SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Virtus Investment Partners, Inc.

VRTS · Financials (investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Virtus Investment Partners, Inc. reported revenue of $852.9 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 15.8% in 2016 to 19.8%, and it earned 9.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $482.8 million its operations generated over 10 years, 166.9% went to acquisitions and 132.3% to buybacks; the share count fell 11.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 852.9M +11.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 19.8% gross margin —
Return on invested capital 9.3% 13.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay -98.1M -11.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA Net cash 88.2M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score 2/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue-1.3%+7.1%+11.4%
Operating income-5.1%+3.3%+14.3%
Net income+8.4%+11.2%+12.1%
Earnings per share+11.7%+14.4%+13.7%
Dividend per share+14.4%+26.7%+20.3%
Shares-3.0%-2.8%-1.3%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 8.6%

Economic profit

Economic profit

(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.

Return on equity
14.6%
Return on assets
3.2%
Asset turnover
0.20×

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

482.8M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 12% 57.6M
  • Acquisitions 167% 805.7M
  • Dividends 69% 333.6M
  • Share buybacks 132% 638.6M
  • More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -280% -1.4B

Over the same years it paid 233.0M in stock. The share count fell 11.4%. 405.6M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.4×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

2of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero failed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before failed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) failed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell failed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before failed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (136M against -67M).

Benign

Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.

Worrying

Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.

Capital spending (7M) is well below depreciation (64M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +7.1% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 27.4%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $461.95 discounted at 8.6% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
$346.3480% of 5,000 simulations$645.95
Cautious $287.95 3.0% growth · 15.3% margin · 9.6% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $461.95 7.0% growth · 18.0% margin · 8.6% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $799.14 11.0% growth · 20.7% margin · 7.6% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings23.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA13.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue3.6×
Free cash flow yield-3.1%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today1.3B
Everything after, today1.8B
The whole business3.1B
Plus net cash88.2M
What belongs to shareholders3.2B

Divided among 6.9M shares: <strong>$461.95</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue912.6M971.9M1.0B1.1B1.1B1.2B1.2B1.3B1.3B1.4B
Growth7.0%6.5%6.0%5.5%5.0%4.5%4.0%3.5%3.0%2.5%
Cash margin18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%18.0%
Free cash flow164.3M175.0M185.5M195.7M205.4M214.7M223.3M231.1M238.0M244.0M
Worth today151.3M148.3M144.8M140.7M136.0M130.9M125.3M119.4M113.3M106.9M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
7.6% 477 512 552 602 664
8.1% 441 470 503 543 592
8.6% 410 434 462 495 534
9.1% 383 404 427 455 487
9.6% 359 377 397 420 447

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →3.0%5.0%7.0%9.0%11.0%
14.4% 333 361 390 422 457
16.2% 363 393 426 461 499
18.0% 393 426 462 501 542
19.8% 423 459 498 540 585
21.6% 452 491 533 579 628

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.7%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$395.92</b> and <b>$546.71</b>; one in ten below $346.34, one in ten above $645.95.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 11.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.1 times that year's EBITDA.
  • Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
  • 58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 27.4%) = <strong>4.84%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>8.60%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$3.3M10 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines33 awards · 0 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
15 Sep 2026 Morris W HowardDirector Sold on the open market · indirect 435 $138.59 $60,284 0
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 1,722 $164.47 $283,226 76,714
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 879 $165.21 $145,221 75,835
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 2,758 $166.53 $459,291 73,077
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 4,568 $167.44 $764,864 68,509
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 2,643 $168.41 $445,110 65,866
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 2,285 $169.72 $387,808 63,581
3 Aug 2026 Angerthal Michael AEVP, CFO & Treasurer Sold on the open market 120 $170.29 $20,435 63,461
16 Jun 2026 Mandinach Barry M.EVP, Head of Distribution Sold on the open market 4,500 $144.71 $651,195 11,315
16 Jun 2026 Mandinach Barry M.EVP, Head of Distribution Sold on the open market 500 $145.25 $72,625 10,815
20 May 2026 Bain Peter LDirector Received as an award 806 $137.93 $111,172 4,819
20 May 2026 Greig Paul GDirector Received as an award 833 $137.93 $114,896 4,993
20 May 2026 Jones Melody LDirector Received as an award 842 $137.93 $116,137 9,714

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (investment advice) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue322.6M425.6M552.2M563.2M603.9M979.2M886.4M845.3M906.9M852.9M
Revenue growth—+31.9%+29.8%+2.0%+7.2%+62.2%-9.5%-4.6%+7.3%-6.0%
Operating income50.8M58.0M113.1M124.7M143.2M325.5M197.5M151.5M182.5M168.7M
Net income48.5M37.0M75.5M95.6M80.0M208.1M106.6M141.5M152.5M136.0M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin15.8%13.6%20.5%22.1%23.7%33.2%22.3%17.9%20.1%19.8%
Net margin15.0%8.7%13.7%17.0%13.2%21.3%12.0%16.7%16.8%15.9%
Free cash flow margin5.9%-43.3%-13.4%-7.9%-37.6%67.4%14.2%27.0%-0.4%-8.7%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue——————————
Cash
Free cash flow18.9M-184.4M-74.3M-44.3M-227.1M659.9M126.1M228.3M-3.8M-74.1M
Stock-based pay11.9M20.3M23.1M22.2M21.5M26.2M24.0M26.8M32.8M24.0M
Free cash flow after stock pay6.9M-204.7M-97.4M-66.5M-248.6M633.7M102.0M201.5M-36.7M-98.1M
Free cash flow to the firm39.3M45.6M100.6M125.6M142.6M286.8M190.4M176.1M197.3M179.2M
Free cash flow ÷ net income0.4×-5.0×-1.0×-0.5×-2.8×3.2×1.2×1.6×-0.0×-0.5×
Capex ÷ revenue0.6%0.4%2.1%1.3%0.2%0.6%0.7%1.0%0.6%0.8%
Returns
Return on invested capital————11.5%22.1%12.0%10.3%11.8%9.3%
Return on equity15.1%6.3%12.0%14.2%11.2%25.1%13.1%16.4%17.0%14.6%
Return on assets5.9%1.4%2.6%3.0%2.3%5.3%2.7%3.8%3.8%3.2%
Asset turnover0.4×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×0.2×
Economic profit————26.3M147.7M36.3M18.8M36.7M8.6M
Per share
Earnings per share$6.20$5.11$8.86$11.74$10.02$26.01$14.06$19.18$21.14$19.63
Free cash flow per share$2.42$-25.44$-8.71$-5.43$-28.48$82.46$16.63$30.96$-0.53$-10.69
Dividend per share$1.76$1.74$1.65$2.08$2.86$3.92$6.23$7.06$8.06$9.32
Payout ratio28.4%34.0%18.6%17.7%28.5%15.1%44.3%36.8%38.1%47.5%
Book value per share$54.62$82.20$90.02$99.23$93.78$110.35$113.77$121.89$128.82$139.51
Diluted shares7.8M7.2M8.5M8.1M8.0M8.0M7.6M7.4M7.2M6.9M
Balance sheet
Net debt————-138.6M-319.8M-334.2M-87.6M-168.2M-88.2M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA————-0.8×-0.8×-1.3×-0.4×-0.7×-0.4×
Interest coverage——————————
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—233255642
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.