BGC · Financials(security & commodity brokers, dealers, exchanges & services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
BGC Group, Inc. reported revenue of $2.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 10.0% in 2019 to 8.8%, and it earned 5.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $2.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 49.1% went to buybacks and 18.3% to acquisitions. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.4B+3.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin8.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital5.3%6.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow372.9M15.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.0×net debt 944.2M
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2019Revenue 1.8BOperating income 176.9M
2020
2020
2020
2020Revenue 1.7BOperating income 148.8M
2021Revenue 1.7BOperating income 245.8M
2022Revenue 1.4BOperating income 155.4M
2023Revenue 1.6BOperating income 134.9M
2024Revenue 1.8BOperating income 173.1M
2025Revenue 2.4BOperating income 213.7M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+20.2%
+7.6%
+3.7%
Operating income
+11.2%
+7.5%
+2.1%
Net income
+47.1%
+28.0%
+15.0%
Earnings per share
+48.9%
+31.4%
+14.8%
Free cash flow per share
+21.9%
+9.3%
+7.3%
Dividend per share
+39.7%
-6.0%
-16.4%
Shares
-1.2%
-2.5%
+0.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2019Operating 10.0%Net 2.5%Free cash flow 11.0%
2020
2020
2020
2020Operating 8.8%Net 2.7%Free cash flow 16.1%
2021Operating 14.8%Net 7.5%Free cash flow 24.5%
2022Operating 11.0%Net 3.5%Free cash flow 15.2%
2023Operating 8.4%Net 2.3%Free cash flow 24.3%
2024Operating 9.6%Net 7.0%Free cash flow 15.8%
2025Operating 8.8%Net 6.3%Free cash flow 15.3%
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.5%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2019Return on invested capital 5.6%
2020
2020
2020
2020Return on invested capital 5.1%
2021Return on invested capital 12.8%
2022Return on invested capital 5.5%
2023Return on invested capital 4.4%
2024Return on invested capital 5.5%
2025Return on invested capital 5.3%
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-50.0M050.0M100.0M150.0M
2019Economic profit -17.8M
2020
2020
2020
2020Economic profit -30.7M
2021Economic profit 104.2M
2022Economic profit -18.7M
2023Economic profit -44.6M
2024Economic profit -23.0M
2025Economic profit -34.5M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
15.9%
Return on assets
3.5%
Asset turnover
0.55×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2019Net income 43.9MFree cash flow 194.4M
2020
2020
2020
2020Net income 45.1MFree cash flow 271.8M
2021Net income 124.0MFree cash flow 407.1M
2022Net income 48.7MFree cash flow 213.8M
2023Net income 36.3MFree cash flow 390.3M
2024Net income 127.0MFree cash flow 285.7M
2025Net income 155.0MFree cash flow 372.9M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2019–2025
2.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 7%164.2M
Acquisitions 18%420.8M
Dividends 16%373.4M
Share buybacks 49%1.1B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 9%212.9M
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$0.20$0.40$0.60$0.80
2019Earnings per share $0.09Free cash flow per share $0.41Dividend per share $0.41
2020
2020
2020
2020Earnings per share $0.08Free cash flow per share $0.50Dividend per share $0.11
2021Earnings per share $0.23Free cash flow per share $0.75Dividend per share $0.03
2022Earnings per share $0.10Free cash flow per share $0.43Dividend per share $0.03
2023Earnings per share $0.07Free cash flow per share $0.80Dividend per share $0.04
2024Earnings per share $0.27Free cash flow per share $0.60Dividend per share $0.07
2025Earnings per share $0.32Free cash flow per share $0.78Dividend per share $0.08
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
460.0M480.0M500.0M520.0M540.0M560.0M
2019Diluted shares 472.2M
2020
2020
2020
2020Diluted shares 546.8M
2021Diluted shares 540.0M
2022Diluted shares 499.4M
2023Diluted shares 490.0M
2024Diluted shares 479.1M
2025Diluted shares 480.9M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2019Net debt 732.3M
2020
2020
2020
2020Net debt 723.4M
2021Net debt 502.8M
2022Net debt 566.1M
2023Net debt 527.9M
2024Net debt 626.0M
2025Net debt 944.2M
2019202020202020202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.0×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (21M) is well below depreciation (103M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$13.34discounted at 6.5% a year · 69% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
41.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
23.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.0×
Free cash flow yield
5.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.2B
Everything after, today5.1B
The whole business7.4B
Minus net debt-944.2M
What belongs to shareholders6.4B
Divided among 480.9M shares: <strong>$13.34</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2019Reported 194.4M
2020
2020
2020
2020Reported 271.8M
2021Reported 407.1M
2022Reported 213.8M
2023Reported 390.3M
2024Reported 285.7M
2025Reported 372.9M
2026Projected 250.6M
2027Projected 268.0M
2028Projected 285.1M
2029Projected 301.7M
2030Projected 317.7M
2031Projected 332.7M
2032Projected 346.5M
2033Projected 359.0M
2034Projected 370.0M
2035Projected 379.3M
2019202020202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
2.6B
2.8B
3.0B
3.2B
3.3B
3.5B
3.6B
3.8B
3.9B
4.0B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
9.5%
Free cash flow
250.6M
268.0M
285.1M
301.7M
317.7M
332.7M
346.5M
359.0M
370.0M
379.3M
Worth today
235.2M
236.1M
235.8M
234.2M
231.4M
227.5M
222.4M
216.3M
209.2M
201.3M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.5%
14
16
18
22
28
6.0%
12
14
16
18
22
6.5%
11
12
13
15
18
7.0%
9
10
12
13
15
7.5%
9
9
10
11
13
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
7.6%
9
10
11
12
13
8.6%
10
11
12
13
15
9.5%
11
12
13
15
16
10.5%
12
13
15
16
18
11.5%
13
14
16
18
19
All the inputs moving at once
4,975 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$8.10
Median$13.28
90th percentile$23.32
$10.00$20.00$30.00$40.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$10.30</b> and <b>$17.68</b>; one in ten below $8.10, one in ten above $23.32.
Does the long run make sense?
18.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 18.7 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
69%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.