SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Credit Acceptance Corp

CACC · Financials (personal credit institutions) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Credit Acceptance Corp reported revenue of $2.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 10.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 64.9% in 2016 to 44.4%. Of the $9.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 50.1% went to buybacks; the share count fell 42.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 2.3B +10.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 44.4% gross margin —
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay 1.0B 43.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 6/6 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+8.1%+6.8%+10.2%
Operating income+5.4%+6.8%+5.6%
Net income-7.5%+0.1%+2.7%
Earnings per share-2.6%+9.2%+9.3%
Free cash flow per share-0.1%+10.7%+15.6%
Shares-5.1%-8.3%-6.0%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 10.2%

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
27.8%
Return on assets
4.9%
Asset turnover
0.27×
Overheads (SG&A)
7.0% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

9.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 1% 92.4M
  • Acquisitions 0% 0
  • Dividends 0% 0
  • Share buybacks 50% 4.7B
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 49% 4.5B

Over the same years it paid 243.0M in stock. The share count fell 42.9%. 4.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

6of 6 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Capital spending (2M) is well below depreciation (4M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +6.8% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 25.0%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $851.80 discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
$651.8980% of 5,000 simulations$1,144.51
Cautious $550.01 3.0% growth · 22.7% margin · 11.2% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $851.80 7.0% growth · 26.7% margin · 10.2% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $1,383.03 11.0% growth · 30.7% margin · 9.2% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings23.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA9.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue4.3×
Free cash flow yield10.1%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today4.9B
Everything after, today5.0B
The whole business9.9B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders9.9B

Divided among 11.7M shares: <strong>$851.80</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue2.5B2.6B2.8B3.0B3.1B3.2B3.4B3.5B3.6B3.7B
Growth7.0%6.5%6.0%5.5%5.0%4.5%4.0%3.5%3.0%2.5%
Cash margin26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%26.7%
Free cash flow662.4M705.5M747.8M789.0M828.4M865.7M900.3M931.8M959.8M983.8M
Worth today601.3M581.3M559.3M535.5M510.4M484.1M457.0M429.4M401.4M373.5M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
9.2% 880 928 983 1,048 1,123
9.7% 824 866 913 967 1,031
10.2% 775 811 852 898 952
10.7% 731 763 798 838 884
11.2% 692 720 751 786 825

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →3.0%5.0%7.0%9.0%11.0%
21.4% 617 668 723 782 845
24.1% 671 727 788 852 922
26.7% 725 786 852 923 999
29.4% 778 845 916 993 1,076
32.1% 832 903 980 1,063 1,152

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 4.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$738.21</b> and <b>$986.87</b>; one in ten below $651.89, one in ten above $1,144.51.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 8.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 8.0 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 13%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 20% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 13% on the new capital.
  • 50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 25.0%) = <strong>5.00%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$13.2M39 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans41%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines51 awards · 3 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
16 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 457 $641.31 $293,079 47,912
16 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 2 $642.08 $1,284 47,910
16 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 977 $640.15 $625,425 48,369
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 413 $649.76 $268,351 91,457
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 447 $650.92 $290,961 91,010
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 1,037 $651.80 $675,917 89,973
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 689 $653.08 $449,972 89,284
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 819 $653.79 $535,454 88,465
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 184 $646.77 $119,006 91,923
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 53 $648.68 $34,380 91,870
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 869 $654.76 $568,986 87,596
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 175 $657.11 $114,994 87,421
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 156 $659.02 $102,807 87,265
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 181 $661.67 $119,762 87,084
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 503 $663.28 $333,630 86,581
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 813 $664.11 $539,921 85,768
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 81 $665.28 $53,888 85,687
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 80 $666.22 $53,298 85,607
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 1,130 $648.32 $732,602 52,716
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 1,503 $649.38 $976,018 51,213
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 1,203 $650.66 $782,744 50,010
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 562 $651.94 $366,390 49,448
2 Jul 2026 Watson Jill FossHolder of more than 10% Sold on the open market · indirect 102 $652.70 $66,575 49,346
2 Jul 2026 Prescott General Partners LlcHolder of more than 10% Other · indirect 9,891 $655.72 $6.5M 901,241
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Exercised options 2,306 $333.94 $770,066 23,203
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 173 $625.29 $108,175 23,030
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 449 $627.44 $281,721 22,581
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 683 $628.94 $429,566 21,898
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 17 $629.78 $10,706 21,881
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 360 $631.29 $227,264 21,521
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 324 $632.81 $205,030 21,197
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 180 $633.93 $114,107 21,017
26 Jun 2026 Elliott Nicholas JChief Transformation Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 120 $634.83 $76,180 20,897
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Exercised options 2,417 $333.94 $807,133 28,128
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Exercised options 3,303 $454.11 $1.5M 31,431
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 397 $625.37 $248,272 31,034
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 581 $627.12 $364,357 30,453
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 785 $627.71 $492,752 29,668
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 1,269 $628.93 $798,112 28,399
26 Jun 2026 Kerber Erin JChief Legal Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 305 $629.83 $192,098 28,094

