JBHT · Industrials(trucking (no local)) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Hunt J B Transport Services Inc reported revenue of $12.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 11.0% in 2016 to 7.2%, and it earned 13.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $12.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 75.1% went back into the business and 23.2% to buybacks; the share count fell 13.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.53 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.0B+6.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin7.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital13.0%15.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay875.8M7.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.9×net debt 1.4B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 6.6BOperating income 721.0M
2017Revenue 7.2BOperating income 623.8M
2018Revenue 8.6BOperating income 681.0M
2019Revenue 9.2BOperating income 733.8M
2020Revenue 9.6BOperating income 713.1M
2021Revenue 12.2BOperating income 1.0B
2022Revenue 14.8BOperating income 1.3B
2023Revenue 12.8BOperating income 993.2M
2024Revenue 12.1BOperating income 831.2M
2025Revenue 12.0BOperating income 865.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-6.8%
+4.5%
+6.9%
Operating income
-13.4%
+3.9%
+2.0%
Net income
-14.9%
+3.4%
+3.7%
Earnings per share
-12.7%
+5.3%
+5.4%
Free cash flow per share
+62.9%
+21.9%
+19.8%
Dividend per share
+3.4%
+10.4%
+8.0%
Shares
-2.5%
-1.8%
-1.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Operating 11.0%Net 6.6%Free cash flow 3.3%
2017Operating 8.7%Net 9.5%Free cash flow 4.6%
2018Operating 7.9%Net 5.7%Free cash flow 1.1%
2019Operating 8.0%Net 5.6%Free cash flow 2.7%
2020Operating 7.4%Net 5.3%Free cash flow 4.0%
2021Operating 8.6%Net 6.3%Free cash flow 2.3%
2022Operating 9.0%Net 6.5%Free cash flow 1.6%
2023Operating 7.7%Net 5.7%Free cash flow -0.9%
2024Operating 6.9%Net 4.7%Free cash flow 5.1%
2025Operating 7.2%Net 5.0%Free cash flow 7.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.3%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Return on invested capital 18.7%
2017Return on invested capital 18.1%
2018Return on invested capital 16.0%
2019Return on invested capital 15.6%
2020Return on invested capital 13.9%
2021Return on invested capital 18.0%
2022Return on invested capital 20.4%
2023Return on invested capital 13.6%
2024Return on invested capital 11.4%
2025Return on invested capital 13.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Economic profit 247.5M
2017Economic profit 284.4M
2018Economic profit 249.2M
2019Economic profit 259.3M
2020Economic profit 216.1M
2021Economic profit 427.0M
2022Economic profit 596.2M
2023Economic profit 300.0M
2024Economic profit 166.7M
2025Economic profit 232.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
16.8%
Return on assets
7.5%
Asset turnover
1.51×
Overheads (SG&A)
2.3% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2016Net income 432.1MFree cash flow 215.7MAfter stock-based pay 175.1M
2017Net income 686.3MFree cash flow 328.2MAfter stock-based pay 289.9M
2018Net income 489.6MFree cash flow 92.2MAfter stock-based pay 44.8M
2019Net income 516.3MFree cash flow 244.2MAfter stock-based pay 190.9M
2020Net income 506.0MFree cash flow 384.3MAfter stock-based pay 323.6M
2021Net income 760.8MFree cash flow 276.3MAfter stock-based pay 214.8M
2022Net income 969.4MFree cash flow 236.1MAfter stock-based pay 158.6M
2023Net income 728.3MFree cash flow -117.8MAfter stock-based pay -197.0M
2024Net income 570.9MFree cash flow 617.8MAfter stock-based pay 552.1M
2025Net income 598.3MFree cash flow 947.6MAfter stock-based pay 875.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
12.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 75%9.7B
Acquisitions 4%471.6M
Dividends 10%1.3B
Share buybacks 23%3.0B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -12%-1.6B
Over the same years it paid 596.0M in stock. The share count fell 13.8%. 2.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $3.81Free cash flow per share $1.90Dividend per share $0.87
2017Earnings per share $6.18Free cash flow per share $2.96Dividend per share $0.91
2018Earnings per share $4.43Free cash flow per share $0.83Dividend per share $0.95
