CCK · Industrials(metal cans) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Crown Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $12.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 4.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 12.6% from 2017, and it earned 13.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $8.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 59.5% went back into the business and 47.0% to acquisitions; the share count fell 14.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.94 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.4B+4.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin12.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital13.3%13.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.1B8.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.7×net debt 5.1B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05B10B15B
2017Revenue 8.7BOperating income 1.0B
2018
2018Revenue 11.2BOperating income 1.1B
2019Revenue 9.6BOperating income 1.0B
2020Revenue 9.4BOperating income 1.0B
2021Revenue 11.4BOperating income 1.4B
2022Revenue 12.9BOperating income 1.3B
2023Revenue 12.0BOperating income 1.3B
2024Revenue 11.8BOperating income 1.4B
2025Revenue 12.4BOperating income 1.6B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-1.5%
+5.7%
+4.0%
Operating income
+5.1%
+8.2%
+4.7%
Net income
+0.5%
+5.0%
+9.6%
Earnings per share
+2.1%
+8.2%
+11.6%
Free cash flow per share
—
+11.3%
—
Dividend per share
+5.9%
—
—
Shares
-1.6%
-3.0%
-1.7%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10%0%10%20%
2017Operating 11.8%Net 3.7%Free cash flow -8.6%
2018
2018Operating 9.8%Net 3.9%Free cash flow 1.0%
2019Operating 10.7%Net 5.3%Free cash flow 8.1%
2020Operating 11.2%Net 6.2%Free cash flow 8.1%
2021Operating 12.0%Net -4.9%Free cash flow 0.8%
2022Operating 10.3%Net 5.6%Free cash flow -0.3%
2023Operating 10.6%Net 3.7%Free cash flow 5.5%
2024Operating 12.0%Net 3.6%Free cash flow 6.7%
2025Operating 12.6%Net 6.0%Free cash flow 9.0%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.9%
0%5%10%15%20%
2017Return on invested capital 9.0%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 8.2%
2019Return on invested capital 8.4%
2020Return on invested capital 7.4%
2021Return on invested capital 19.1%
2022Return on invested capital 11.8%
2023Return on invested capital 9.3%
2024Return on invested capital 12.0%
2025Return on invested capital 13.3%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2017Economic profit 125.5M
2018
2018Economic profit 124.1M
2019Economic profit 148.1M
2020Economic profit 55.1M
2021Economic profit 993.3M
2022Economic profit 428.8M
2023Economic profit 238.2M
2024Economic profit 459.9M
2025Economic profit 568.1M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
24.6%
Return on assets
5.2%
Asset turnover
0.87×
Research & development
0.3% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
5.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B-0.5B00.5B1.0B1.5B
2017Net income 323.0MFree cash flow -749.0MAfter stock-based pay -772.0M
2018
2018Net income 439.0MFree cash flow 109.0MAfter stock-based pay 82.0M
2019Net income 510.0MFree cash flow 772.0MAfter stock-based pay 743.0M
2020Net income 579.0MFree cash flow 761.0MAfter stock-based pay 729.0M
2021Net income -560.0MFree cash flow 89.0MAfter stock-based pay 56.0M
2022Net income 727.0MFree cash flow -36.0MAfter stock-based pay -65.0M
2023Net income 450.0MFree cash flow 660.0MAfter stock-based pay 629.0M
2024Net income 424.0MFree cash flow 789.0MAfter stock-based pay 747.0M
2025Net income 738.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
8.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 60%5.2B
Acquisitions 47%4.1B
Dividends 7%565.0M
Share buybacks 33%2.8B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -46%-4.0B
Over the same years it paid 294.0M in stock. The share count fell 14.7%. 2.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$10-$5$0$5$10
2017Earnings per share $2.38Free cash flow per share $-5.52
2018
2018Earnings per share $3.28Free cash flow per share $0.81
2019Earnings per share $3.78Free cash flow per share $5.72Dividend per share $0.00
2020Earnings per share $4.30Free cash flow per share $5.66Dividend per share $0.00
2021Earnings per share $-4.30Free cash flow per share $0.68Dividend per share $0.81
2022Earnings per share $5.99Free cash flow per share $-0.30Dividend per share $0.87
2023Earnings per share $3.76Free cash flow per share $5.52Dividend per share $0.96
2024Earnings per share $3.55Free cash flow per share $6.61Dividend per share $1.00
2025Earnings per share $6.38Free cash flow per share $9.65Dividend per share $1.04
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
115M120M125M130M135M140M
2017Diluted shares 135.6M
2018
2018Diluted shares 133.9M
2019Diluted shares 134.9M
2020Diluted shares 134.6M
2021Diluted shares 130.4M
2022Diluted shares 121.4M
2023Diluted shares 119.7M
2024Diluted shares 119.4M
2025Diluted shares 115.7M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02B4B6B8B
2017Net debt 4.9B
2018
2018Net debt 8.0B
2019Net debt 7.3B
2020Net debt 6.9B
2021Net debt 5.7B
2022Net debt 6.4B
2023Net debt 6.1B
2024Net debt 5.2B
2025Net debt 5.1B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.7×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.03 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 30d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.94grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.56+0.06
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.27 × 3.26+0.87
Operating income ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.72+0.73
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.27 × 1.05+0.28
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.75below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.95+0.87
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.97+0.39
Sales growth 1.05+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.26
Leverage rising 0.98-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$174.89discounted at 6.9% a year · 67% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
27.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
13.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.1×
Free cash flow yield
5.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today8.4B
Everything after, today17.0B
The whole business25.4B
Minus net debt-5.1B
What belongs to shareholders20.2B
Divided among 115.7M shares: <strong>$174.89</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1B01B2B
2017Reported -772.0M
2018
2018Reported 82.0M
2019Reported 743.0M
2020Reported 729.0M
2021Reported 56.0M
2022Reported -65.0M
2023Reported 629.0M
2024Reported 747.0M
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Projected 997.4M
2027Projected 1.0B
2028Projected 1.1B
2029Projected 1.1B
2030Projected 1.2B
2031Projected 1.2B
2032Projected 1.3B
2033Projected 1.3B
2034Projected 1.4B
2035Projected 1.4B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
13.0B
13.7B
14.4B
15.0B
15.7B
16.3B
16.8B
17.4B
17.8B
18.3B
Growth
5.5%
5.2%
4.8%
4.5%
4.2%
3.8%
3.5%
3.2%
2.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
7.6%
Free cash flow
997.4M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
1.4B
Worth today
933.4M
918.7M
901.3M
881.4M
859.3M
835.0M
808.8M
780.8M
751.5M
720.8M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.9%
183
208
241
286
350
6.3%
159
179
204
236
280
6.9%
140
155
175
199
231
7.3%
124
137
152
171
195
7.8%
110
121
134
149
168
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
1.5%
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
6.1%
109
123
138
154
172
6.9%
124
140
156
174
194
7.6%
140
157
175
195
216
8.4%
155
173
193
215
238
9.2%
170
190
212
235
260
All the inputs moving at once
4,984 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$94.96
Median$174.02
90th percentile$314.56
$200.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$128.87</b> and <b>$237.30</b>; one in ten below $94.96, one in ten above $314.56.
Does the long run make sense?
12.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.0 times that year's EBITDA.
13%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 20% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 13% on the new capital — it has earned 13% on average over the last five years.
67%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.