EXPO · Industrials(services-management consulting services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-02
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Exponent Inc reported revenue of $582.0 million in fiscal 2026, after growing 7.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 20.6% from 2016. Of the $1.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 39.3% went to buybacks and 37.8% to dividends; the share count fell 5.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 7.00 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2026582.0M+7.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin20.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay98.5M16.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Revenue 315.1MOperating income 61.9M
2017Revenue 347.8MOperating income 72.1M
2018Revenue 379.5MOperating income 91.5M
2020Revenue 417.2MOperating income 85.1M
2021Revenue 399.9MOperating income 83.2M
2021Revenue 466.3MOperating income 108.9M
2022Revenue 513.3MOperating income 140.8M
2023Revenue 536.8MOperating income 111.3M
2025Revenue 558.5MOperating income 119.6M
2026Revenue 582.0MOperating income 119.8M
2016201720182020202120212022202320252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+4.3%
+7.8%
+7.1%
Operating income
-5.3%
+7.5%
+7.6%
Net income
+1.2%
+5.1%
+9.3%
Earnings per share
+1.9%
+6.0%
+10.0%
Free cash flow per share
+15.1%
+5.3%
+10.6%
Dividend per share
+7.9%
+9.8%
+14.8%
Shares
-0.7%
-0.8%
-0.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Operating 19.6%Net 15.1%Free cash flow 16.7%
2017Operating 20.7%Net 11.9%Free cash flow 18.1%
2018Operating 24.1%Net 19.0%Free cash flow 19.7%
2020Operating 20.4%Net 19.8%Free cash flow 20.4%
2021Operating 20.8%Net 20.6%Free cash flow 24.6%
2021Operating 23.4%Net 21.7%Free cash flow 25.3%
2022Operating 27.4%Net 19.9%Free cash flow 15.9%
2023Operating 20.7%Net 18.7%Free cash flow 20.7%
2025Operating 21.4%Net 19.5%Free cash flow 24.6%
2026Operating 20.6%Net 18.2%Free cash flow 21.0%
2016201720182020202120212022202320252026
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2020
2021
2021
2022
2023
2025
2026
2016201720182020202120212022202320252026
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
27.2%
Return on assets
13.6%
Asset turnover
0.75×
Overheads (SG&A)
4.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
050.0M100.0M150.0M
2016Net income 47.5MFree cash flow 52.6MAfter stock-based pay 39.2M
2017Net income 41.3MFree cash flow 63.1MAfter stock-based pay 47.0M
2018Net income 72.3MFree cash flow 74.9MAfter stock-based pay 57.9M
2020Net income 82.5MFree cash flow 85.0MAfter stock-based pay 67.6M
2021Net income 82.6MFree cash flow 98.3MAfter stock-based pay 81.0M
2021Net income 101.2MFree cash flow 117.7MAfter stock-based pay 98.5M
2022Net income 102.3MFree cash flow 81.8MAfter stock-based pay 61.4M
2023Net income 100.3MFree cash flow 111.0MAfter stock-based pay 90.6M
2025Net income 109.0MFree cash flow 137.6MAfter stock-based pay 114.4M
2026Net income 106.0MFree cash flow 122.3MAfter stock-based pay 98.5M
2016201720182020202120212022202320252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2026
1.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 11%115.0M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 38%400.4M
Share buybacks 39%416.2M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 12%127.8M
Over the same years it paid 188.2M in stock. The share count fell 5.7%. 227.9M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2016Earnings per share $0.87Free cash flow per share $0.97Dividend per share $0.34
2017Earnings per share $0.77Free cash flow per share $1.17Dividend per share $0.40
2018Earnings per share $1.33Free cash flow per share $1.38Dividend per share $0.50
2020Earnings per share $1.53Free cash flow per share $1.58Dividend per share $0.62
2021Earnings per share $1.55Free cash flow per share $1.84Dividend per share $0.74
2021Earnings per share $1.90Free cash flow per share $2.21Dividend per share $0.78
2022Earnings per share $1.96Free cash flow per share $1.56Dividend per share $0.94
2023Earnings per share $1.94Free cash flow per share $2.15Dividend per share $1.02
2025Earnings per share $2.11Free cash flow per share $2.67Dividend per share $1.10
2026Earnings per share $2.07Free cash flow per share $2.39Dividend per share $1.18
2016201720182020202120212022202320252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
51.0M52.0M53.0M54.0M55.0M
2016Diluted shares 54.3M
2017Diluted shares 54.0M
2018Diluted shares 54.2M
2020Diluted shares 53.9M
2021Diluted shares 53.3M
2021Diluted shares 53.3M
2022Diluted shares 52.3M
2023Diluted shares 51.6M
2025Diluted shares 51.6M
2026Diluted shares 51.2M
2016201720182020202120212022202320252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.40 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 114d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
7.00safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.32 × 6.56+2.11
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.86 × 3.26+2.80
Operating income ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.72+1.04
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.01 × 1.05+1.06
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.54below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.08+0.99
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.08+0.44
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 0.95+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.08-0.19
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.15
Leverage rising 1.09-0.36
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$19.47discounted at 10.2% a year · 51% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
9.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.7×
Free cash flow yield
9.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today492.2M
Everything after, today505.2M
The whole business997.5M
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders997.5M
Divided among 51.2M shares: <strong>$19.47</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
050.0M100.0M150.0M
2016Reported 39.2M
2017Reported 47.0M
2018Reported 57.9M
2020Reported 67.6M
2021Reported 81.0M
2021Reported 98.5M
2022Reported 61.4M
2023Reported 90.6M
2025Reported 114.4M
2026Reported 98.5M
2027Projected 64.6M
2028Projected 69.3M
2029Projected 74.0M
2030Projected 78.6M
2031Projected 83.0M
2032Projected 87.1M
2033Projected 90.8M
2034Projected 94.2M
2035Projected 97.2M
2036Projected 99.6M
2016201820212022202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
628.6M
675.0M
720.8M
765.2M
807.7M
847.7M
884.4M
917.3M
945.9M
969.5M
Growth
8.0%
7.4%
6.8%
6.2%
5.6%
4.9%
4.3%
3.7%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
10.3%
Free cash flow
64.6M
69.3M
74.0M
78.6M
83.0M
87.1M
90.8M
94.2M
97.2M
99.6M
Worth today
58.6M
57.1M
55.4M
53.4M
51.1M
48.7M
46.1M
43.4M
40.6M
37.8M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
20
21
22
24
26
9.7%
19
20
21
22
24
10.2%
18
19
19
21
22
10.7%
17
17
18
19
20
11.2%
16
16
17
18
19
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%
8.2%
14
15
17
18
19
9.2%
15
17
18
19
21
10.3%
17
18
19
21
23
11.3%
18
19
21
23
25
12.3%
19
21
22
24
26
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$14.44
Median$19.52
90th percentile$26.68
$20.00$30.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$16.56</b> and <b>$22.87</b>; one in ten below $14.44, one in ten above $26.68.
Does the long run make sense?
6.2×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.2 times that year's EBITDA.
8%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 31% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 8% on the new capital.
51%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 28.0%) = <strong>4.80%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 2 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$12,5941 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$457,4844 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.