WERN · Industrials(trucking (no local)) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Werner Enterprises Inc reported revenue of $2.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 4.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 6.3% in 2016 to 0.4%, and it earned 0.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $3.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 119.1% went back into the business and 14.6% to dividends; the share count fell 16.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.81 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.9B+4.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin0.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital0.6%6.8% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-79.2M-2.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.4×net debt 692.1M
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 2.0BOperating income 126.1M
2017Revenue 2.1BOperating income 143.8M
2018Revenue 2.5BOperating income 224.2M
2019Revenue 2.5BOperating income 225.5M
2020Revenue 2.4BOperating income 227.4M
2021Revenue 2.7BOperating income 309.1M
2022Revenue 3.2BOperating income 323.1M
2023Revenue 3.2BOperating income 176.4M
2024Revenue 3.0BOperating income 66.1M
2025Revenue 2.9BOperating income 11.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-3.4%
+4.1%
+4.2%
Operating income
-67.0%
-44.8%
-23.2%
Dividend per share
+4.1%
+9.4%
+10.0%
Shares
-2.1%
-2.7%
-2.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%
2016Operating 6.3%Net 3.9%Free cash flow -11.4%
2017Operating 6.8%Net 9.6%Free cash flow -1.6%
2018Operating 9.1%Net 6.8%Free cash flow -4.1%
2019Operating 9.2%Net 6.8%Free cash flow 0.2%
2020Operating 9.6%Net 7.1%Free cash flow 1.4%
2021Operating 11.3%Net 9.5%Free cash flow -1.4%
2022Operating 10.0%Net 7.5%Free cash flow -1.8%
2023Operating 5.5%Net 3.5%Free cash flow -3.9%
2024Operating 2.2%Net 1.2%Free cash flow -2.8%
2025Operating 0.4%Net -0.5%Free cash flow -2.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Return on invested capital 12.3%
2021Return on invested capital 13.3%
2022Return on invested capital 11.4%
2023Return on invested capital 6.2%
2024Return on invested capital 2.5%
2025Return on invested capital 0.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
-1.1%
Return on assets
-0.5%
Asset turnover
1.00×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2016Net income 79.1MFree cash flow -228.2MAfter stock-based pay -230.6M
2017Net income 202.9MFree cash flow -33.5MAfter stock-based pay -38.1M
2018Net income 168.1MFree cash flow -101.7MAfter stock-based pay -109.1M
2019Net income 166.9MFree cash flow 5.9MAfter stock-based pay -2.2M
2020Net income 169.1MFree cash flow 32.8MAfter stock-based pay 23.9M
2021Net income 259.1MFree cash flow -38.0MAfter stock-based pay -48.8M
2022Net income 241.3MFree cash flow -58.5MAfter stock-based pay -71.0M
2023Net income 112.4MFree cash flow -124.4MAfter stock-based pay -136.4M
2024Net income 34.2MFree cash flow -84.1MAfter stock-based pay -92.9M
2025Net income -14.4MFree cash flow -68.5MAfter stock-based pay -79.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
3.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 119%4.3B
Acquisitions 11%386.2M
Dividends 15%534.8M
Share buybacks 14%508.5M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -58%-2.1B
Over the same years it paid 86.1M in stock. The share count fell 16.3%. 422.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-4.00$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2016Earnings per share $1.09Free cash flow per share $-3.15Dividend per share $0.24
2017Earnings per share $2.80Free cash flow per share $-0.46Dividend per share $0.26
2018Earnings per share $2.33Free cash flow per share $-1.41Dividend per share $0.32
2019Earnings per share $2.38Free cash flow per share $0.08Dividend per share $4.09
2020Earnings per share $2.44Free cash flow per share $0.47Dividend per share $0.36
2021Earnings per share $3.82Free cash flow per share $-0.56Dividend per share $0.43
2022Earnings per share $3.74Free cash flow per share $-0.91Dividend per share $0.50
2023Earnings per share $1.76Free cash flow per share $-1.95Dividend per share $0.54
2024Earnings per share $0.55Free cash flow per share $-1.34Dividend per share $0.56
2025Earnings per share $-0.24Free cash flow per share $-1.13Dividend per share $0.56
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
60.0M65.0M70.0M75.0M
2016Diluted shares 72.4M
2017Diluted shares 72.6M
2018Diluted shares 72.1M
2019Diluted shares 70.0M
2020Diluted shares 69.4M
2021Diluted shares 67.9M
2022Diluted shares 64.6M
2023Diluted shares 63.7M
2024Diluted shares 62.7M
2025Diluted shares 60.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Net debt 170.7M
2021Net debt 373.3M
2022Net debt 586.5M
2023Net debt 587.0M
2024Net debt 609.2M
2025Net debt 692.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.4×
Interest coverage
0× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.95 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 50d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.81safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.56+0.68
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.66 × 3.26+2.15
Operating income ÷ assets 0.00 × 6.72+0.03
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.91 × 1.05+0.96
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.89below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.03+0.95
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.89+0.36
Sales growth 0.98+0.88
Slower depreciation 0.95+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.07-0.32
Leverage rising 1.14-0.37
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is -10.6%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$40,9871 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.