TRMK · Financials(national commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $2.0 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 30.0% went to dividends and 16.2% to buybacks; the share count fell 10.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 5 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay225.7M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/5tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2016Operating income 164.0M
2017Operating income 196.6M
2018Operating income 238.0M
2019Operating income 257.7M
2020Operating income 231.6M
2021Operating income 199.6M
2022Operating income 106.2M
2023Operating income 507.0M
2024Operating income 618.5M
2025Operating income 910.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+104.7%
+31.5%
+21.0%
Net income
+46.1%
+7.0%
+8.4%
Earnings per share
+46.8%
+8.0%
+9.8%
Free cash flow per share
-4.5%
+41.6%
+7.3%
Dividend per share
+1.5%
+0.9%
+0.5%
Shares
-0.5%
-1.0%
-1.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%5%10%15%
2016Return on invested capital 5.6%
2017Return on invested capital 5.3%
2018Return on invested capital 12.4%
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
10.6%
Return on assets
1.2%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100M200M300M400M
2016Net income 108.4MFree cash flow 138.1MAfter stock-based pay 134.4M
2017Net income 105.6MFree cash flow 193.4M
2018Net income 149.6MFree cash flow 224.6MAfter stock-based pay 220.7M
2019Net income 150.5MFree cash flow 99.1MAfter stock-based pay 94.3M
2020Net income 160.0MFree cash flow 42.8MAfter stock-based pay 37.6M
2021Net income 147.4MFree cash flow 321.4MAfter stock-based pay 315.8M
2022Net income 71.9MFree cash flow 269.9MAfter stock-based pay 265.0M
2023Net income 165.5MFree cash flow 156.8MAfter stock-based pay 150.7M
2024Net income 223.0MFree cash flow 93.4MAfter stock-based pay 86.2M
2025Net income 224.1MFree cash flow 232.0MAfter stock-based pay 225.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.0B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 10%207.5M
Acquisitions 1%24.6M
Dividends 30%593.1M
Share buybacks 16%321.3M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 42%832.5M
Over the same years it paid 47.6M in stock. The share count fell 10.7%. 273.7M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$2$4$6
2016Earnings per share $1.60Free cash flow per share $2.04Dividend per share $0.92
2017Earnings per share $1.56Free cash flow per share $2.85Dividend per share $0.92
2018Earnings per share $2.21Free cash flow per share $3.32Dividend per share $0.92
2019Earnings per share $2.32Free cash flow per share $1.53Dividend per share $0.92
2020Earnings per share $2.51Free cash flow per share $0.67Dividend per share $0.92
2021Earnings per share $2.34Free cash flow per share $5.10Dividend per share $0.92
2022Earnings per share $1.17Free cash flow per share $4.39Dividend per share $0.92
2023Earnings per share $2.70Free cash flow per share $2.56Dividend per share $0.93
2024Earnings per share $3.63Free cash flow per share $1.52Dividend per share $0.93
2025Earnings per share $3.70Free cash flow per share $3.83Dividend per share $0.97
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
60M62M64M66M68M
2016Diluted shares 67.8M
2017Diluted shares 67.9M
2018Diluted shares 67.7M
2019Diluted shares 64.8M
2020Diluted shares 63.6M
2021Diluted shares 63.0M
2022Diluted shares 61.4M
2023Diluted shares 61.2M
2024Diluted shares 61.4M
2025Diluted shares 60.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-500M-250M0250M500M750M
2016Net debt 442.1M
2017Net debt 635.3M
2018Net debt -270.6M
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 5 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (12M) is well below depreciation (40M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$24,1871 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (national commercial banks) first, then the rest of financials.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.