RNR · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Renaissancere Holdings Ltd reported revenue of $12.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 25.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 38.9% in 2016 to 32.2%, and it earned 26.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $19.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 20.7% went to buybacks and 13.9% to acquisitions; the share count rose 11.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.8B+25.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin32.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital26.7%10.9% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.1×net debt 598.0M
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5B05B10B15B
2016Revenue 1.7BOperating income 672.5M
2017Revenue 2.1BOperating income -284.0M
2018Revenue 2.1BOperating income 309.7M
2019Revenue 4.2BOperating income 1.0B
2020Revenue 5.2BOperating income 1.0B
2021Revenue 5.3BOperating income -66.6M
2022Revenue 5.1BOperating income -1.2B
2023Revenue 9.1BOperating income 3.2B
2024Revenue 11.7BOperating income 3.1B
2025Revenue 12.8BOperating income 4.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+36.4%
+20.0%
+25.0%
Operating income
—
+31.6%
+22.4%
Net income
—
+28.6%
+20.4%
Earnings per share
—
+29.0%
+19.0%
Dividend per share
+2.3%
+2.1%
+2.9%
Shares
+2.6%
-0.3%
+1.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-40%-20%0%20%40%
2016Operating 38.9%Net 29.1%
2017Operating -13.5%Net -10.6%
2018Operating 14.9%Net 11.0%
2019Operating 24.4%Net 17.8%
2020Operating 20.2%Net 14.7%
2021Operating -1.3%Net -0.8%
2022Operating -23.1%Net -21.0%
2023Operating 34.8%Net 28.0%
2024Operating 26.4%Net 16.0%
2025Operating 32.2%Net 20.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
-20%0%20%40%
2016Return on invested capital 11.6%
2017Return on invested capital -5.7%
2018Return on invested capital 5.0%
2019Return on invested capital 13.7%
2020Return on invested capital 12.0%
2021Return on invested capital -0.9%
2022Return on invested capital -18.9%
2023Return on invested capital 23.3%
2024Return on invested capital 24.5%
2025Return on invested capital 26.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
23.1%
Return on assets
5.0%
Asset turnover
0.24×
Overheads (SG&A)
0.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2B-1B01B2B3B
2016Net income 503.0M
2017Net income -222.4M
2018Net income 227.4M
2019Net income 748.8M
2020Net income 762.4M
2021Net income -40.2M
2022Net income -1.1B
2023Net income 2.6B
2024Net income 1.9B
2025Net income 2.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
19.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 14%2.7B
Dividends 3%647.0M
Share buybacks 21%4.0B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 62%12.1B
Over the same years it paid 499.8M in stock. The share count rose 11.8%. 3.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$25$0$25$50$75
2016Earnings per share $12.10Dividend per share $1.24
2017Earnings per share $-5.58Dividend per share $1.29
2018Earnings per share $5.72Dividend per share $1.33
2019Earnings per share $17.34Dividend per share $1.38
2020Earnings per share $16.16Dividend per share $1.45
2021Earnings per share $-0.85Dividend per share $1.44
2022Earnings per share $-24.66Dividend per share $1.50
2023Earnings per share $53.80Dividend per share $1.58
2024Earnings per share $36.43Dividend per share $1.57
2025Earnings per share $57.71Dividend per share $1.61
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
35M40M45M50M55M
2016Diluted shares 41.6M
2017Diluted shares 39.9M
2018Diluted shares 39.8M
2019Diluted shares 43.2M
2020Diluted shares 47.2M
2021Diluted shares 47.2M
2022Diluted shares 43.0M
2023Diluted shares 47.6M
2024Diluted shares 51.3M
2025Diluted shares 46.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.0B-0.5B00.5B1.0B
2016Net debt 527.5M
2017Net debt -372.0M
2018Net debt -116.8M
2019Net debt 5.0M
2020Net debt -600.5M
2021Net debt -690.7M
2022Net debt -23.9M
2023Net debt 81.1M
2024Net debt 210.1M
2025Net debt 598.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.1×
Interest coverage
34× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 9.9%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 3 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$8.8M9 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans56%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.