SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Park National Corp

PRK · Financials (national commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Park National Corp reported revenue of $664.4 million in fiscal 2025. Of the $1.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 52.1% went to dividends and 8.9% to buybacks; the share count rose 5.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 664.4M  
Operating margin 99.1% gross margin —
Return on invested capital 37.4% 21.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay 183.3M 27.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA Net cash 151.8M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score 7/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+8.9%——
Operating income+46.0%+28.9%+16.9%
Net income+6.7%+7.1%+8.5%
Earnings per share+7.0%+7.3%+7.9%
Free cash flow per share+14.6%+18.5%+9.5%
Dividend per share+5.8%+5.3%+4.5%
Shares-0.3%-0.3%+0.6%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 10.3%

Economic profit

Economic profit

(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.

Return on equity
13.3%
Return on assets
1.8%
Asset turnover
0.07×

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

1.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 8% 114.7M
  • Acquisitions 1% 17.1M
  • Dividends 52% 704.9M
  • Share buybacks 9% 120.4M
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 29% 395.0M

Over the same years it paid 64.9M in stock. The share count rose 5.2%. 55.5M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

Debt and liquidity

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.2×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

7of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell passed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Capital spending (6M) is well below depreciation (11M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +8.9% a year over the last 3 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-29

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

interest expense ÷ debt = 535.2%, kept between the risk-free rate and +8 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 18.6%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $457.27 discounted at 10.3% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
$352.3780% of 5,000 simulations$608.18
Cautious $298.83 5.0% growth · 54.3% margin · 11.3% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $457.27 9.0% growth · 63.9% margin · 10.3% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $734.55 13.0% growth · 73.5% margin · 9.3% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings41.1×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA10.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue10.9×
Free cash flow yield2.5%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today3.6B
Everything after, today3.7B
The whole business7.3B
Plus net cash151.8M
What belongs to shareholders7.4B

Divided among 16.2M shares: <strong>$457.27</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue724.2M784.2M843.4M901.0M956.1M1.0B1.1B1.1B1.1B1.2B
Growth9.0%8.3%7.6%6.8%6.1%5.4%4.7%3.9%3.2%2.5%
Cash margin63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%63.9%
Free cash flow463.0M501.3M539.2M576.0M611.2M644.2M674.2M700.8M723.4M741.5M
Worth today419.8M412.1M401.9M389.3M374.6M357.9M339.7M320.1M299.6M278.5M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
9.3% 472 497 526 559 599
9.8% 443 465 489 518 550
10.3% 417 436 457 482 509
10.8% 394 411 429 450 474
11.3% 373 388 404 423 443

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →5.0%7.0%9.0%11.0%13.0%
51.1% 334 361 389 420 453
57.5% 363 392 423 457 493
63.9% 391 423 457 494 534
70.3% 419 454 491 531 574
76.7% 448 485 525 568 615

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 9.6%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$397.35</b> and <b>$526.19</b>; one in ten below $352.37, one in ten above $608.18.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 8.3×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 8.3 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 12%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 21% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 12% on the new capital — it has earned 21% on average over the last five years.
  • 50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.26% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.26%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.26% × (1 − 18.6%) = <strong>10.79%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.29%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines215 awards · 4 option exercises · 8 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
31 Mar 2026 Trautman David LChairman of the Board Received as an award 2,212 — — 48,095
31 Mar 2026 Trautman David LChairman of the Board Shares withheld for taxes 983 $163.45 $160,618 47,112
31 Mar 2026 Trautman David LChairman of the Board Exercised options 1,718 — — 48,830
31 Mar 2026 Trautman David LChairman of the Board Shares withheld for taxes 768 $163.45 $125,504 48,062
31 Mar 2026 Herreman Kelly AChief Accounting Officer Received as an award 262 — — 2,262
31 Mar 2026 Herreman Kelly AChief Accounting Officer Shares withheld for taxes 99 $163.45 $16,125 2,164
31 Mar 2026 Herreman Kelly AChief Accounting Officer Exercised options 262 — — 2,426
31 Mar 2026 Herreman Kelly AChief Accounting Officer Shares withheld for taxes 108 $163.45 $17,674 2,318
31 Mar 2026 Burt Brady TChief Financial Officer Received as an award 1,072 — — 12,445
31 Mar 2026 Burt Brady TChief Financial Officer Shares withheld for taxes 476 $163.45 $77,745 11,969
31 Mar 2026 Burt Brady TChief Financial Officer Exercised options 1,132 — — 13,101
31 Mar 2026 Burt Brady TChief Financial Officer Shares withheld for taxes 508 $163.45 $83,024 12,593
31 Mar 2026 Miller Matthew RPresident & CEO Received as an award 1,522 — — 11,496
31 Mar 2026 Miller Matthew RPresident & CEO Shares withheld for taxes 668 $163.45 $109,250 10,828
31 Mar 2026 Miller Matthew RPresident & CEO Exercised options 1,282 — — 12,111
31 Mar 2026 Miller Matthew RPresident & CEO Shares withheld for taxes 568 $163.45 $92,908 11,542
1 Feb 2026 Agee JeffDirector Other 7,780 — — 7,780
1 Feb 2026 Agee JeffDirector Other · indirect 19,160 — — 19,160
1 Feb 2026 Agee JeffDirector Other · indirect 834 — — 834
1 Feb 2026 Agee JeffDirector Other · indirect 412 — — 412
27 Oct 2025 Delawder DanDirector Received as an award 345 — — 60,346

