NSC · Industrials(railroads, line-haul operating) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Norfolk Southern Corp reported revenue of $12.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 30.4% in 2016 to 35.8%, and it earned 21.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $37.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 51.6% went back into the business and 42.0% to buybacks; the share count fell 23.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.07 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.2B+2.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin35.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital21.1%22.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay2.1B17.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash923.0M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 9.9BOperating income 3.0B
2017Revenue 10.6BOperating income 3.5B
2018Revenue 11.5BOperating income 4.0B
2019Revenue 11.3BOperating income 4.0B
2020Revenue 9.8BOperating income 3.0B
2021Revenue 11.1BOperating income 4.4B
2022Revenue 12.7BOperating income 4.8B
2023Revenue 12.2BOperating income 2.9B
2024Revenue 12.1BOperating income 4.1B
2025Revenue 12.2BOperating income 4.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-1.5%
+4.5%
+2.3%
Operating income
-3.2%
+7.7%
+4.2%
Net income
-4.2%
+7.4%
+6.2%
Earnings per share
-2.8%
+10.2%
+9.5%
Free cash flow per share
-0.3%
+2.8%
+10.6%
Dividend per share
+2.9%
+7.6%
+9.7%
Shares
-1.5%
-2.6%
-3.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016Operating 30.4%Net 16.9%Free cash flow 11.6%
2017Operating 33.4%Net 51.2%Free cash flow 14.5%
2018Operating 34.6%Net 23.3%Free cash flow 15.5%
2019Operating 35.3%Net 24.1%Free cash flow 16.6%
2020Operating 30.7%Net 20.6%Free cash flow 21.9%
2021Operating 39.9%Net 27.0%Free cash flow 25.0%
2022Operating 37.7%Net 25.7%Free cash flow 17.8%
2023Operating 23.5%Net 15.0%Free cash flow 7.0%
2024Operating 33.6%Net 21.6%Free cash flow 13.8%
2025Operating 35.8%Net 23.6%Free cash flow 17.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Return on invested capital 8.6%
2017Return on invested capital 3.7%
2018Return on invested capital 19.8%
2019
2020
2021Return on invested capital 24.3%
2022Return on invested capital 28.3%
2023Return on invested capital 17.6%
2024Return on invested capital 21.6%
2025Return on invested capital 21.1%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016Economic profit -360.3M
2017Economic profit -1.7B
2018Economic profit 1.5B
2019
2020
2021Economic profit 2.0B
2022Economic profit 2.4B
2023Economic profit 942.9M
2024Economic profit 1.7B
2025Economic profit 1.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
18.5%
Return on assets
6.4%
Asset turnover
0.27×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net income 1.7BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2017Net income 5.4BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2018Net income 2.7BFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2019Net income 2.7BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.8B
2020Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 2.1BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2021Net income 3.0BFree cash flow 2.8BAfter stock-based pay 2.7B
2022Net income 3.3BFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.2B
2023Net income 1.8BFree cash flow 852.0MAfter stock-based pay 812.0M
2024Net income 2.6BFree cash flow 1.7BAfter stock-based pay 1.6B
2025Net income 2.9BFree cash flow 2.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
37.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 52%19.4B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 27%10.0B
Share buybacks 42%15.8B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -20%-7.6B
Over the same years it paid 465.0M in stock. The share count fell 23.9%. 15.3B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2016Earnings per share $5.64Free cash flow per share $3.88Dividend per share $2.35
2017Earnings per share $18.62Free cash flow per share $5.27Dividend per share $2.42
2018Earnings per share $9.51Free cash flow per share $6.33Dividend per share $3.01
2019Earnings per share $10.25Free cash flow per share $7.05Dividend per share $3.57
2020Earnings per share $7.84Free cash flow per share $8.35Dividend per share $3.74
2021Earnings per share $12.11Free cash flow per share $11.23Dividend per share $4.14
2022Earnings per share $13.88Free cash flow per share $9.65Dividend per share $4.95
2023Earnings per share $8.03Free cash flow per share $3.75Dividend per share $5.39
2024Earnings per share $11.58Free cash flow per share $7.38Dividend per share $5.39
2025Earnings per share $12.75Free cash flow per share $9.57Dividend per share $5.39
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
220.0M240.0M260.0M280.0M300.0M
2016Diluted shares 296.0M
2017Diluted shares 290.3M
2018Diluted shares 280.2M
2019Diluted shares 265.6M
2020Diluted shares 256.6M
2021Diluted shares 248.1M
2022Diluted shares 235.6M
2023Diluted shares 227.4M
2024Diluted shares 226.4M
2025Diluted shares 225.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-5.0B05.0B10.0B
2016Net debt 9.3B
2017Net debt 9.1B
2018Net debt -358.0M
2019
2020
2021Net debt -286.0M
2022Net debt 247.0M
2023Net debt -1.6B
2024Net debt -1.1B
2025Net debt -923.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.2×
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.85 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 30d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.07grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.08
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.29 × 3.26+0.95
Operating income ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.72+0.65
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.52 × 1.05+0.55
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.65below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.92+0.85
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.15+0.47
Sales growth 1.00+0.90
Slower depreciation 0.99+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.15
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$145.33discounted at 10.2% a year · 49% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
11.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
5.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.6×
Free cash flow yield
6.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today16.1B
Everything after, today15.7B
The whole business31.8B
Plus net cash923.0M
What belongs to shareholders32.7B
Divided among 225.3M shares: <strong>$145.33</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Reported 1.1B
2017Reported 1.5B
2018Reported 1.7B
2019Reported 1.8B
2020Reported 2.1B
2021Reported 2.7B
2022Reported 2.2B
2023Reported 812.0M
2024Reported 1.6B
2025Reported 2.1B
2026Projected 2.3B
2027Projected 2.4B
2028Projected 2.5B
2029Projected 2.6B
2030Projected 2.7B
2031Projected 2.8B
2032Projected 2.9B
2033Projected 2.9B
2034Projected 3.0B
2035Projected 3.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
12.7B
13.3B
13.8B
14.3B
14.9B
15.4B
15.8B
16.3B
16.8B
17.2B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
18.1%
Free cash flow
2.3B
2.4B
2.5B
2.6B
2.7B
2.8B
2.9B
2.9B
3.0B
3.1B
Worth today
2.1B
2.0B
1.9B
1.8B
1.7B
1.6B
1.5B
1.4B
1.3B
1.2B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
150
158
167
177
189
9.7%
141
147
155
164
174
10.2%
133
139
145
153
162
10.7%
126
131
137
143
151
11.2%
119
124
129
135
141
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
14.4%
107
115
124
134
145
16.3%
115
125
135
146
157
18.1%
124
134
145
157
170
19.9%
133
144
156
169
183
21.7%
142
154
166
180
195
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.7%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$112.53
Median$145.66
90th percentile$193.65
$100.00$150.00$200.00$250.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$126.67</b> and <b>$167.48</b>; one in ten below $112.53, one in ten above $193.65.
Does the long run make sense?
5.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 5.1 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 36% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 23% on average over the last five years.
49%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.18% × (1 − 21.6%) = <strong>10.33%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.19%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.