CME · Financials(security & commodity brokers, dealers, exchanges & services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
CME Group Inc. reported revenue of $6.5 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 61.2% in 2016 to 64.9%, and it earned 11.2% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $28.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 89.8% went to dividends and 6.4% to acquisitions; the share count rose 6.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.59 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20256.5B+6.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin64.9%gross margin —
Return on invested capital11.2%9.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay4.1B62.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash4.4B more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Revenue 3.6BOperating income 2.2B
2017Revenue 3.6BOperating income 2.3B
2018Revenue 4.3BOperating income 2.6B
2019Revenue 4.9BOperating income 2.6B
2020Revenue 4.9BOperating income 2.6B
2021Revenue 4.7BOperating income 2.6B
2022Revenue 5.0BOperating income 3.0B
2023Revenue 5.6BOperating income 3.4B
2024Revenue 6.1BOperating income 3.9B
2025Revenue 6.5BOperating income 4.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+9.1%
+6.0%
+6.8%
Operating income
+11.9%
+9.9%
+7.5%
Net income
+14.8%
+14.1%
+11.5%
Earnings per share
+14.7%
+14.0%
+10.7%
Free cash flow per share
+12.1%
+10.6%
+10.2%
Dividend per share
+14.2%
+13.2%
+8.4%
Shares
+0.1%
+0.1%
+0.7%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%50.0%100.0%150.0%
2016Operating 61.2%Net 42.7%Free cash flow 45.6%
2017Operating 63.4%Net 111.5%Free cash flow 45.8%
2018Operating 60.5%Net 45.5%Free cash flow 53.9%
2019Operating 53.2%Net 43.5%Free cash flow 49.9%
2020Operating 54.0%Net 43.1%Free cash flow 51.6%
2021Operating 56.4%Net 56.2%Free cash flow 48.5%
2022Operating 60.1%Net 53.6%Free cash flow 59.1%
2023Operating 61.6%Net 57.8%Free cash flow 60.5%
2024Operating 64.1%Net 57.5%Free cash flow 58.7%
2025Operating 64.9%Net 62.5%Free cash flow 64.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017Return on invested capital 4.0%
2018Return on invested capital 7.0%
2019Return on invested capital 7.8%
2020Return on invested capital 7.8%
2021Return on invested capital 7.3%
2022Return on invested capital 8.6%
2023Return on invested capital 10.0%
2024Return on invested capital 11.2%
2025Return on invested capital 11.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.5B-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2016
2017Economic profit -1.4B
2018Economic profit -853.6M
2019Economic profit -624.2M
2020Economic profit -638.5M
2021Economic profit -798.0M
2022Economic profit -412.6M
2023Economic profit -53.3M
2024Economic profit 279.6M
2025Economic profit 306.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
14.2%
Return on assets
2.1%
Asset turnover
0.03×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.6B
2017Net income 4.1BFree cash flow 1.7BAfter stock-based pay 1.6B
2018Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.2B
2019Net income 2.1BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.4B
2020Net income 2.1BFree cash flow 2.5BAfter stock-based pay 2.4B
2021Net income 2.6BFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.2B
2022Net income 2.7BFree cash flow 3.0BAfter stock-based pay 2.9B
2023Net income 3.2BFree cash flow 3.4BAfter stock-based pay 3.3B
2024Net income 3.5BFree cash flow 3.6BAfter stock-based pay 3.5B
2025Net income 4.1BFree cash flow 4.2BAfter stock-based pay 4.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
28.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 4%1.2B
Acquisitions 6%1.8B
Dividends 90%25.3B
Share buybacks 0%0
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -0%-119.6M
Over the same years it paid 816.5M in stock. The share count rose 6.3%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2016Earnings per share $4.53Free cash flow per share $4.84Dividend per share $5.27
2017Earnings per share $11.94Free cash flow per share $4.91Dividend per share $5.86
2018Earnings per share $5.71Free cash flow per share $6.76Dividend per share $6.25
2019Earnings per share $5.91Free cash flow per share $6.78Dividend per share $4.73