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (national commercial banks) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue——————514.2M564.3M645.6M664.4M
Revenue growth———————+9.7%+14.4%+2.9%
Operating income161.1M161.1M175.2M187.5M184.7M204.2M211.6M252.2M582.7M658.6M
Net income86.1M84.2M110.4M102.7M127.9M153.9M148.4M126.7M151.4M180.1M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin——————41.2%44.7%90.3%99.1%
Net margin——————28.9%22.5%23.5%27.1%
Free cash flow margin——————25.0%25.4%26.3%28.9%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue——————————
Cash
Free cash flow80.4M79.7M120.5M96.7M83.0M143.2M128.7M143.5M169.7M191.9M
Stock-based pay2.8M3.9M5.1M6.3M7.3M8.0M7.2M8.0M7.7M8.6M
Free cash flow after stock pay77.6M75.7M115.4M90.4M75.7M135.2M121.5M135.5M162.0M183.3M
Free cash flow to the firm113.8M116.2M144.3M148.6M135.0M151.4M165.7M201.1M480.7M540.7M
Free cash flow ÷ net income0.9×0.9×1.1×0.9×0.6×0.9×0.9×1.1×1.1×1.1×
Capex ÷ revenue——————1.5%1.3%1.4%1.0%
Returns
Return on invested capital6.2%7.0%10.1%11.1%10.8%12.4%11.7%12.5%31.3%37.4%
Return on equity11.6%11.1%13.3%10.6%12.3%13.9%13.9%11.1%12.2%13.3%
Return on assets1.2%1.1%1.4%1.2%1.4%1.6%1.5%1.3%1.5%1.8%
Asset turnover——————0.1×0.1×0.1×0.1×
Economic profit-75.6M-54.9M-2.4M11.1M7.2M28.1M21.2M37.0M320.9M388.3M
Per share
Earnings per share$5.59$5.47$7.07$6.29$7.80$9.37$9.06$7.80$9.32$11.11
Free cash flow per share$5.22$5.18$7.72$5.92$5.06$8.72$7.86$8.83$10.44$11.85
Dividend per share$3.74$3.74$4.04$4.23$4.29$4.52$4.68$4.24$4.77$5.55
Payout ratio66.9%68.2%57.1%67.3%55.0%48.3%51.6%54.4%51.2%49.9%
Book value per share$48.18$49.13$53.33$59.34$63.40$67.63$65.33$70.48$76.57$83.49
Diluted shares15.4M15.4M15.6M16.3M16.4M16.4M16.4M16.3M16.2M16.2M
Balance sheet
Net debt942.6M722.2M454.8M263.2M4.3M19.6M226.3M299.1M119.5M-151.8M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.6×4.3×2.5×1.3×0.0×0.1×1.1×1.2×0.2×-0.2×
Interest coverage4.2×3.8×4.0×3.0×6.1×12.8×6.8×2.6×1.5×1.5×
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—554443577
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.