ALL · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Allstate Corp reported revenue of $67.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Of the $53.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 27.0% went to buybacks and 13.4% to dividends; the share count fell 27.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202567.7B+6.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin19.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital26.9%14.2% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay9.8B14.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.5×net debt 6.8B
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
020.0B40.0B60.0B80.0B
2017Revenue 39.4B
2018
2018Revenue 39.8B
2019Revenue 41.5B
2020Revenue 41.9B
2021Revenue 50.6B
2022Revenue 51.4B
2023Revenue 57.1BOperating income 31.0M
2024Revenue 64.1BOperating income 5.8B
2025Revenue 67.7BOperating income 13.2B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+9.6%
+10.1%
+6.2%
Net income
—
+13.0%
+12.5%
Earnings per share
—
+16.8%
+16.6%
Free cash flow per share
+28.8%
+17.6%
+14.5%
Dividend per share
+4.3%
+12.9%
+11.7%
Shares
-0.5%
-3.3%
-3.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%
2017Net 9.0%Free cash flow 10.2%
2018
2018Net 5.4%Free cash flow 12.3%
2019Net 11.7%Free cash flow 11.3%
2020Net 13.3%Free cash flow 12.4%
2021Net 3.2%Free cash flow 9.4%
2022Net -2.5%Free cash flow 9.1%
2023Operating 0.1%Net -0.3%Free cash flow 6.9%
2024Operating 9.0%Net 7.3%Free cash flow 13.6%
2025Operating 19.4%Net 15.2%Free cash flow 14.6%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 9.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017
2018
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023Return on invested capital 0.2%
2024Return on invested capital 15.6%
2025Return on invested capital 26.9%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2.5B02.5B5.0B7.5B
2017
2018
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023Economic profit -2.3B
2024Economic profit 1.9B
2025Economic profit 6.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
33.6%
Return on assets
8.6%
Asset turnover
0.57×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Net income 3.6BFree cash flow 4.0BAfter stock-based pay 3.9B
2018
2018Net income 2.2BFree cash flow 4.9BAfter stock-based pay 4.8B
2019Net income 4.8BFree cash flow 4.7BAfter stock-based pay 4.6B
2020Net income 5.6BFree cash flow 5.2BAfter stock-based pay 5.1B
2021Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 4.8BAfter stock-based pay 4.7B
2022Net income -1.3BFree cash flow 4.7BAfter stock-based pay 4.6B
2023Net income -188.0MFree cash flow 4.0BAfter stock-based pay 3.9B
2024Net income 4.7BFree cash flow 8.7BAfter stock-based pay 8.6B
2025Net income 10.3BFree cash flow 9.9BAfter stock-based pay 9.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
53.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 5%2.8B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 13%7.2B
Share buybacks 27%14.5B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 54%29.2B
Over the same years it paid 994.0M in stock. The share count fell 27.4%. 13.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-20.00$0.00$20.00$40.00
2017Earnings per share $9.66Free cash flow per share $10.92Dividend per share $1.43
2018
2018Earnings per share $6.12Free cash flow per share $13.87Dividend per share $1.74
2019Earnings per share $14.53Free cash flow per share $14.08Dividend per share $1.96
2020Earnings per share $17.67Free cash flow per share $16.43Dividend per share $2.12
2021Earnings per share $5.40Free cash flow per share $15.95Dividend per share $2.96
2022Earnings per share $-4.75Free cash flow per share $17.33Dividend per share $3.41
2023Earnings per share $-0.72Free cash flow per share $15.09Dividend per share $3.52
2024Earnings per share $17.43Free cash flow per share $32.57Dividend per share $3.59
2025Earnings per share $38.49Free cash flow per share $37.00Dividend per share $3.88
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
250.0M300.0M350.0M400.0M
2017Diluted shares 367.8M
2018
2018Diluted shares 353.2M
2019Diluted shares 333.5M
2020Diluted shares 315.5M
2021Diluted shares 299.1M
2022Diluted shares 271.2M
2023Diluted shares 262.5M
2024Diluted shares 267.8M
2025Diluted shares 267.1M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2017Net debt 5.7B
2018
2018Net debt 6.0B
2019Net debt 6.4B
2020Net debt 7.5B
2021Net debt 7.2B
2022Net debt 7.2B
2023Net debt 7.2B
2024Net debt 7.4B
2025Net debt 6.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.5×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (228M) is well below depreciation (482M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$410.40discounted at 9.2% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
10.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
8.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.7×
Free cash flow yield
8.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today51.5B
Everything after, today64.9B
The whole business116.4B
Minus net debt-6.8B
What belongs to shareholders109.6B
Divided among 267.1M shares: <strong>$410.40</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Reported 3.9B
2018
2018Reported 4.8B
2019Reported 4.6B
2020Reported 5.1B
2021Reported 4.7B
2022Reported 4.6B
2023Reported 3.9B
2024Reported 8.6B
2025Reported 9.8B
2026Projected 6.2B
2027Projected 6.7B
2028Projected 7.3B
2029Projected 7.8B
2030Projected 8.4B
2031Projected 8.8B
2032Projected 9.3B
2033Projected 9.7B
2034Projected 10.0B
2035Projected 10.2B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
74.5B
81.3B
88.1B
94.7B
101.0B
106.9B
112.2B
116.9B
120.8B
123.8B
Growth
10.0%
9.2%
8.3%
7.5%
6.7%
5.8%
5.0%
4.2%
3.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
8.3%
Free cash flow
6.2B
6.7B
7.3B
7.8B
8.4B
8.8B
9.3B
9.7B
10.0B
10.2B
Worth today
5.6B
5.6B
5.6B
5.5B
5.4B
5.2B
5.0B
4.8B
4.5B
4.2B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
8.2%
425
455
490
532
583
8.7%
393
418
447
482
523
9.2%
364
386
410
439
473
9.7%
339
358
379
403
432
10.2%
317
333
352
373
396
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%
14.0%
6.6%
287
314
342
372
404
7.4%
316
345
376
409
445
8.3%
345
376
410
447
486
9.1%
374
408
445
485
527
9.9%
403
440
479
522
569
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$277.62
Median$410.53
90th percentile$601.68
$200.00$400.00$600.00$800.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$335.76</b> and <b>$501.17</b>; one in ten below $277.62, one in ten above $601.68.
Does the long run make sense?
6.3×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.3 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 45% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital — it has earned 14% on average over the last five years.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.