TOL · Consumer discretionary(operative builders) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-10-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Toll Brothers, Inc. reported revenue of $11.0 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $8.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 55.2% went to buybacks and 7.7% to dividends; the share count fell 43.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 7 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202511.0B
Operating margin15.7%gross margin 25.1%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay995.4M9.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score3/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05B10B15B
2016Operating income 492.3M
2017Revenue 5.8BOperating income 647.2M
2018Revenue 7.1BOperating income 786.2M
2019Revenue 7.2BOperating income 680.8M
2020Revenue 7.1BOperating income 550.3M
2021Revenue 8.8BOperating income 1.0B
2022Revenue 10.3BOperating income 1.5B
2023Revenue 10.0BOperating income 1.7B
2024Revenue 10.8BOperating income 2.0B
2025Revenue 11.0BOperating income 1.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+2.2%
+9.2%
—
Operating income
+4.5%
+25.6%
+14.9%
Net income
+1.5%
+24.7%
+15.0%
Earnings per share
+7.4%
+31.7%
+22.5%
Free cash flow per share
+9.9%
+8.5%
+34.9%
Dividend per share
+8.9%
+17.7%
—
Shares
-5.4%
-5.3%
-6.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
16.3%
Return on assets
9.3%
Asset turnover
0.76×
Overheads (SG&A)
9.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
00.5B1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net income 382.1MFree cash flow 122.5MAfter stock-based pay 95.8M
2017Net income 535.5MFree cash flow 832.8MAfter stock-based pay 804.4M
2018Net income 748.2MFree cash flow 560.0MAfter stock-based pay 531.7M
2019Net income 590.0MFree cash flow 350.7MAfter stock-based pay 324.5M
2020Net income 446.6MFree cash flow 898.6MAfter stock-based pay 874.2M
2021Net income 833.6MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2022Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 915.1MAfter stock-based pay 894.0M
2023Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2024Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 936.5MAfter stock-based pay 907.0M
2025Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 995.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
8.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 7%653.5M
Acquisitions 4%305.8M
Dividends 8%667.6M
Share buybacks 55%4.8B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 26%2.3B
Over the same years it paid 263.4M in stock. The share count fell 43.3%. 4.6B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$5$10$15$20
2016Earnings per share $2.17Free cash flow per share $0.70Dividend per share $0.00
2017Earnings per share $3.16Free cash flow per share $4.91Dividend per share $0.23
2018Earnings per share $4.85Free cash flow per share $3.63Dividend per share $0.40
2019Earnings per share $4.03Free cash flow per share $2.39Dividend per share $0.43
2020Earnings per share $3.40Free cash flow per share $6.85Dividend per share $0.43
2021Earnings per share $6.63Free cash flow per share $9.83Dividend per share $0.61
2022Earnings per share $10.90Free cash flow per share $7.76Dividend per share $0.75
2023Earnings per share $12.36Free cash flow per share $10.75Dividend per share $0.82
2024Earnings per share $15.01Free cash flow per share $8.95Dividend per share $0.89
2025Earnings per share $13.49Free cash flow per share $10.28Dividend per share $0.97
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
80M100M120M140M160M180M
2016Diluted shares 176.0M
2017Diluted shares 169.5M
2018Diluted shares 154.2M
2019Diluted shares 146.5M
2020Diluted shares 131.2M
2021Diluted shares 125.8M
2022Diluted shares 118.0M
2023Diluted shares 111.0M
2024Diluted shares 104.7M
2025Diluted shares 99.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
3of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$18.2M6 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.