KNX · Industrials(trucking (no local)) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Knight-Swift Transportation Holdings Inc. reported revenue of $7.5 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $8.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 27.3% went to acquisitions and 18.7% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.28 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20257.5B
Operating margin2.9%gross margin —
Return on invested capital1.7%5.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.5×net debt 1.5B
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2018
2018Revenue 5.3BOperating income 569.0M
2019
2019Revenue 4.8BOperating income 427.4M
2020Revenue 4.7BOperating income 564.4M
2021Revenue 6.0BOperating income 965.7M
2022Revenue 7.4BOperating income 1.1B
2023Revenue 7.1BOperating income 338.2M
2024Revenue 7.4BOperating income 243.4M
2025Revenue 7.5BOperating income 216.1M
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.2%
+9.8%
—
Operating income
-41.7%
-17.5%
—
Net income
-55.9%
-30.6%
—
Earnings per share
-55.9%
-29.9%
—
Dividend per share
+14.6%
+17.7%
—
Shares
-0.1%
-0.9%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2018
2018Operating 10.6%Net 7.8%Free cash flow 2.4%
2019
2019Operating 8.8%Net 6.4%Free cash flow 0.2%
2020Operating 12.1%Net 8.8%
2021Operating 16.1%Net 12.4%
2022Operating 14.7%Net 10.4%
2023Operating 4.7%Net 3.0%
2024Operating 3.3%Net 1.6%
2025Operating 2.9%Net 0.9%
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 7.4%
2019
2019Return on invested capital 5.3%
2020Return on invested capital 6.5%
2021Return on invested capital 9.2%
2022Return on invested capital 10.3%
2023Return on invested capital 3.1%
2024Return on invested capital 2.1%
2025Return on invested capital 1.7%
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
0.9%
Return on assets
0.6%
Asset turnover
0.62×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2018
2018Net income 419.3MFree cash flow 126.0MAfter stock-based pay 113.6M
2019
2019Net income 309.2MFree cash flow 9.6MAfter stock-based pay -6.4M
2020Net income 410.0M
2021Net income 743.4M
2022Net income 771.3M
2023Net income 217.1M
2024Net income 117.6M
2025Net income 65.9M
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2025
8.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 19%1.6B
Acquisitions 27%2.3B
Dividends 7%593.4M
Share buybacks 9%802.9M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 38%3.2B
Over the same years it paid 197.1M in stock. 605.8M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2018
2018Earnings per share $2.36Free cash flow per share $0.71Dividend per share $0.24
2019
2019Earnings per share $1.80Free cash flow per share $0.06Dividend per share $0.24
2020Earnings per share $2.40Dividend per share $0.32
2021Earnings per share $4.45Dividend per share $0.38
2022Earnings per share $4.73Dividend per share $0.48
2023Earnings per share $1.34Dividend per share $0.56
2024Earnings per share $0.73Dividend per share $0.64
2025Earnings per share $0.41Dividend per share $0.72
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
160.0M165.0M170.0M175.0M180.0M
2018
2018Diluted shares 178.0M
2019
2019Diluted shares 172.1M
2020Diluted shares 170.5M
2021Diluted shares 167.1M
2022Diluted shares 163.2M
2023Diluted shares 161.8M
2024Diluted shares 162.2M
2025Diluted shares 162.6M
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2018
2018Net debt 282.5M
2019
2019Net debt 205.1M
2020Net debt 352.2M
2021Net debt 1.2B
2022Net debt 883.7M
2023Net debt 1.5B
2024Net debt 1.6B
2025Net debt 1.5B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.5×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.86 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 15d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.28grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.08
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.22 × 3.26+0.71
Operating income ÷ assets 0.02 × 6.72+0.12
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.46 × 1.05+1.53
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.45below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.38+0.35
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.03+0.42
Sales growth 1.01+0.90
Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.10-0.47
Leverage rising 0.83-0.27
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$16.2M5 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.