FTI · Industrials(oil & gas field machinery & equipment) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
TechnipFMC plc reported revenue of $9.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 0.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 8.3% in 2016 to 14.5%, and it earned 28.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $6.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 42.3% went back into the business and 13.9% to dividends; the share count rose 235.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 8 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.68 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20259.9B+0.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin14.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital28.8%11.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.4B13.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash601.9M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score8/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
4-for-1 before fiscal 2017.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016Revenue 9.2BOperating income 766.1M
2017Revenue 15.1BOperating income 1.4B
2018Revenue 12.6BOperating income -532.7M
2019Revenue 7.0BOperating income -2.1B
2020Revenue 6.5BOperating income -3.2B
2021Revenue 6.4BOperating income 183.4M
2022Revenue 6.7BOperating income 375.9M
2023Revenue 7.8BOperating income 658.2M
2024Revenue 9.1BOperating income 1.2B
2025Revenue 9.9BOperating income 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+14.0%
+8.7%
+0.9%
Operating income
+56.3%
—
+7.2%
Net income
—
—
+10.5%
Earnings per share
—
—
-3.4%
Free cash flow per share
+99.9%
+31.0%
+10.1%
Dividend per share
—
+8.2%
-15.5%
Shares
-2.3%
-1.3%
+14.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
-60.0%-40.0%-20.0%-0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Return on invested capital 6.8%
2017Return on invested capital 1.6%
2018Return on invested capital -4.7%
2019Return on invested capital -17.9%
2020Return on invested capital -42.9%
2021Return on invested capital 1.5%
2022Return on invested capital -4.3%
2023Return on invested capital 3.9%
2024Return on invested capital 26.5%
2025Return on invested capital 28.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-6.0B-4.0B-2.0B02.0B
2016Economic profit -257.7M
2017Economic profit -1.5B
2018Economic profit -2.2B
2019Economic profit -3.4B
2020Economic profit -4.0B
2021Economic profit -469.1M
2022Economic profit -667.4M
2023Economic profit -261.9M
2024Economic profit 648.2M
2025Economic profit 708.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
28.7%
Return on assets
9.5%
Asset turnover
0.98×
Research & development
0.8% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
7.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-4.0B-2.0B02.0B
2016Net income 393.3MFree cash flow 180.9MAfter stock-based pay 158.9M
2017Net income 113.3MFree cash flow -45.0MAfter stock-based pay -94.1M
2018Net income -1.9BFree cash flow -553.5MAfter stock-based pay -602.6M
2019Net income -2.4BFree cash flow 435.8MAfter stock-based pay 391.4M
2020Net income -3.3BFree cash flow 400.8MAfter stock-based pay 362.5M
2021Net income 13.3MFree cash flow 589.6MAfter stock-based pay 562.8M
2022Net income -107.2MFree cash flow 194.2MAfter stock-based pay 153.7M
2023Net income 56.2MFree cash flow 467.8MAfter stock-based pay 426.9M
2024Net income 842.9MFree cash flow 679.4MAfter stock-based pay 621.1M
2025Net income 963.9MFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
6.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 42%2.8B
Acquisitions 2%104.9M
Dividends 14%913.9M
Share buybacks 12%780.6M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 30%2.0B
Over the same years it paid 431.3M in stock. The share count rose 235.5%. 349.3M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00
2016Earnings per share $3.14Free cash flow per share $1.45Dividend per share $0.89
2017Earnings per share $0.25Free cash flow per share $-0.10Dividend per share $0.14
2018Earnings per share $-4.20Free cash flow per share $-1.21Dividend per share $0.52
2019Earnings per share $-5.39Free cash flow per share $0.97Dividend per share $0.52
2020Earnings per share $-7.33Free cash flow per share $0.89Dividend per share $0.13
2021Earnings per share $0.03Free cash flow per share $1.30Dividend per share $0.00
2022Earnings per share $-0.24Free cash flow per share $0.43Dividend per share $0.00
2023Earnings per share $0.12Free cash flow per share $1.03Dividend per share $0.10
2024Earnings per share $1.91Free cash flow per share $1.54Dividend per share $0.20
2025Earnings per share $2.30Free cash flow per share $3.45Dividend per share $0.20
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M500.0M
2016Diluted shares 125.1M
2017Diluted shares 448.0M
2018Diluted shares 458.0M
2019Diluted shares 448.0M
2020Diluted shares 448.7M
2021Diluted shares 454.6M
2022Diluted shares 449.5M
2023Diluted shares 452.3M
2024Diluted shares 440.5M
2025Diluted shares 419.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-4.0B-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016Net debt -3.7B
2017Net debt -2.9B
2018Net debt -1.3B
2019Net debt 2.9B
2020Net debt 2.2B
2021Net debt 677.5M
2022Net debt 309.5M
2023Net debt 115.6M
2024Net debt -272.5M
2025Net debt -601.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.3×
Interest coverage
18× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.13 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
8of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.68distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.56+0.41
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.37 × 3.26-1.21
Operating income ÷ assets 0.14 × 6.72+0.95
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.50 × 1.05+0.53
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.75below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.40
Sales growth 1.09+0.98
Slower depreciation 0.96+0.11
Overheads vs sales 0.97-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.08-0.37
Leverage rising 0.95-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$36.32discounted at 10.2% a year · 51% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
15.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.5×
Free cash flow yield
9.1%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today7.2B
Everything after, today7.4B
The whole business14.6B
Plus net cash601.9M
What belongs to shareholders15.2B
Divided among 419.7M shares: <strong>$36.32</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2016Reported 158.9M
2017Reported -94.1M
2018Reported -602.6M
2019Reported 391.4M
2020Reported 362.5M
2021Reported 562.8M
2022Reported 153.7M
2023Reported 426.9M
2024Reported 621.1M
2025Reported 1.4B
2026Projected 932.5M
2027Projected 1.0B
2028Projected 1.1B
2029Projected 1.1B
2030Projected 1.2B
2031Projected 1.3B
2032Projected 1.3B
2033Projected 1.4B
2034Projected 1.4B
2035Projected 1.5B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
10.8B
11.6B
12.5B
13.3B
14.0B
14.8B
15.4B
16.0B
16.5B
16.9B
Growth
8.5%
7.8%
7.2%
6.5%
5.8%
5.2%
4.5%
3.8%
3.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
8.7%
Free cash flow
932.5M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
1.4B
1.5B
Worth today
846.5M
828.6M
806.0M
779.2M
748.6M
714.6M
677.9M
638.9M
598.3M
556.7M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
37
39
42
44
48
9.7%
35
37
39
41
44
10.2%
33
35
36
38
40
10.7%
31
33
34
36
38
11.2%
30
31
32
34
35
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
10.5%
12.5%
6.9%
27
29
31
33
36
7.8%
29
31
34
36
39
8.7%
31
34
36
39
42
9.5%
33
36
39
42
45
10.4%
36
38
42
45
49
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$26.48
Median$36.39
90th percentile$49.98
$40.00$60.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$30.77</b> and <b>$42.82</b>; one in ten below $26.48, one in ten above $49.98.
Does the long run make sense?
6.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.1 times that year's EBITDA.
12%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 21% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 12% on the new capital — it has earned 11% on average over the last five years.
51%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.18% × (1 − 23.9%) = <strong>10.04%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.16%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.