IDCC · Financials(patent owners & lessors) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
InterDigital, Inc. reported revenue of $834.0 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 56.6% in 2017 to 55.3%, and it earned 25.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $2.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 42.9% went to buybacks and 18.8% to dividends; the share count fell 3.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 8.06 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025834.0M+5.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin55.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital25.3%16.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay485.4M58.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash264.3M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2017Revenue 532.9MOperating income 301.5M
2018
2018Revenue 307.4MOperating income 62.6M
2019Revenue 318.9MOperating income 37.8M
2020Revenue 359.0MOperating income 55.2M
2021Revenue 425.4MOperating income 71.2M
2022Revenue 457.8MOperating income 150.5M
2023Revenue 549.6MOperating income 221.6M
2024Revenue 868.5MOperating income 439.5M
2025Revenue 834.0MOperating income 460.9M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+22.1%
+18.4%
+5.1%
Operating income
+45.2%
+52.9%
+4.8%
Net income
+63.1%
+55.4%
+9.7%
Earnings per share
+56.6%
+52.2%
+10.2%
Free cash flow per share
+18.2%
+25.7%
+6.4%
Dividend per share
+8.2%
+4.9%
+4.3%
Shares
+4.2%
+2.1%
-0.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%80.0%
2017Operating 56.6%Net 33.1%Free cash flow 58.9%
2018
2018Operating 20.4%Net 21.2%Free cash flow 46.9%
2019Operating 11.9%Net 6.6%Free cash flow 26.6%
2020Operating 15.4%Net 12.5%Free cash flow 42.3%
2021Operating 16.7%Net 13.0%Free cash flow 30.1%
2022Operating 32.9%Net 20.5%Free cash flow 61.8%
2023Operating 40.3%Net 39.0%Free cash flow 38.1%
2024Operating 50.6%Net 41.3%Free cash flow 30.6%
2025Operating 55.3%Net 48.8%Free cash flow 63.4%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 9.3%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017Return on invested capital 15.4%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 0.7%
2019Return on invested capital 1.8%
2020Return on invested capital 3.8%
2021Return on invested capital 4.5%
2022Return on invested capital 8.8%
2023Return on invested capital 16.8%
2024Return on invested capital 27.6%
2025Return on invested capital 25.3%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2017Economic profit 69.9M
2018
2018Economic profit -107.6M
2019Economic profit -90.4M
2020Economic profit -62.7M
2021Economic profit -56.5M
2022Economic profit -6.1M
2023Economic profit 88.7M
2024Economic profit 243.4M
2025Economic profit 252.6M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
36.9%
Return on assets
19.7%
Asset turnover
0.40×
Overheads (SG&A)
8.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017Net income 176.2MFree cash flow 313.7MAfter stock-based pay 295.7M
2018
2018Net income 65.0MFree cash flow 144.2MAfter stock-based pay 137.1M
2019Net income 20.9MFree cash flow 84.9MAfter stock-based pay 77.3M
2020Net income 44.8MFree cash flow 151.7MAfter stock-based pay 141.2M
2021Net income 55.3MFree cash flow 127.9MAfter stock-based pay 99.1M
2022Net income 93.7MFree cash flow 282.9MAfter stock-based pay 260.8M
2023Net income 214.1MFree cash flow 209.5MAfter stock-based pay 173.7M
2024Net income 358.6MFree cash flow 265.7MAfter stock-based pay 219.7M
2025Net income 406.6MFree cash flow 528.6MAfter stock-based pay 485.4M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
2.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 2%52.6M
Acquisitions 7%143.0M
Dividends 19%406.7M
Share buybacks 43%928.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 29%631.3M
Over the same years it paid 218.9M in stock. The share count fell 3.6%. 709.1M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2017Earnings per share $4.93Free cash flow per share $8.77Dividend per share $1.21
2018
2018Earnings per share $1.84Free cash flow per share $4.08Dividend per share $1.37
2019Earnings per share $0.66Free cash flow per share $2.67Dividend per share $1.40
2020Earnings per share $1.44Free cash flow per share $4.88Dividend per share $1.39
