HGV · Consumer discretionary(hotels, rooming houses, camps & other lodging places) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Hilton Grand Vacations Inc. reported revenue of $4.5 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 19.8% in 2017 to 10.8%, and it earned 4.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $2.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 138.2% went to acquisitions and 95.5% to buybacks; the share count fell 8.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.5B+11.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin10.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital4.7%6.2% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay166.0M3.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.7×net debt 4.3B
Piotroski F-score7/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Revenue 1.7BOperating income 338.0M
2018Revenue 2.0BOperating income 433.0M
2019Revenue 1.8BOperating income 316.0M
2020Revenue 894.0MOperating income -237.0M
2021Revenue 633.0M
2021Revenue 2.3BOperating income 374.0M
2022Revenue 3.5BOperating income 623.0M
2023Revenue 3.6BOperating income 627.0M
2024Revenue 4.5BOperating income 465.0M
2025Revenue 4.5BOperating income 486.0M
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+8.5%
+48.1%
+11.4%
Operating income
-7.9%
—
+4.1%
Net income
-38.7%
-2.5%
-14.4%
Earnings per share
-33.0%
—
-13.5%
Free cash flow per share
-24.2%
—
-2.7%
Shares
-8.5%
—
-0.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-40.0%-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2017Operating 19.8%Net 19.1%Free cash flow 18.8%
2018Operating 21.7%Net 14.9%Free cash flow -10.4%
2019Operating 17.2%Net 11.7%Free cash flow 5.8%
2020Operating -26.5%Net -22.5%Free cash flow 7.9%
2021Net 14.5%
2021Operating 16.0%Net 7.5%Free cash flow 6.4%
2022Operating 17.6%Net 9.9%Free cash flow 19.5%
2023Operating 17.5%Net 8.7%Free cash flow 7.8%
2024Operating 10.4%Net 1.1%Free cash flow 6.0%
2025Operating 10.8%Net 1.8%Free cash flow 5.1%
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 5.7%
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2017Return on invested capital 32.1%
2018Return on invested capital 26.2%
2019Return on invested capital 17.9%
2020Return on invested capital -19.8%
2021
2021Return on invested capital 5.0%
2022Return on invested capital 9.5%
2023Return on invested capital 8.5%
2024Return on invested capital 3.2%
2025Return on invested capital 4.7%
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2017Economic profit 263.5M
2018Economic profit 250.5M
2019Economic profit 170.2M
2020Economic profit -391.4M
2021
2021Economic profit -35.2M
2022Economic profit 181.6M
2023Economic profit 142.1M
2024Economic profit -157.7M
2025Economic profit -58.3M
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
6.3%
Return on assets
0.7%
Asset turnover
0.39×
Overheads (SG&A)
4.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M
2017Net income 326.8MFree cash flow 321.0MAfter stock-based pay 306.0M
2018Net income 298.1MFree cash flow -208.0MAfter stock-based pay -224.0M
2019Net income 215.7MFree cash flow 106.0MAfter stock-based pay 84.0M
2020Net income -201.0MFree cash flow 71.0MAfter stock-based pay 56.0M
2021Net income 92.0M
2021Net income 176.0MFree cash flow 150.0MAfter stock-based pay 102.0M
2022Net income 352.0MFree cash flow 689.0MAfter stock-based pay 643.0M
2023Net income 313.0MFree cash flow 281.0MAfter stock-based pay 241.0M
2024Net income 47.0MFree cash flow 267.0MAfter stock-based pay 220.0M
2025Net income 81.0MFree cash flow 230.0MAfter stock-based pay 166.0M
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
2.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 15%343.0M
Acquisitions 138%3.1B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 95%2.1B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -149%-3.4B
Over the same years it paid 313.0M in stock. The share count fell 8.2%. 1.8B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.50$0.00$2.50$5.00$7.50
2017Earnings per share $3.28Free cash flow per share $3.22
2018Earnings per share $3.05Free cash flow per share $-2.12
2019Earnings per share $2.42Free cash flow per share $1.19
2020Earnings per share $-2.36Free cash flow per share $0.84
2021
2021Earnings per share $1.74Free cash flow per share $1.48
2022Earnings per share $2.94Free cash flow per share $5.76
2023Earnings per share $2.80Free cash flow per share $2.52
2024Earnings per share $0.46Free cash flow per share $2.59
2025Earnings per share $0.89Free cash flow per share $2.51
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
80.0M90.0M100.0M110.0M120.0M
2017Diluted shares 99.6M
2018Diluted shares 97.9M
2019Diluted shares 89.3M
2020Diluted shares 85.0M
2021
2021Diluted shares 101.1M
2022Diluted shares 119.6M
2023Diluted shares 111.6M
2024Diluted shares 103.1M
2025Diluted shares 91.5M
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Net debt 236.0M
2018Net debt 496.0M
2019Net debt 761.0M
2020Net debt 731.0M
2021
2021Net debt 2.5B
2022Net debt 2.4B
2023Net debt 2.5B
2024Net debt 4.3B
2025Net debt 4.3B
2017201820192020202120212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
5.7×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 22d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (70M) is well below depreciation (273M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 5.7 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
78% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$480.93discounted at 5.7% a year · 78% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
543.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
63.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
10.7×
Free cash flow yield
0.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today10.5B
Everything after, today37.8B
The whole business48.3B
Minus net debt-4.3B
What belongs to shareholders44.0B
Divided among 91.5M shares: <strong>$480.93</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Reported 306.0M
2018Reported -224.0M
2019Reported 84.0M
2020Reported 56.0M
2021
2021Reported 102.0M
2022Reported 643.0M
2023Reported 241.0M
2024Reported 220.0M
2025Reported 166.0M
2026Projected 726.2M
2027Projected 889.6M
2028Projected 1.1B
2029Projected 1.3B
2030Projected 1.4B
2031Projected 1.6B
2032Projected 1.8B
2033Projected 1.9B
2034Projected 2.0B
2035Projected 2.1B
2017201920212022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.6B
6.9B
8.3B
9.7B
11.2B
12.6B
13.9B
14.9B
15.7B
16.0B
Growth
25.0%
22.5%
20.0%
17.5%
15.0%
12.5%
10.0%
7.5%
5.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
12.9%
Free cash flow
726.2M
889.6M
1.1B
1.3B
1.4B
1.6B
1.8B
1.9B
2.0B
2.1B
Worth today
687.0M
796.1M
903.7M
1.0B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.2B
1.2B
1.2B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.7%
502
597
735
953
1,352
5.2%
424
492
585
720
934
5.7%
364
414
481
572
704
6.2%
317
356
406
471
561
6.7%
279
310
348
397
461
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
21.0%
23.0%
25.0%
27.0%
29.0%
10.3%
320
351
385
420
459
11.6%
361
396
433
473
516
12.9%
402
440
481
525
572
14.2%
442
484
529
577
629
15.4%
483
529
577
630
686
All the inputs moving at once
4,865 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$288.85
Median$475.14
90th percentile$880.58
$500.00$1,000.00$1,500.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$364.41</b> and <b>$644.33</b>; one in ten below $288.85, one in ten above $880.58.
Does the long run make sense?
24.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 24.4 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
78%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 12 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$12.4M4 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.