NVR · Consumer discretionary(operative builders) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
NVR Inc reported revenue of $10.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Of the $10.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 102.1% went to buybacks; the share count fell 25.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202510.3B+6.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay1.0B10.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05B10B15B
2016Revenue 5.8B
2017Revenue 6.3B
2018Revenue 7.2B
2019Revenue 7.4B
2020Revenue 7.5B
2021Revenue 9.0B
2022Revenue 10.5B
2023Revenue 9.5B
2024Revenue 10.5B
2025Revenue 10.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-0.6%
+6.5%
+6.6%
Net income
-8.1%
+8.3%
+13.6%
Earnings per share
-3.9%
+13.7%
+17.3%
Free cash flow per share
-12.2%
+9.0%
+16.5%
Shares
-4.4%
-4.8%
-3.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0%5%10%15%20%
2016Net 7.3%Free cash flow 6.4%
2017Net 8.5%Free cash flow 8.7%
2018Net 11.1%Free cash flow 9.8%
2019Net 11.9%Free cash flow 11.4%
2020Net 12.0%Free cash flow 12.1%
2021Net 13.8%Free cash flow 13.7%
2022Net 16.4%Free cash flow 17.6%
2023Net 16.7%Free cash flow 15.5%
2024Net 16.0%Free cash flow 12.8%
2025Net 13.0%Free cash flow 10.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
34.7%
Return on assets
22.9%
Asset turnover
1.76×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
00.5B1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net income 425.3MFree cash flow 370.6MAfter stock-based pay 327.0M
2017Net income 537.5MFree cash flow 550.1MAfter stock-based pay 505.5M
2018Net income 797.2MFree cash flow 703.5MAfter stock-based pay 627.8M
2019Net income 878.5MFree cash flow 843.8MAfter stock-based pay 765.3M
2020Net income 901.2MFree cash flow 909.1MAfter stock-based pay 858.4M
2021Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2022Net income 1.7BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.8B
2023Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2024Net income 1.7BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2025Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
10.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 2%216.0M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 102%10.8B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -4%-435.8M
Over the same years it paid 676.6M in stock. The share count fell 25.2%. 10.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$200$400$600
2016Earnings per share $103.62Free cash flow per share $90.31
2017Earnings per share $126.77Free cash flow per share $129.74
2018Earnings per share $194.82Free cash flow per share $171.91
2019Earnings per share $221.13Free cash flow per share $212.39
2020Earnings per share $230.11Free cash flow per share $232.12
2021Earnings per share $320.48Free cash flow per share $317.32
2022Earnings per share $491.82Free cash flow per share $527.76
2023Earnings per share $463.31Free cash flow per share $428.82
2024Earnings per share $506.69Free cash flow per share $405.26
2025Earnings per share $436.55Free cash flow per share $357.37
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
3.0M3.5M4.0M4.5M
2016Diluted shares 4.1M
2017Diluted shares 4.2M
2018Diluted shares 4.1M
2019Diluted shares 4.0M
2020Diluted shares 3.9M
2021Diluted shares 3.9M
2022Diluted shares 3.5M
2023Diluted shares 3.4M
2024Diluted shares 3.3M
2025Diluted shares 3.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$405,1851 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.