SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Freshpet, Inc.

FRPT · Consumer staples (grain mill products) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Freshpet, Inc. reported revenue of $1.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 26.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -1.7% in 2016 to 6.9%. Of the $427.4 million its operations generated over 10 years, 325.5% went back into the business; the share count rose 66.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.57 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 1.1B +26.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 6.9% gross margin 40.8%
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay -1.5M -0.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 7/8 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+22.8%+28.2%+26.8%
Shares+6.7%+7.1%+5.8%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
11.5%
Return on assets
7.8%
Asset turnover
0.62×
Overheads (SG&A)
33.9% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

427.4M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 325% 1.4B
  • Acquisitions 0% 0
  • Dividends 0% 0
  • Share buybacks 0% 256,226
  • More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -226% -963.9M

Over the same years it paid 175.9M in stock. The share count rose 66.4%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
5.54 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
40 days collects in 21d, stock 43d, pays in 24d

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

7of 8 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before passed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow failed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before passed
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

3.57safe zone
  • Working capital ÷ assets 0.20 × 6.56+1.32
  • Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.08 × 3.26-0.26
  • Operating income ÷ assets 0.04 × 6.72+0.29
  • Equity ÷ liabilities 2.12 × 1.05+2.23

Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

-2.47below the -1.78 line
  • Receivables vs sales 0.82+0.76
  • Gross margin slipping 1.00+0.53
  • Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
  • Sales growth 1.13+1.01
  • Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
  • Overheads vs sales 0.92-0.16
  • Profit not in cash -0.01-0.06
  • Leverage rising 0.70-0.23

Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +28.2% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 96.6%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 3 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market$64,9201 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$16.0M21 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines220 awards · 20 option exercises · 2 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
14 Sep 2026 George Walter N.Director Bought on the open market 1,000 $64.92 $64,920 51,746
1 Sep 2026 Baty Nicola J.Chief Operating Officer Shares withheld for taxes 1,687 $70.46 $118,866 36,611
1 Sep 2026 Baty Nicola J.Chief Operating Officer Shares withheld for taxes 395 $70.46 $27,832 36,216
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 7,209 $10.23 $73,748 97,656
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 568 $75.40 $42,827 49,044
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 8,170 $10.23 $83,579 107,640
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,110 $75.40 $83,694 106,530
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 979 $75.40 $73,817 96,677
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options 56,442 $10.23 $577,402 387,751
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 37,007 $74.67 $2.8M 350,744
26 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 4,180 $10.23 $42,761 49,612
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,105 $74.03 $81,803 90,447
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options 62,369 $10.23 $638,035 372,274
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 40,398 $76.01 $3.1M 331,876
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 567 $74.03 $41,975 331,309
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,250 $74.03 $92,538 99,470
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 9,030 $10.23 $92,377 100,720
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 4,620 $10.23 $47,263 46,072
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 640 $74.03 $47,379 45,432
24 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 7,981 $10.23 $81,646 91,552
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 9,030 $10.23 $92,377 92,937
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options 62,369 $10.23 $638,035 350,862
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 40,957 $73.87 $3.0M 309,905
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 4,620 $10.23 $47,263 42,091
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 639 $74.34 $47,503 41,452
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,247 $74.34 $92,702 91,690
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 7,981 $10.23 $81,646 84,673
21 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,102 $74.34 $81,923 83,571
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options 62,369 $10.23 $638,035 329,521
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 41,028 $74.80 $3.1M 288,493
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 4,620 $10.23 $47,263 38,123
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 652 $73.58 $47,974 37,471
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 9,030 $10.23 $92,377 85,180
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,273 $73.58 $93,667 83,907
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 7,981 $10.23 $81,646 77,817
19 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 1,125 $73.58 $82,778 76,692
17 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options 62,369 $10.23 $638,035 308,174
17 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 41,022 $72.86 $3.0M 267,152
17 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options · indirect 4,620 $10.23 $47,263 34,154
17 Aug 2026 Cyr William B.Chief Executive Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan · indirect 651 $72.41 $47,139 33,503

The 40 most recent lines of 44.

