RDN · Financials(surety insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Radian Group Inc reported revenue of $1.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 0.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 33.5% in 2017 to 71.8%. Of the $3.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 77.2% went to buybacks and 23.7% to dividends; the share count fell 36.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.2B-0.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin71.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay71.0M5.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017Revenue 1.2BOperating income 409.5M
2018Revenue 1.3BOperating income 745.7M
2019Revenue 1.5BOperating income 905.3M
2020Revenue 1.4BOperating income 550.6M
2021Revenue 1.3BOperating income 849.2M
2022
2022Revenue 1.2BOperating income 1.0B
2023Revenue 1.2BOperating income 950.1M
2024Revenue 1.2BOperating income 933.6M
2025Revenue 1.2BOperating income 859.5M
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.2%
-2.1%
-0.2%
Operating income
-6.1%
+0.2%
+8.6%
Net income
-7.8%
-0.6%
+19.1%
Earnings per share
-1.7%
+5.6%
+25.2%
Free cash flow per share
-27.7%
-22.1%
—
Dividend per share
+9.2%
+13.8%
+67.9%
Shares
-6.2%
-5.8%
-4.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2017Return on invested capital 3.6%
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-300.0M-200.0M-100.0M0
2017Economic profit -266.6M
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
12.2%
Return on assets
7.2%
Asset turnover
0.15×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2017Net income 121.1M
2018Net income 606.0M
2019Net income 672.3M
2020Net income 393.6M
2021Net income 600.7MFree cash flow 544.5MAfter stock-based pay 516.1M
2022
2022Net income 742.9MFree cash flow 370.6MAfter stock-based pay 332.6M
2023Net income 603.1MFree cash flow 520.9MAfter stock-based pay 479.8M
2024Net income 604.4MFree cash flow -665.1MAfter stock-based pay -703.6M
2025Net income 582.6MFree cash flow 115.7MAfter stock-based pay 71.0M
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
3.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 1%44.6M
Acquisitions 0%8.1M
Dividends 24%786.0M
Share buybacks 77%2.6B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -2%-82.4M
Over the same years it paid 262.5M in stock. The share count fell 36.1%. 2.3B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$-2.50$0.00$2.50$5.00
2017Earnings per share $0.55Dividend per share $0.01
2018Earnings per share $2.77Dividend per share $0.01
2019Earnings per share $3.20Dividend per share $0.01
2020Earnings per share $2.00Dividend per share $0.50
2021Earnings per share $3.16Free cash flow per share $2.86Dividend per share $0.54
2022
2022Earnings per share $4.35Free cash flow per share $2.17Dividend per share $0.79
2023Earnings per share $3.77Free cash flow per share $3.25Dividend per share $0.91
2024Earnings per share $3.92Free cash flow per share $-4.31Dividend per share $0.99
2025Earnings per share $4.14Free cash flow per share $0.82Dividend per share $1.03
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
140.0M160.0M180.0M200.0M220.0M240.0M
2017Diluted shares 220.4M
2018Diluted shares 218.6M
2019Diluted shares 210.3M
2020Diluted shares 196.6M
2021Diluted shares 190.3M
2022
2022Diluted shares 170.7M
2023Diluted shares 160.1M
2024Diluted shares 154.2M
2025Diluted shares 140.8M
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2017Net debt 946.5M
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201820192020202120222022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
13× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (583M against 120M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
Capital spending (4M) is well below depreciation (10M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$52.77discounted at 10.2% a year · 47% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
12.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
8.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
6.2×
Free cash flow yield
1.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.0B
Everything after, today3.5B
The whole business7.4B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders7.4B
Divided among 140.8M shares: <strong>$52.77</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021Reported 516.1M
2022
2022Reported 332.6M
2023Reported 479.8M
2024Reported -703.6M
2025Reported 71.0M
2026Projected 665.7M
2027Projected 652.7M
2028Projected 643.7M
2029Projected 638.3M
2030Projected 636.5M
2031Projected 638.3M
2032Projected 643.6M
2033Projected 652.6M
2034Projected 665.3M
2035Projected 681.9M
2017201920212022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.2B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
Growth
-2.5%
-1.9%
-1.4%
-0.8%
-0.3%
0.3%
0.8%
1.4%
1.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
57.0%
Free cash flow
665.7M
652.7M
643.7M
638.3M
636.5M
638.3M
643.6M
652.6M
665.3M
681.9M
Worth today
604.2M
537.8M
481.4M
433.3M
392.2M
357.0M
326.7M
300.7M
278.2M
258.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
54
57
60
64
69
9.7%
51
54
56
59
63
10.2%
48
50
53
55
59
10.7%
46
48
50
52
55
11.2%
43
45
47
49
51
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-6.5%
-4.5%
-2.5%
-0.5%
1.5%
45.6%
38
42
45
49
53
51.3%
42
45
49
53
58
57.0%
45
49
53
57
62
62.7%
48
52
57
61
67
68.4%
51
55
60
66
71
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 8.6%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$40.78
Median$52.90
90th percentile$70.48
$40.00$60.00$80.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$45.94</b> and <b>$60.92</b>; one in ten below $40.78, one in ten above $70.48.
Does the long run make sense?
10.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 10.5 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
47%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 21.9%) = <strong>5.21%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.1M3 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans67%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.