HPP · Real estate(real estate) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Hudson Pacific Properties, Inc. reported revenue of $831.1 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 14.0% in 2016 to -50.6%. Of the $2.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 44.2% went to dividends and 36.1% back into the business; the share count rose 183.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025831.1M+3.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin-50.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score3/6tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
1-for-7 before fiscal 2023.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Revenue 639.6MOperating income 89.4M
2017Revenue 728.1MOperating income 136.6M
2018Revenue 728.4M
2019Revenue 818.2M
2020Revenue 805.0M
2021Revenue 896.8MOperating income 151.0M
2022Revenue 1.0BOperating income 133.4M
2023Revenue 952.3MOperating income 50.5M
2024Revenue 842.1MOperating income -202.4M
2025Revenue 831.1MOperating income -420.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-6.8%
+0.6%
+3.0%
Dividend per share
-89.6%
-74.4%
-53.3%
Shares
+29.6%
+15.3%
+12.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-75.0%-50.0%-25.0%0.0%25.0%
2016Operating 14.0%Net 4.3%Free cash flow -5.0%
2017Operating 18.8%Net 13.0%Free cash flow -1.3%
2018Net 15.3%Free cash flow -18.8%
2019Net 6.8%
2020Net 2.0%
2021Operating 16.8%Net 3.2%
2022Operating 13.0%Net -1.6%
2023Operating 5.3%Net -17.9%
2024Operating -24.0%Net -45.3%
2025Operating -50.6%Net -71.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
-19.9%
Return on assets
-8.1%
Asset turnover
0.11×
Overheads (SG&A)
8.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-600.0M-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M
2016Net income 27.2MFree cash flow -31.9MAfter stock-based pay -46.1M
2017Net income 94.6MFree cash flow -9.5MAfter stock-based pay -24.6M
2018Net income 111.8MFree cash flow -136.7MAfter stock-based pay -153.7M
2019Net income 55.8M
2020Net income 16.4M
2021Net income 29.0M
2022Net income -16.5M
2023Net income -170.7M
2024Net income -381.4M
2025Net income -592.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 36%912.4M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 44%1.1B
Share buybacks 9%214.9M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 11%282.4M
Over the same years it paid 214.2M in stock. The share count rose 183.4%. 740,000 of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-20.00$-10.00$0.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $1.73Free cash flow per share $-2.03Dividend per share $7.47
2017Earnings per share $4.30Free cash flow per share $-0.43Dividend per share $7.21
2018Earnings per share $5.03Free cash flow per share $-6.14Dividend per share $7.06
2019Earnings per share $2.50Dividend per share $7.05
2020Earnings per share $0.75Dividend per share $7.08
2021Earnings per share $1.34Dividend per share $7.12
2022Earnings per share $-0.80Dividend per share $7.08
2023Earnings per share $-8.48Dividend per share $2.73
2024Earnings per share $-18.91Dividend per share $0.76
2025Earnings per share $-13.26Dividend per share $0.01
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
10.0M20.0M30.0M40.0M50.0M
2016Diluted shares 15.8M
2017Diluted shares 22.0M
2018Diluted shares 22.2M
2019Diluted shares 22.4M
2020Diluted shares 21.9M
2021Diluted shares 21.7M
2022Diluted shares 20.5M
2023Diluted shares 20.1M
2024Diluted shares 20.2M
2025Diluted shares 44.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Net debt 2.4B
2017Net debt 2.3B
2018Net debt 2.6B
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
-2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
3of 6 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is -0.0%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$335,0001 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (real estate) first, then the rest of real estate.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.