AKR · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Acadia Realty Trust reported revenue of $410.8 million in fiscal 2025. Of the $805.3 million its operations generated over 10 years, 49.7% went to dividends; the share count rose 49.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025410.8M
Operating margin12.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital1.2%1.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA8.8×net debt 1.8B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-200M0200M400M600M
2020
2020Revenue 250.9MOperating income -115.1M
2021
2021
2021
2021Revenue 292.5MOperating income 30.7M
2022Revenue 326.3MOperating income 68.2M
2023Revenue 338.7MOperating income 49.1M
2024Revenue 359.7MOperating income 65.7M
2025Revenue 410.8MOperating income 49.4M
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+8.0%
—
—
Operating income
-10.2%
—
—
Dividend per share
+4.9%
—
—
Shares
+10.8%
+7.8%
+4.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-60%-40%-20%0%20%40%
2020
2020Operating -45.9%Net -26.2%
2021
2021
2021
2021Operating 10.5%Net 8.9%
2022Operating 20.9%Net -20.0%
2023Operating 14.5%Net 5.9%
2024Operating 18.3%Net 6.0%
2025Operating 12.0%Net 4.1%
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
-4%-2%0%2%
2020
2020Return on invested capital -3.7%
2021
2021
2021
2021Return on invested capital 0.9%
2022Return on invested capital 2.0%
2023Return on invested capital 1.7%
2024Return on invested capital 1.8%
2025Return on invested capital 1.2%
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
0.8%
Return on assets
0.3%
Asset turnover
0.08×
Overheads (SG&A)
11.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-75M-50M-25M025M50M
2020
2020Net income -65.7M
2021
2021
2021
2021Net income 26.0M
2022Net income -65.3M
2023Net income 19.9M
2024Net income 21.6M
2025Net income 16.9M
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2020–2025
805.3M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 50%400.5M
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 50%404.9M
Over the same years it paid 71.6M in stock. The share count rose 49.1%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$1.00-$0.50$0.00$0.50$1.00
2020
2020Earnings per share $-0.76Dividend per share $0.58
2021
2021
2021
2021Earnings per share $0.30Dividend per share $0.45
2022Earnings per share $-0.69Dividend per share $0.68
2023Earnings per share $0.21Dividend per share $0.72
2024Earnings per share $0.20Dividend per share $0.71
2025Earnings per share $0.13Dividend per share $0.79
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
80M100M120M140M
2020Diluted shares 86.3M
2020Diluted shares 86.4M
2021Diluted shares 86.3M
2021Diluted shares 88.4M
2021Diluted shares 88.5M
2021Diluted shares 87.7M
2022Diluted shares 94.6M
2023Diluted shares 95.3M
2024Diluted shares 108.3M
2025Diluted shares 128.7M
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
00.5B1.0B1.5B2.0B
2020
2020Net debt 1.7B
2021
2021
2021
2021Net debt 1.8B
2022Net debt 1.8B
2023Net debt 1.9B
2024Net debt 1.5B
2025Net debt 1.8B
2020202020212021202120212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
8.8×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is -1.0%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 8.8 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.