ADC · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Agree Realty Corp reported revenue of $718.4 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 25.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 56.4% in 2016 to 47.4%. Of the $2.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 314.6% went back into the business and 69.9% to dividends; the share count rose 384.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025718.4M+25.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin47.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0200M400M600M800M
2016Revenue 91.5MOperating income 51.7M
2017Revenue 111.5MOperating income 63.0M
2018Revenue 137.1MOperating income 73.0M
2019Revenue 187.5MOperating income 114.4M
2020Revenue 248.6MOperating income 133.1M
2021Revenue 339.3MOperating income 190.3M
2022Revenue 429.8MOperating income 218.1M
2023Revenue 537.5MOperating income 254.4M
2024Revenue 617.1MOperating income 302.2M
2025Revenue 718.4MOperating income 340.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+18.7%
+23.6%
+25.7%
Operating income
+16.0%
+20.7%
+23.3%
Net income
+10.3%
+17.5%
+18.3%
Earnings per share
-1.5%
+1.1%
-0.7%
Dividend per share
+3.3%
+6.7%
+5.9%
Shares
+12.0%
+16.2%
+19.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
3.3%
Return on assets
2.1%
Asset turnover
0.07×
Overheads (SG&A)
6.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.5B-1.0B-0.5B00.5B
2016Net income 45.1M
2017Net income 58.1M
2018Net income 58.2MFree cash flow -515.1MAfter stock-based pay -518.0M
2019Net income 80.1MFree cash flow -576.2MAfter stock-based pay -580.2M
2020Net income 91.4MFree cash flow -1.2BAfter stock-based pay -1.2B
2021Net income 122.3MFree cash flow -1.1BAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2022Net income 152.4MFree cash flow -1.2BAfter stock-based pay -1.2B
2023Net income 170.0MFree cash flow -808.4MAfter stock-based pay -816.7M
2024Net income 189.2MFree cash flow -442.5MAfter stock-based pay -453.3M
2025Net income 204.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 315%7.7B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 70%1.7B
Share buybacks 1%18.4M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -285%-7.0B
Over the same years it paid 59.7M in stock. The share count rose 384.3%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$30-$20-$10$0$10
2016Earnings per share $1.97Dividend per share $1.83
2017Earnings per share $2.10Dividend per share $1.99
2018Earnings per share $1.80Free cash flow per share $-15.90Dividend per share $2.09
2019Earnings per share $1.94Free cash flow per share $-13.98Dividend per share $2.19
2020Earnings per share $1.74Free cash flow per share $-22.27Dividend per share $2.22
2021Earnings per share $1.82Free cash flow per share $-17.03Dividend per share $2.89
2022Earnings per share $1.93Free cash flow per share $-15.64Dividend per share $2.78
2023Earnings per share $1.78Free cash flow per share $-8.47Dividend per share $2.91
2024Earnings per share $1.86Free cash flow per share $-4.34Dividend per share $2.98
2025Earnings per share $1.84Dividend per share $3.06
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
025M50M75M100M125M
2016Diluted shares 23.0M
2017Diluted shares 27.7M
2018Diluted shares 32.4M
2019Diluted shares 41.2M
2020Diluted shares 52.4M
2021Diluted shares 67.1M
2022Diluted shares 79.2M
2023Diluted shares 95.4M
2024Diluted shares 101.9M
2025Diluted shares 111.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
00.5B1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net debt 370.7M
2017Net debt 471.6M
2018Net debt 670.1M
2019
2020Net debt 1.2B
2021Net debt 1.7B
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
3× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$4.1M6 purchase(s) by 3 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.