The 40 most recent lines of 44.

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 5,333 $3.4M 0.0% Reduced
Ruane, Cunniff & Goldfarb 30 Jun 2026 5,279 $3.4M 0.1% Reduced

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (personal credit institutions) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue969.2M1.1B1.3B1.5B1.7B1.9B1.8B1.9B2.2B2.3B
Revenue growth—+14.5%+15.8%+15.8%+12.1%+11.2%-1.3%+3.8%+13.7%+7.2%
Operating income628.9M704.0M911.7M1.1B741.5M1.4B878.3M634.1M749.0M1.0B
Net income332.8M470.2M574.0M656.1M421.0M958.3M535.8M286.1M247.9M423.9M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin64.9%63.4%70.9%70.7%44.4%76.8%47.9%33.3%34.6%44.4%
Net margin34.3%42.4%44.6%44.1%25.2%51.6%29.2%15.0%11.5%18.3%
Free cash flow margin51.8%50.2%52.8%52.8%58.5%57.2%67.4%63.1%52.5%45.4%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue5.0%5.0%4.3%4.4%4.2%5.4%4.8%4.6%4.5%7.0%
Cash
Free cash flow501.7M557.6M678.8M785.5M976.7M1.1B1.2B1.2B1.1B1.1B
Stock-based pay7.4M15.4M10.3M7.6M6.2M24.8M36.5M39.1M45.0M50.7M
Free cash flow after stock pay494.3M542.2M668.5M777.9M970.5M1.0B1.2B1.2B1.1B1.0B
Free cash flow to the firm394.6M564.6M673.3M787.0M568.4M1.1B667.1M498.4M568.4M773.0M
Free cash flow ÷ net income1.5×1.2×1.2×1.2×2.3×1.1×2.3×4.2×4.6×2.5×
Capex ÷ revenue0.6%0.8%2.0%1.8%0.5%0.4%0.2%0.2%0.1%0.1%
Returns
Return on invested capital——————————
Return on equity28.4%30.6%28.8%27.9%18.3%52.5%33.0%16.3%14.2%27.8%
Return on assets7.9%9.4%9.2%8.8%5.6%13.6%7.8%3.8%2.8%4.9%
Asset turnover0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.3×0.3×0.2×0.2×0.3×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$16.31$24.04$29.39$34.57$23.47$59.52$39.32$21.99$19.88$36.38
Free cash flow per share$24.58$28.51$34.75$41.39$54.46$65.95$90.69$92.22$91.11$90.38
Dividend per share——————————
Payout ratio——————————
Book value per share$59.05$79.53$104.94$128.33$134.71$128.96$127.30$140.05$145.22$142.66
Diluted shares20.4M19.6M19.5M19.0M17.9M16.1M13.6M13.0M12.5M11.7M
Balance sheet
Net debt——————————
Net debt ÷ EBITDA——————————
Interest coverage6.4×5.9×5.8×5.4×3.9×8.7×5.3×2.4×1.8×2.2×
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—544565446
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.