NTRA · Health care(services-medical laboratories) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Natera, Inc. reported revenue of $2.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 30.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -47.6% in 2016 to -13.4%, and it earned -21.2% on its invested capital in the latest year. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.87 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.3B+30.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin-13.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital-21.2%-35.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-245.3M-10.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash995.8M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Revenue 212.5MOperating income -101.0M
2017Revenue 209.6MOperating income -135.3M
2018Revenue 257.7MOperating income -114.6M
2019Revenue 302.3MOperating income -116.3M
2020Revenue 391.0MOperating income -216.3M
2021Revenue 625.5MOperating income -468.2M
2022Revenue 820.2MOperating income -541.0M
2023Revenue 1.1BOperating income -446.2M
2024Revenue 1.7BOperating income -222.3M
2025Revenue 2.3BOperating income -309.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+41.1%
+42.6%
+30.3%
Shares
+11.6%
+11.0%
+11.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
-12.2%
Return on assets
-8.7%
Asset turnover
0.96×
Research & development
27.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
51.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-800.0M-600.0M-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M
2016Net income -100.3MFree cash flow -97.2MAfter stock-based pay -107.8M
2017Net income -137.6MFree cash flow -107.7MAfter stock-based pay -119.1M
2018Net income -128.2MFree cash flow -74.5MAfter stock-based pay -88.7M
2019Net income -124.8MFree cash flow -68.4MAfter stock-based pay -97.0M
2020Net income -229.7MFree cash flow -202.1MAfter stock-based pay -252.3M
2021Net income -471.7MFree cash flow -376.3MAfter stock-based pay -491.5M
2022Net income -547.8MFree cash flow -479.2MAfter stock-based pay -631.6M
2023Net income -434.8MFree cash flow -286.2MAfter stock-based pay -478.0M
2024Net income -190.4MFree cash flow 69.2MAfter stock-based pay -205.2M
2025Net income -208.2MFree cash flow 109.1MAfter stock-based pay -245.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-6.00$-4.00$-2.00$0.00$2.00
2016Earnings per share $-1.95Free cash flow per share $-1.88
2017Earnings per share $-2.57Free cash flow per share $-2.01
2018Earnings per share $-2.22Free cash flow per share $-1.29
2019Earnings per share $-1.79Free cash flow per share $-0.98
2020Earnings per share $-2.84Free cash flow per share $-2.49
2021Earnings per share $-5.21Free cash flow per share $-4.15
2022Earnings per share $-5.57Free cash flow per share $-4.87
2023Earnings per share $-3.78Free cash flow per share $-2.49
2024Earnings per share $-1.53Free cash flow per share $0.56
2025Earnings per share $-1.52Free cash flow per share $0.80
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
50.0M75.0M100.0M125.0M150.0M
2016Diluted shares 51.6M
2017Diluted shares 53.6M
2018Diluted shares 57.8M
2019Diluted shares 69.6M
2020Diluted shares 81.0M
2021Diluted shares 90.6M
2022Diluted shares 98.4M
2023Diluted shares 115.0M
2024Diluted shares 124.7M
2025Diluted shares 136.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2016Net debt 34.4M
2017Net debt 37.5M
2018Net debt 3.7M
2019Net debt -11.8M
2020Net debt 1.4M
2021Net debt 246.1M
2022Net debt -104.0M
2023Net debt -278.7M
2024Net debt -865.2M
2025Net debt -995.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.7×
Interest coverage
-76× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
3.39 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 47d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.87distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.44 × 6.56+2.89
Retained earnings ÷ assets -1.16 × 3.26-3.77
Operating income ÷ assets -0.13 × 6.72-0.87
Equity ÷ liabilities 2.50 × 1.05+2.62
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.13below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.69+0.64
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 3.72+1.50
Sales growth 1.36+1.21
Slower depreciation 1.09+0.13
Overheads vs sales 1.03-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.18-0.83
Leverage rising 0.89-0.29
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is -22.4%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 3.7 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.