2021Earnings per share $1.77Free cash flow per share $4.09Dividend per share $1.38
2022Earnings per share $3.07Free cash flow per share $9.28Dividend per share $1.39
2023Earnings per share $7.62Free cash flow per share $7.45Dividend per share $1.40
2024Earnings per share $12.07Free cash flow per share $8.94Dividend per share $1.41
2025Earnings per share $11.80Free cash flow per share $15.33Dividend per share $1.76
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
28.0M30.0M32.0M34.0M36.0M
2017Diluted shares 35.8M
2018
2018Diluted shares 35.3M
2019Diluted shares 31.8M
2020Diluted shares 31.1M
2021Diluted shares 31.3M
2022Diluted shares 30.5M
2023Diluted shares 28.1M
2024Diluted shares 29.7M
2025Diluted shares 34.5M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M
2017Net debt -147.9M
2018
2018Net debt -157.7M
2019Net debt -300.7M
2020Net debt -105.5M
2021Net debt -283.5M
2022Net debt -86.4M
2023Net debt 170.7M
2024Net debt -55.6M
2025Net debt -264.3M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.5×
Interest coverage
12× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.84 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 31d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
8.06safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.31 × 6.56+2.02
Retained earnings ÷ assets 1.02 × 3.26+3.34
Operating income ÷ assets 0.22 × 6.72+1.50
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.14 × 1.05+1.20
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.39below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.39+0.36
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.99+0.40
Sales growth 0.96+0.86
Slower depreciation 1.03+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.13-0.19
Profit not in cash -0.07-0.31
Leverage rising 0.92-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (16M) is well below depreciation (78M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$323.13discounted at 9.3% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
27.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
20.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
13.0×
Free cash flow yield
4.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.6B
Everything after, today6.3B
The whole business10.9B
Plus net cash264.3M
What belongs to shareholders11.1B
Divided among 34.5M shares: <strong>$323.13</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2017Reported 295.7M
2018
2018Reported 137.1M
2019Reported 77.3M
2020Reported 141.2M
2021Reported 99.1M
2022Reported 260.8M
2023Reported 173.7M
2024Reported 219.7M
2025Reported 485.4M
2026Projected 449.1M
2027Projected 524.2M
2028Projected 602.5M
2029Projected 681.8M
2030Projected 759.5M
2031Projected 832.5M
2032Projected 897.7M
2033Projected 952.1M
2034Projected 992.8M
2035Projected 1.0B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
988.3M
1.2B
1.3B
1.5B
1.7B
1.8B
2.0B
2.1B
2.2B
2.2B
Growth
18.5%
16.7%
14.9%
13.2%
11.4%
9.6%
7.8%
6.1%
4.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
45.4%
Free cash flow
449.1M
524.2M
602.5M
681.8M
759.5M
832.5M
897.7M
952.1M
992.8M
1.0B
Worth today
410.9M
438.7M
461.4M
477.7M
486.8M
488.2M
481.6M
467.3M
445.8M
418.1M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
8.3%
334
357
382
413
450
8.8%
310
329
350
376
406
9.3%
289
305
323
344
369
9.8%
270
284
300
318
339
10.3%
254
266
280
295
313
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
14.5%
16.5%
18.5%
20.5%
22.5%
36.4%
234
252
272
293
315
40.9%
256
276
298
321
346
45.4%
277
299
323
349
376
50.0%
299
323
349
376
406
54.5%
320
346
374
404
437
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 6.8%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$243.57
Median$323.17
90th percentile$444.66
$200.00$400.00$600.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$277.70</b> and <b>$379.82</b>; one in ten below $243.57, one in ten above $444.66.
Does the long run make sense?
10.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 10.6 times that year's EBITDA.
49%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 5% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 49% on the new capital — it has earned 17% on average over the last five years.
58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.1M3 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.