SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

M/I Homes, Inc.

MHO · Consumer discretionary (operative builders) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

M/I Homes, Inc. reported revenue of $4.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 6.4% in 2016 to 11.5%. Of the $1.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 46.8% went to buybacks and 8.4% back into the business; the share count fell 9.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 4.4B +11.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 11.5% gross margin 23.0%
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay 110.7M 2.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 3/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+2.3%+7.7%+11.3%
Operating income-7.4%+9.7%+18.6%
Net income-6.4%+10.9%+24.4%
Earnings per share-5.1%+12.4%+25.7%
Free cash flow per share-8.7%-2.8%+23.5%
Shares-1.3%-1.3%-1.1%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
12.7%
Return on assets
8.4%
Asset turnover
0.92×
Overheads (SG&A)
5.9% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

1.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 8% 104.7M
  • Acquisitions 0% 0
  • Dividends 1% 8.5M
  • Share buybacks 47% 584.0M
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 44% 551.7M

Over the same years it paid 90.6M in stock. The share count fell 9.2%. 493.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

3of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before failed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) failed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before failed
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before failed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (403M against 137M).

Benign

Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.

Worrying

Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.

Capital spending (10M) is well below depreciation (19M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +7.7% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

no cash flow lines to measure it

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

no tax line: the US federal rate, 21%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$7.7M16 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines50 awards · 5 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
5 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Exercised options 10,000 $51.82 $518,200 40,918
5 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 2,868 $150.53 $431,723 38,050
5 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 6,588 $151.54 $998,339 31,462
5 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 544 $152.09 $82,736 30,918
4 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Exercised options 8,000 $47.59 $380,720 50,918
4 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 10,000 $149.00 $1.5M 40,918
4 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 10,000 $150.13 $1.5M 30,918
4 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Exercised options 12,000 $51.82 $621,840 42,918
3 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Exercised options 10,000 $47.59 $475,900 40,918
3 Aug 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 10,000 $148.00 $1.5M 30,918
31 Jul 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Exercised options 10,000 $47.59 $475,900 40,918
31 Jul 2026 Creek Phillip GEx. Vice President and CFO Sold on the open market 10,000 $150.00 $1.5M 30,918
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 3 $125.72 $377 925
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 4 $125.74 $503 921
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 477 $125.78 $59,997 440
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 240 $125.79 $30,190 200
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 100 $125.80 $12,580 100
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 100 $125.82 $12,582 0
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 4 $125.75 $503 917
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 794 $125.28 $99,475 1,028
21 May 2026 Kramer Nancy JDirector Sold on the open market 100 $125.67 $12,567 928

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 13,676 $2.2M 0.0% New
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 10,300 $1.7M 0.0% New

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (operative builders) first, then the rest of consumer discretionary.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue1.7B2.0B2.3B2.5B3.0B3.7B4.1B4.0B4.5B4.4B
Revenue growth—+16.0%+16.5%+9.4%+21.8%+23.0%+10.3%-2.4%+11.7%-1.9%
Operating income108.7M138.7M163.2M187.1M319.3M518.3M637.5M587.2M706.1M506.6M
Net income56.6M72.1M107.7M127.6M239.9M396.9M490.7M465.4M563.7M402.9M
Margins
Gross margin—20.4%19.7%19.8%22.5%24.3%25.3%25.3%26.6%23.0%
Operating margin6.4%7.1%7.1%7.5%10.5%13.8%15.4%14.6%15.7%11.5%
Net margin3.3%3.7%4.7%5.1%7.9%10.6%11.9%11.5%12.5%9.1%
Free cash flow margin1.2%-3.2%-0.5%2.4%5.1%-1.1%4.2%13.5%3.8%2.9%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue6.6%6.4%6.0%5.9%5.8%5.1%5.2%5.5%5.7%5.9%
Cash
Free cash flow21.1M-62.0M-10.7M61.1M156.7M-42.1M174.7M546.4M171.3M127.7M
Stock-based pay5.3M6.0M6.0M5.8M7.1M8.6M8.8M11.4M14.6M17.0M
Free cash flow after stock pay15.8M-68.0M-16.7M55.3M149.5M-50.7M166.0M535.0M156.8M110.7M
Free cash flow to the firm——————————
Free cash flow ÷ net income0.4×-0.9×-0.1×0.5×0.7×-0.1×0.4×1.2×0.3×0.3×
Capex ÷ revenue0.8%0.4%0.4%0.2%0.4%0.7%0.2%0.1%0.2%0.2%
Returns
Return on invested capital——————————
Return on equity8.7%9.6%12.6%12.7%19.1%24.4%23.7%18.5%19.2%12.7%
Return on assets3.7%3.9%5.3%6.1%9.1%12.2%13.2%11.6%12.4%8.4%
Asset turnover1.1×1.1×1.1×1.2×1.2×1.2×1.1×1.0×1.0×0.9×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$1.88$2.35$3.69$4.48$8.23$13.28$17.24$16.21$19.71$14.74
Free cash flow per share$0.70$-2.02$-0.37$2.15$5.37$-1.41$6.14$19.03$5.99$4.67
Dividend per share$0.16$0.12$0.00$0.00——————
Payout ratio8.6%5.1%0.0%0.0%——————
Book value per share$21.72$24.35$29.31$35.24$43.18$54.36$72.75$87.65$102.79$115.82
Diluted shares30.1M30.7M29.2M28.5M29.2M29.9M28.5M28.7M28.6M27.3M
Balance sheet
Net debt——————————
Net debt ÷ EBITDA——————————
Interest coverage6.2×7.3×8.0×8.8×33.0×240.4×283.3×29.3×——
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—246445353
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.