulations$159.24
Cautious $21.84 7.0% growth · 9.5% margin · 6.5% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $76.15 11.0% growth · 11.2% margin · 5.5% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $256.60 15.0% growth · 12.9% margin · 4.5% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings41.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA13.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue5.5×
Free cash flow yield3.3%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today2.6B
Everything after, today8.5B
The whole business11.1B
Minus net debt-3.3B
What belongs to shareholders7.8B

Divided among 102.6M shares: <strong>$76.15</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue2.2B2.5B2.7B2.9B3.1B3.3B3.5B3.6B3.8B3.9B
Growth11.0%10.1%9.1%8.2%7.2%6.3%5.3%4.4%3.4%2.5%
Cash margin11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%11.2%
Free cash flow250.1M275.3M300.3M324.9M348.3M370.2M389.9M407.0M421.1M431.6M
Worth today237.0M247.1M255.5M261.8M266.0M267.9M267.3M264.4M259.2M251.7M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
4.5% 80 100 130 180 277
5.0% 64 78 98 127 176
5.5% 52 62 76 96 124
6.0% 42 50 61 74 93
6.5% 35 41 49 59 72

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →7.0%9.0%11.0%13.0%15.0%
9.0% 43 49 57 65 73
10.1% 51 58 66 75 85
11.2% 59 67 76 86 96
12.3% 67 76 86 96 108
13.4% 75 85 95 107 119

All the inputs moving at once

4,813 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$51.22</b> and <b>$109.99</b>; one in ten below $35.63, one in ten above $159.24.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 9.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.6 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 4%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 57% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 4% on the new capital — it has earned 14% on average over the last five years.
  • 77%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 5.94% × (1 − 11.6%) = <strong>5.26%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>5.54%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$3.0M3 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines83 awards · 3 option exercises · 2 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
1 Sep 2026 Welch Jeffrey TEVP and Chief Legal Officer Sold on the open market 9,000 $55.88 $502,884 342,307
12 Aug 2026 Nichols KordEVP & Chief Operating Officer Sold on the open market 9,791 $63.00 $616,823 113,760
11 Aug 2026 Nichols KordEVP & Chief Operating Officer Exercised options 27,000 $24.98 $674,460 140,760
11 Aug 2026 Nichols KordEVP & Chief Operating Officer Shares withheld for taxes 17,209 $62.15 $1.1M 123,551
7 Aug 2026 Kreeger ScottPresident Sold on the open market 31,159 $61.78 $1.9M 203,881
6 Aug 2026 Kreeger ScottPresident Exercised options 128,600 $44.19 $5.7M 378,881
6 Aug 2026 Kreeger ScottPresident Shares withheld for taxes 143,841 $61.95 $8.9M 235,040
6 Aug 2026 Kreeger ScottPresident Exercised options 46,400 $42.56 $2.0M 250,281
11 Jun 2026 Cootey Stephen LawrenceEVP & Chief Financial Officer Received as an award 38,511 — — 293,556
11 Jun 2026 Fertitta Frank J IiiChief Executive Officer Received as an award 148,427 — — 241,648
11 Jun 2026 Nichols KordEVP & Chief Operating Officer Received as an award 32,092 — — 113,760

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (hotels & motels) first, then the rest of consumer discretionary.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue1.5B1.6B1.7B1.9B1.2B1.6B1.7B1.7B1.9B2.0B
Revenue growth—+11.3%+2.4%+10.4%-36.3%+36.8%+2.8%+3.6%+12.5%+3.7%
Operating income309.7M331.3M372.2M186.0M88.6M401.5M561.3M558.7M568.7M597.4M
Net income92.0M35.4M157.5M-3.4M-150.4M241.8M205.5M176.0M154.1M188.1M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin21.0%20.2%22.1%10.0%7.5%24.8%33.7%32.4%29.3%29.7%
Net margin6.2%2.2%9.4%-0.2%-12.7%14.9%12.3%10.2%7.9%9.3%
Free cash flow margin12.5%2.5%-13.9%-2.0%13.0%33.9%12.8%-11.9%13.6%14.4%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue22.2%23.2%23.2%22.4%27.5%21.5%21.2%21.7%22.3%21.9%
Cash
Free cash flow184.1M41.5M-233.3M-36.6M154.3M548.7M213.6M-205.2M264.4M290.5M
Stock-based pay6.9M7.9M11.3M16.8M10.9M12.7M17.5M19.7M30.9M32.1M
Free cash flow after stock pay177.2M33.6M-244.6M-53.5M143.4M535.9M196.1M-224.9M233.4M258.4M
Free cash flow to the firm288.5M21.0M-64.0M92.9M432.1M406.6M289.2M-77.7M410.8M385.3M
Free cash flow ÷ net income2.0×1.2×-1.5×10.9×-1.0×2.3×1.0×-1.2×1.7×1.5×
Capex ÷ revenue11.0%15.1%34.5%19.0%4.9%3.8%19.7%40.6%14.6%15.9%
Returns
Return on invested capital10.6%3.5%9.9%6.3%7.9%10.4%16.6%14.2%13.9%14.7%
Return on equity26.3%9.4%30.3%-0.7%-42.7%406.5%469.3%104.2%71.6%90.3%
Return on assets2.6%1.0%3.9%-0.1%-4.0%7.7%6.1%4.5%3.8%4.5%
Asset turnover0.4×0.5×0.4×0.5×0.3×0.5×0.5×0.4×0.5×0.5×
Economic profit140.6M-59.9M148.7M28.3M75.4M142.7M336.1M301.9M304.1M328.5M
Per share
Earnings per share$2.68$0.31$1.35$-0.05$-2.13$2.08$1.96$1.71$1.49$1.83
Free cash flow per share$5.37$0.36$-2.00$-0.53$2.19$4.71$2.04$-1.99$2.55$2.83
Dividend per share$0.31$0.23$0.24$0.40$0.10$1.75$1.11$0.57$1.14$1.18
Payout ratio11.6%76.2%17.6%——84.3%56.8%33.3%76.9%64.2%
Book value per share$10.20$3.27$4.45$7.20$5.00$0.51$0.42$1.64$2.07$2.03
Diluted shares34.3M115.9M116.9M69.6M70.5M116.5M104.7M103.2M103.7M102.6M
Balance sheet
Net debt2.3B2.4B2.7B2.9B2.8B2.6B2.9B3.2B3.2B3.3B
Net debt ÷ EBITDA4.9×4.7×5.0×7.1×8.7×4.6×4.2×4.6×4.3×4.1×
Interest coverage2.2×2.5×2.6×1.2×0.7×3.9×4.3×3.1×2.5×3.0×
Current ratio1.0×1.4×0.8×1.0×1.1×1.8×0.8×0.8×0.9×0.8×
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—555365667
Altman Z''0.740.950.800.570.291.251.041.021.111.06
Beneish M—-2.80-2.68-2.76-3.37-2.79-2.68-2.52-2.91-2.85

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.