IBP · Consumer discretionary(general bldg contractors - residential bldgs) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Installed Building Products, Inc. reported revenue of $3.0 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $1.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 37.8% went to acquisitions and 31.5% to buybacks. On the accounting screens, it passes 8 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 5.66 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.0B
Operating margin13.0%gross margin 34.0%
Return on invested capital18.0%17.8% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay279.3M9.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.3×net debt 564.7M
Piotroski F-score8/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2021
2021Revenue 2.0BOperating income 187.9M
2022
2022
2022Revenue 2.7BOperating income 345.4M
2023
2023
2023Revenue 2.8BOperating income 369.1M
2024Revenue 2.9BOperating income 382.5M
2025Revenue 3.0BOperating income 386.4M
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
—
+2.2%
—
Operating income
—
+2.3%
—
Net income
—
+3.5%
—
Earnings per share
—
+4.6%
—
Free cash flow per share
—
+6.5%
—
Dividend per share
—
+8.1%
—
Shares
—
-1.1%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.7%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2021
2021Return on invested capital 11.2%
2022
2022
2022Return on invested capital 18.8%
2023
2023
2023Return on invested capital 17.6%
2024Return on invested capital 17.9%
2025Return on invested capital 18.0%
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
050.0M100.0M150.0M200.0M
2021
2021Economic profit 58.4M
2022
2022
2022Economic profit 164.2M
2023
2023
2023Economic profit 167.7M
2024Economic profit 178.2M
2025Economic profit 181.0M
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
37.4%
Return on assets
12.8%
Asset turnover
1.44×
Overheads (SG&A)
14.7% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2021
2021Net income 118.8MFree cash flow 101.3MAfter stock-based pay 87.5M
2022
2022
2022Net income 223.4MFree cash flow 232.3MAfter stock-based pay 218.5M
2023
2023
2023Net income 243.7MFree cash flow 278.6MAfter stock-based pay 262.7M
2024Net income 256.6MFree cash flow 251.4MAfter stock-based pay 232.0M
2025Net income 265.4MFree cash flow 300.8MAfter stock-based pay 279.3M
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2021–2025
1.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 21%303.4M
Acquisitions 38%554.5M
Dividends 26%378.7M
Share buybacks 31%461.8M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -16%-230.6M
Over the same years it paid 84.4M in stock. 377.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2021
2021Earnings per share $4.01Free cash flow per share $3.42Dividend per share $1.19
2022
2022
2022Earnings per share $7.74Free cash flow per share $8.05Dividend per share $2.17
2023
2023
2023Earnings per share $8.61Free cash flow per share $9.84Dividend per share $2.23
2024Earnings per share $9.10Free cash flow per share $8.92Dividend per share $3.00
2025Earnings per share $9.71Free cash flow per share $11.01Dividend per share $3.21
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
27.0M28.0M29.0M30.0M
2021
2021Diluted shares 29.6M
2022
2022
2022Diluted shares 28.9M
2023
2023
2023Diluted shares 28.3M
2024Diluted shares 28.2M
2025Diluted shares 27.3M
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2021
2021Net debt 529.5M
2022
2022
2022Net debt 631.6M
2023
2023
2023Net debt 480.8M
2024Net debt 547.2M
2025Net debt 564.7M
2021202120222022202220232023202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.3×
Interest coverage
12× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
3.03 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
70 days collects in 55d, stock 38d, pays in 22d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
8of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
5.66safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.34 × 6.56+2.22
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.50 × 3.26+1.64
Operating income ÷ assets 0.19 × 6.72+1.26
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.52 × 1.05+0.55
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.70below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.01+0.93
Gross margin slipping 1.00+0.53
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.01+0.90
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.02-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.24
Leverage rising 0.99-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$181.89discounted at 6.7% a year · 68% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
18.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
12.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.9×
Free cash flow yield
5.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.8B
Everything after, today3.7B
The whole business5.5B
Minus net debt-564.7M
What belongs to shareholders5.0B
Divided among 27.3M shares: <strong>$181.89</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2021
2021Reported 87.5M
2022
2022
2022Reported 218.5M
2023
2023
2023Reported 262.7M
2024Reported 232.0M
2025Reported 279.3M
2026Projected 222.3M
2027Projected 229.9M
2028Projected 237.4M
2029Projected 244.9M
2030Projected 252.4M
2031Projected 259.8M
2032Projected 267.2M
2033Projected 274.5M
2034Projected 281.6M
2035Projected 288.7M
2021202220222023202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
3.1B
3.2B
3.3B
3.4B
3.5B
3.6B
3.7B
3.8B
3.9B
4.0B
Growth
3.5%
3.4%
3.3%
3.2%
3.1%
2.9%
2.8%
2.7%
2.6%
2.5%
Cash margin
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
7.2%
Free cash flow
222.3M
229.9M
237.4M
244.9M
252.4M
259.8M
267.2M
274.5M
281.6M
288.7M
Worth today
208.5M
202.1M
195.7M
189.3M
182.9M
176.5M
170.2M
163.9M
157.7M
151.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.7%
189
214
246
291
356
6.2%
166
185
209
241
285
6.7%
148
163
182
206
237
7.2%
133
145
160
178
202
7.7%
120
130
142
157
175
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-0.5%
1.5%
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
5.8%
121
134
148
163
179
6.5%
135
149
165
182
200
7.2%
149
165
182
200
220
8.0%
163
180
199
219
241
8.7%
177
196
216
238
262
All the inputs moving at once
4,978 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$105.38
Median$180.95
90th percentile$318.38
$200.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$137.66</b> and <b>$242.42</b>; one in ten below $105.38, one in ten above $318.38.
Does the long run make sense?
11.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.8 times that year's EBITDA.
10%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 25% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 10% on the new capital — it has earned 18% on average over the last five years.
68%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$198,61010 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$257,4471 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.