FDXF · Industrials(air courier services) · 4 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-05-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
FedEx Freight Holding Company, Inc. reported revenue of $8.8 billion in fiscal 2026. Of the $3.2 billion its operations generated over 4 years, 39.4% went back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 0.70 is in the distress zone; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20268.8B
Operating margin6.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital10.6%10.6% on average over 1 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-225.0M-2.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA4.1×net debt 4.3B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2023
2024Revenue 9.4BOperating income 1.8B
2025Revenue 8.9BOperating income 1.4B
2026Revenue 8.8BOperating income 540.0M
2023202420252026
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10%0%10%20%
2023
2024Operating 18.6%Net 16.7%Free cash flow 11.5%
2025Operating 15.8%Net 15.1%Free cash flow 12.3%
2026Operating 6.1%Net 7.4%Free cash flow -2.4%
2023202420252026
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 3.9%
0%5%10%15%
2023
2024
2025
2026Return on invested capital 10.6%
2023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
0100M200M300M
2023
2024
2025
2026Economic profit 253.9M
2023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
9.5%
Asset turnover
1.28×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-0.5B00.5B1.0B1.5B2.0B
2023
2024Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2025Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2026Net income 655.0MFree cash flow -212.0MAfter stock-based pay -225.0M
2023202420252026
Where 4 years of operating cash went, 2023–2026
3.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 39%1.3B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 1%48.0M
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 59%1.9B
Over the same years it paid 35.0M in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$5$0$5$10$15
2023
2024Earnings per share $10.53Free cash flow per share $7.22Dividend per share $0.00
2025Earnings per share $9.00Free cash flow per share $7.32Dividend per share $0.00
2026Earnings per share $4.38Free cash flow per share $-1.42Dividend per share $0.32
2023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
130M140M150M160M170M
2023
2024Diluted shares 149.5M
2025Diluted shares 149.5M
2026Diluted shares 149.5M
2023202420252026
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02B4B6B
2023
2024
2025
2026Net debt 4.3B
2023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
4.1×
Interest coverage
9× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.52 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 48d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.70distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.56+0.49
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.07 × 3.26-0.24
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.53
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.07 × 1.05-0.07
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 774% against revenue growing -1%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (655M against 167M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
Net debt is 4.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
86% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$192.97discounted at 3.9% a year · 86% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
44.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
31.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.8×
Free cash flow yield
-0.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.5B
Everything after, today28.6B
The whole business33.1B
Minus net debt-4.3B
What belongs to shareholders28.9B
Divided among 149.5M shares: <strong>$192.97</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-0.5B00.5B1.0B1.5B
2023
2024Reported 1.1B
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Reported -225.0M
2027Projected 574.8M
2028Projected 558.5M
2029Projected 546.4M
2030Projected 538.2M
2031Projected 533.7M
2032Projected 532.8M
2033Projected 535.5M
2034Projected 541.7M
2035Projected 551.7M
2036Projected 565.4M
2023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
8.5B
8.2B
8.1B
7.9B
7.9B
7.9B
7.9B
8.0B
8.1B
8.3B
Growth
-3.5%
-2.8%
-2.2%
-1.5%
-0.8%
-0.2%
0.5%
1.2%
1.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
6.8%
Free cash flow
574.8M
558.5M
546.4M
538.2M
533.7M
532.8M
535.5M
541.7M
551.7M
565.4M
Worth today
553.3M
517.5M
487.4M
462.1M
441.2M
424.0M
410.1M
399.4M
391.5M
386.3M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
2.9%
202
325
771
—
—
3.4%
141
197
318
756
—
3.9%
106
138
193
311
736
4.4%
83
103
135
189
306
4.9%
67
81
101
132
186
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-7.5%
-5.5%
-3.5%
-1.5%
0.5%
5.4%
120
135
152
170
190
6.1%
136
153
172
193
215
6.8%
153
172
193
216
240
7.4%
170
191
214
238
265
8.1%
187
210
234
261
291
All the inputs moving at once
3,264 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$57.27
Median$132.53
90th percentile$261.67
$100.00$200.00$300.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$87.50</b> and <b>$191.79</b>; one in ten below $57.27, one in ten above $261.67.
Does the long run make sense?
42.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 42.0 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
86%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.