AIG · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
American International Group, Inc. reported revenue of $26.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 6.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 5.3% in 2017 to 16.0%, and it earned 6.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $14.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 223.5% went to buybacks and 67.3% to dividends; the share count fell 38.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202526.8B-6.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin16.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital6.8%7.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.0×net debt 7.8B
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-20.0B020.0B40.0B60.0B
2017Revenue 49.5BOperating income 2.6B
2018Revenue 47.4BOperating income 1.6B
2019Revenue 49.7BOperating income 6.7B
2020Revenue 43.7BOperating income -5.8B
2021
2021Revenue 52.2BOperating income 14.7B
2022Revenue 30.0BOperating income 4.4B
2023Revenue 27.9BOperating income 3.4B
2024Revenue 27.3BOperating income 4.3B
2025Revenue 26.8BOperating income 4.3B
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-3.7%
—
-6.6%
Operating income
-0.8%
—
+5.5%
Net income
-32.9%
—
—
Earnings per share
-25.2%
—
—
Dividend per share
+11.1%
—
+3.5%
Shares
-10.2%
—
-5.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2017Operating 5.3%Net -12.3%Free cash flow -16.8%
2018Operating 3.3%Net -0.0%Free cash flow -1.6%
2019Operating 13.5%Net 6.7%Free cash flow -4.2%
2020Operating -13.3%Net -13.6%Free cash flow 1.6%
2021
2021Operating 28.1%Net 19.9%Free cash flow 11.3%
2022Operating 14.6%Net 34.1%Free cash flow 13.1%
2023Operating 12.1%Net 13.0%Free cash flow 21.5%
2024Operating 15.9%Net -5.2%
2025Operating 16.0%Net 11.6%
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 9.1%
-20.0%-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%
2017Return on invested capital -11.2%
2018Return on invested capital 0.7%
2019Return on invested capital 5.2%
2020Return on invested capital -6.7%
2021
2021Return on invested capital 12.5%
2022Return on invested capital 4.8%
2023Return on invested capital 5.8%
2024Return on invested capital 5.9%
2025Return on invested capital 6.8%
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-20.0B-10.0B010.0B
2017Economic profit -19.7B
2018Economic profit -7.6B
2019Economic profit -3.9B
2020Economic profit -16.4B
2021
2021Economic profit 3.2B
2022Economic profit -3.0B
2023Economic profit -1.9B
2024Economic profit -1.6B
2025Economic profit -1.2B
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
7.5%
Return on assets
1.9%
Asset turnover
0.17×
Overheads (SG&A)
18.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-10.0B-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Net income -6.1BFree cash flow -8.3BAfter stock-based pay -8.7B
2018Net income -6.0MFree cash flow -762.0MAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2019Net income 3.3BFree cash flow -2.1BAfter stock-based pay -2.4B
2020Net income -5.9BFree cash flow 685.0MAfter stock-based pay 411.0M
2021
2021Net income 10.4BFree cash flow 5.9BAfter stock-based pay 5.6B
2022Net income 10.2BFree cash flow 3.9BAfter stock-based pay 3.6B
2023Net income 3.6BFree cash flow 6.0BAfter stock-based pay 5.8B
2024Net income -1.4B
2025Net income 3.1B
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
14.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 16%2.3B
Acquisitions 40%5.7B
Dividends 67%9.6B
Share buybacks 224%31.8B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -247%-35.1B
Over the same years it paid 2.5B in stock. The share count fell 38.7%. 29.3B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$0.00$10.00$20.00
2017Earnings per share $-6.54Free cash flow per share $-8.92Dividend per share $1.26
2018Earnings per share $-0.01Free cash flow per share $-0.84Dividend per share $1.25
2019Earnings per share $3.76Free cash flow per share $-2.37Dividend per share $1.25
2020Earnings per share $-6.84Free cash flow per share $0.79Dividend per share $1.27
2021
2021Earnings per share $11.99Free cash flow per share $6.80Dividend per share $1.25
2022Earnings per share $12.98Free cash flow per share $4.98Dividend per share $1.25
2023Earnings per share $5.02Free cash flow per share $8.28Dividend per share $1.37
2024Earnings per share $-2.14Dividend per share $1.52
2025Earnings per share $5.43Dividend per share $1.71
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
500.0M600.0M700.0M800.0M900.0M1.0B
2017Diluted shares 930.6M
2018Diluted shares 910.1M
2019Diluted shares 889.5M
2020Diluted shares 869.3M
2021
2021Diluted shares 864.9M
2022Diluted shares 787.9M
2023Diluted shares 725.2M
2024Diluted shares 657.3M
2025Diluted shares 570.3M
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2017Net debt 28.9B
2018Net debt 31.2B
2019Net debt 32.1B
2020Net debt 34.3B
2021
2021Net debt 27.7B
2022Net debt 27.1B
2023Net debt 9.3B
2024Net debt 7.5B
2025Net debt 7.8B
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.0×
Interest coverage
11× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$112.81discounted at 9.1% a year · 51% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
20.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
9.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.7×
Free cash flow yield
—
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today35.6B
Everything after, today36.6B
The whole business72.2B
Minus net debt-7.8B
What belongs to shareholders64.3B
Divided among 570.3M shares: <strong>$112.81</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-10.0B-5.0B05.0B10.0B
2017Reported -8.7B
2018Reported -1.1B
2019Reported -2.4B
2020Reported 411.0M
2021
2021Reported 5.6B
2022Reported 3.6B
2023Reported 5.8B
2024
2025
2026Projected 6.0B
2027Projected 5.8B
2028Projected 5.6B
2029Projected 5.5B
2030Projected 5.4B
2031Projected 5.3B
2032Projected 5.3B
2033Projected 5.4B
2034Projected 5.5B
2035Projected 5.6B
2017201920212022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
25.4B
24.4B
23.6B
23.0B
22.6B
22.4B
22.4B
22.6B
23.0B
23.5B
Growth
-5.0%
-4.2%
-3.3%
-2.5%
-1.7%
-0.8%
0.0%
0.8%
1.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
Free cash flow
6.0B
5.8B
5.6B
5.5B
5.4B
5.3B
5.3B
5.4B
5.5B
5.6B
Worth today
5.5B
4.9B
4.3B
3.9B
3.5B
3.2B
2.9B
2.7B
2.5B
2.3B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
8.1%
117
125
134
146
160
8.6%
108
115
123
132
143
9.1%
100
106
113
121
130
9.6%
93
98
104
111
119
10.1%
87
92
97
102
109
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-9.0%
-7.0%
-5.0%
-3.0%
-1.0%
19.0%
77
85
94
103
114
21.4%
85
94
103
114
125
23.8%
93
102
113
124
136
26.1%
100
111
122
134
148
28.5%
108
119
131
145
159
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 3.6%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$82.28
Median$113.13
90th percentile$159.99
$100.00$150.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$95.27</b> and <b>$134.36</b>; one in ten below $82.28, one in ten above $159.99.
Does the long run make sense?
12.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.8 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
51%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.