2019Earnings per share $4.77Free cash flow per share $2.25Dividend per share $1.03
2020Earnings per share $4.74Free cash flow per share $3.60Dividend per share $1.07
2021Earnings per share $7.14Free cash flow per share $2.59Dividend per share $1.17
2022Earnings per share $9.21Free cash flow per share $2.24Dividend per share $1.58
2023Earnings per share $6.97Free cash flow per share $-1.13Dividend per share $1.66
2024Earnings per share $5.56Free cash flow per share $6.01Dividend per share $1.71
2025Earnings per share $6.12Free cash flow per share $9.70Dividend per share $1.75
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
95.0M100.0M105.0M110.0M115.0M
2016Diluted shares 113.4M
2017Diluted shares 111.0M
2018Diluted shares 110.4M
2019Diluted shares 108.3M
2020Diluted shares 106.8M
2021Diluted shares 106.6M
2022Diluted shares 105.3M
2023Diluted shares 104.5M
2024Diluted shares 102.8M
2025Diluted shares 97.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net debt 979.9M
2017Net debt 1.1B
2018Net debt 1.1B
2019Net debt 1.3B
2020Net debt 992.1M
2021Net debt 945.7M
2022Net debt 1.2B
2023Net debt 1.5B
2024Net debt 1.4B
2025Net debt 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.9×
Interest coverage
12× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.83 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 35d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.53safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.04 × 6.56-0.27
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.98 × 3.26+3.21
Operating income ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.72+0.73
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.82 × 1.05+0.86
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.17below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.95+0.88
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.01+0.41
Sales growth 0.99+0.89
Slower depreciation 1.03+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.93-0.16
Profit not in cash -0.14-0.64
Leverage rising 1.07-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$45.84discounted at 8.3% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
7.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
3.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.5×
Free cash flow yield
19.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.5B
Everything after, today3.4B
The whole business5.9B
Minus net debt-1.4B
What belongs to shareholders4.5B
Divided among 97.7M shares: <strong>$45.84</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2016Reported 175.1M
2017Reported 289.9M
2018Reported 44.8M
2019Reported 190.9M
2020Reported 323.6M
2021Reported 214.8M
2022Reported 158.6M
2023Reported -197.0M
2024Reported 552.1M
2025Reported 875.8M
2026Projected 324.4M
2027Projected 338.3M
2028Projected 352.0M
2029Projected 365.5M
2030Projected 378.7M
2031Projected 391.5M
2032Projected 403.9M
2033Projected 415.8M
2034Projected 427.1M
2035Projected 437.8M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
12.5B
13.1B
13.6B
14.1B
14.6B
15.1B
15.6B
16.1B
16.5B
16.9B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
2.6%
Free cash flow
324.4M
338.3M
352.0M
365.5M
378.7M
391.5M
403.9M
415.8M
427.1M
437.8M
Worth today
299.4M
288.2M
276.8M
265.3M
253.7M
242.1M
230.5M
219.1M
207.7M
196.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.3%
48
53
59
66
75
7.8%
43
47
52
57
64
8.3%
39
42
46
50
56
8.8%
35
38
41
45
49
9.3%
32
34
37
40
44
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
2.1%
28
32
36
41
45
2.3%
32
37
41
46
51
2.6%
36
41
46
51
57
2.9%
40
45
51
57
63
3.1%
44
50
55
62
68
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-1.12
Median$45.99
90th percentile$104.78
$0.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$20.20</b> and <b>$73.37</b>; one in ten below $-1.12, one in ten above $104.78.
Does the long run make sense?
3.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 3.4 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 52% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital — it has earned 15% on average over the last five years.
58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.1M3 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.