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 498,122 $29.4M 0.0% New
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 20,198 $1.2M 0.0% New

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (grain mill products) first, then the rest of consumer staples.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue129.7M152.4M193.2M245.9M318.8M425.5M595.3M766.9M975.2M1.1B
Revenue growth—+17.5%+26.8%+27.2%+29.7%+33.5%+39.9%+28.8%+27.2%+13.0%
Operating income-2.2M-2.8M-4.9M-253,000-2.0M-24.7M-52.0M-30.4M38.0M75.7M
Net income-3.2M-4.3M-5.4M-1.4M-3.2M-29.7M-59.5M-33.6M46.9M139.1M
Margins
Gross margin46.5%47.5%46.6%46.4%41.7%38.1%31.2%32.7%40.6%40.8%
Operating margin-1.7%-1.8%-2.5%-0.1%-0.6%-5.8%-8.7%-4.0%3.9%6.9%
Net margin-2.4%-2.8%-2.8%-0.6%-1.0%-7.0%-10.0%-4.4%4.8%12.6%
Free cash flow margin-13.2%-1.8%1.2%-22.1%-35.6%-75.5%-45.9%-21.3%-3.4%1.1%
R&D ÷ revenue0.4%0.2%0.3%0.5%0.3%—————
SG&A ÷ revenue48.3%49.3%49.1%46.6%42.3%43.9%40.0%36.7%36.7%33.9%
Cash
Free cash flow-17.2M-2.7M2.3M-54.3M-113.4M-321.5M-273.3M-163.2M-32.8M12.4M
Stock-based pay4.2M4.4M6.8M7.8M10.9M25.0M26.1M24.9M51.8M13.9M
Free cash flow after stock pay-21.3M-7.2M-4.5M-62.1M-124.3M-346.4M-299.4M-188.1M-84.6M-1.5M
Free cash flow to the firm-22.3M-9.4M-6.2M-55.3M-124.5M-324.1M-281.0M-234.7M-106.2M-47.3M
Free cash flow ÷ net income5.4×0.6×-0.4×39.3×35.6×10.8×4.6×4.9×-0.7×0.1×
Capex ÷ revenue23.1%8.5%8.4%28.7%42.2%75.7%38.6%31.2%19.2%13.4%
Returns
Return on invested capital-2.0%-2.4%-4.1%-0.1%-0.5%—————
Return on equity-2.9%-3.6%-4.4%-1.1%-0.8%-4.1%-5.8%-3.5%4.4%11.5%
Return on assets-2.5%-3.2%-3.8%-0.6%-0.7%-3.8%-5.3%-2.3%3.0%7.8%
Asset turnover1.0×1.1×1.4×1.0×0.7×0.5×0.5×0.5×0.6×0.6×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$-0.09$-0.12$-0.15$-38.47$-0.08$-0.69$-1.29$-0.70$0.93$2.48
Free cash flow per share$-0.51$-0.08$0.07$-1,510.88$-2.85$-7.49$-5.92$-3.39$-0.65$0.22
Dividend per share——————————
Payout ratio——————————
Book value per share$3.17$3.33$3.42$3.63$9.68$16.57$21.47$19.76$21.67$24.68
Diluted shares33.7M34.5M35.3M35,95039.8M42.9M46.2M48.2M50.3M56.0M
Balance sheet
Net debt3.1M-2.2M-7.6M99.5M-67.2M—————
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.4×-0.2×-0.8×6.5×-3.6×—————
Interest coverage-3.2×-3.0×-16.5×-0.3×-1.6×-8.6×-10.0×-2.2×3.1×5.4×
Current ratio1.0×1.6×1.7×1.3×3.3×2.6×2.9×4.8×4.4×5.5×
Cash conversion cycle (days)17352411262038465240
Scores
Piotroski F-score—644422567
Altman Z''1.032.812.57-1.159.8611.2611.392.603.123.57
Beneish M—-2.60-3.25-2.89-2.14-2.03-1.94-2.87-2.72-2.47

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.