2020Earnings per share $5.87Free cash flow per share $7.02Dividend per share $5.89
2021Earnings per share $7.35Free cash flow per share $6.34Dividend per share $6.10
2022Earnings per share $7.49Free cash flow per share $8.26Dividend per share $7.33
2023Earnings per share $8.97Free cash flow per share $9.39Dividend per share $9.00
2024Earnings per share $9.80Free cash flow per share $9.99Dividend per share $9.96
2025Earnings per share $11.30Free cash flow per share $11.64Dividend per share $10.92
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
330.0M340.0M350.0M360.0M370.0M
2016Diluted shares 339.0M
2017Diluted shares 340.2M
2018Diluted shares 343.7M
2019Diluted shares 358.2M
2020Diluted shares 358.5M
2021Diluted shares 358.9M
2022Diluted shares 359.2M
2023Diluted shares 359.5M
2024Diluted shares 359.9M
2025Diluted shares 360.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-6.0B-4.0B-2.0B0
2016
2017Net debt -1.9B
2018Net debt -800.3M
2019Net debt -1.6B
2020Net debt -1.6B
2021Net debt -2.1B
2022Net debt -2.7B
2023Net debt -2.9B
2024Net debt -2.1B
2025Net debt -4.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-1.0×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.03 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 36d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.59distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.03 × 6.56+0.17
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.03 × 3.26+0.11
Operating income ÷ assets 0.02 × 6.72+0.14
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.17 × 1.05+0.18
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.55below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.05+0.96
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.67+0.27
Sales growth 1.06+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.00+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.00-0.00
Leverage rising 1.09-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$143.15discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
12.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
10.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
7.2×
Free cash flow yield
7.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today23.6B
Everything after, today23.5B
The whole business47.2B
Plus net cash4.4B
What belongs to shareholders51.6B
Divided among 360.3M shares: <strong>$143.15</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Reported 1.6B
2017Reported 1.6B
2018Reported 2.2B
2019Reported 2.4B
2020Reported 2.4B
2021Reported 2.2B
2022Reported 2.9B
2023Reported 3.3B
2024Reported 3.5B
2025Reported 4.1B
2026Projected 3.3B
2027Projected 3.4B
2028Projected 3.6B
2029Projected 3.8B
2030Projected 4.0B
2031Projected 4.1B
2032Projected 4.3B
2033Projected 4.4B
2034Projected 4.5B
2035Projected 4.6B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
6.9B
7.3B
7.7B
8.1B
8.4B
8.8B
9.1B
9.4B
9.6B
9.9B
Growth
6.0%
5.6%
5.2%
4.8%
4.4%
4.1%
3.7%
3.3%
2.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
47.0%
Free cash flow
3.3B
3.4B
3.6B
3.8B
4.0B
4.1B
4.3B
4.4B
4.5B
4.6B
Worth today
3.0B
2.8B
2.7B
2.6B
2.4B
2.3B
2.2B
2.0B
1.9B
1.8B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
147
155
163
173
185
9.7%
139
145
152
161
170
10.2%
131
137
143
150
158
10.7%
125
130
135
141
148
11.2%
119
123
128
133
139
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
37.6%
107
115
123
133
142
42.3%
115
124
133
143
154
47.0%
124
133
143
154
166
51.7%
132
142
153
165
178
56.4%
140
151
163
176
189
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 7.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$112.58
Median$143.47
90th percentile$188.05
$100.00$150.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$125.73</b> and <b>$163.76</b>; one in ten below $112.58, one in ten above $188.05.
Does the long run make sense?
9.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.4 times that year's EBITDA.
49%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 5% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 49% on the new capital — it has earned 10% on average over the last five years.
50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 23.6%) = <strong>5.10%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.