EIX · Utilities(electric services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Edison International reported revenue of $19.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 17.4% in 2016 to 36.7%, and it earned 10.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $28.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 180.9% went back into the business and 33.4% to dividends; the share count rose 17.0%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.93 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202519.3B+5.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin36.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital10.0%5.2% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-772.0M-4.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.7×net debt 37.8B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016Revenue 11.9BOperating income 2.1B
2017Revenue 12.3BOperating income 1.5B
2018Revenue 12.7BOperating income -552.0M
2019Revenue 12.3BOperating income 1.8B
2020Revenue 13.6BOperating income 1.2B
2021Revenue 14.9BOperating income 1.5B
2022Revenue 17.2BOperating income 1.5B
2023Revenue 16.3BOperating income 2.6B
2024Revenue 17.6BOperating income 2.9B
2025Revenue 19.3BOperating income 7.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.9%
+7.3%
+5.6%
Operating income
+68.5%
+42.3%
+14.7%
Net income
+75.6%
+43.3%
+13.5%
Earnings per share
+75.1%
+42.4%
+11.6%
Dividend per share
+6.4%
+5.9%
+6.3%
Shares
+0.3%
+0.6%
+1.8%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-60.0%-40.0%-20.0%-0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Operating 17.4%Net 12.0%Free cash flow -4.2%
2017Operating 11.8%Net 4.6%Free cash flow -2.0%
2018Operating -4.4%Net -3.3%Free cash flow -10.5%
2019Operating 14.4%Net 10.4%Free cash flow -42.0%
2020Operating 9.0%Net 5.4%Free cash flow -31.1%
2021Operating 9.9%Net 6.2%Free cash flow -36.9%
2022Operating 8.6%Net 4.8%Free cash flow -14.9%
2023Operating 16.1%Net 7.3%Free cash flow -12.5%
2024Operating 16.6%Net 7.3%Free cash flow -3.9%
2025Operating 36.7%Net 23.1%Free cash flow -3.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.0%
-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017Return on invested capital 3.9%
2018Return on invested capital -3.4%
2019Return on invested capital 4.0%
2020Return on invested capital 1.6%
2021Return on invested capital 3.0%
2022Return on invested capital 2.5%
2023Return on invested capital 5.0%
2024Return on invested capital 5.7%
2025Return on invested capital 10.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-4.0B-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016
2017Economic profit -531.8M
2018Economic profit -2.6B
2019Economic profit -689.8M
2020Economic profit -1.5B
2021Economic profit -1.2B
2022Economic profit -1.6B
2023Economic profit -466.2M
2024Economic profit -165.6M
2025Economic profit 2.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
25.4%
Return on assets
4.7%
Asset turnover
0.21×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-7.5B-5.0B-2.5B02.5B5.0B
2016Net income 1.4BFree cash flow -495.0MAfter stock-based pay -529.0M
2017Net income 565.0MFree cash flow -247.0MAfter stock-based pay -270.0M
2018Net income -423.0MFree cash flow -1.3BAfter stock-based pay -1.4B
2019Net income 1.3BFree cash flow -5.2BAfter stock-based pay -5.2B
2020Net income 739.0MFree cash flow -4.2BAfter stock-based pay -4.2B
2021Net income 925.0MFree cash flow -5.5BAfter stock-based pay -5.5B
2022Net income 824.0MFree cash flow -2.6BAfter stock-based pay -2.6B
2023Net income 1.2BFree cash flow -2.0BAfter stock-based pay -2.1B
2024Net income 1.3BFree cash flow -693.0MAfter stock-based pay -750.0M
2025Net income 4.5BFree cash flow -715.0MAfter stock-based pay -772.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
28.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 181%51.4B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 33%9.5B
Share buybacks 1%232.0M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -115%-32.7B
Over the same years it paid 377.0M in stock. The share count rose 17.0%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-20.00$-10.00$0.00$10.00$20.00
2016Earnings per share $4.32Free cash flow per share $-1.50Dividend per share $1.90
2017Earnings per share $1.72Free cash flow per share $-0.75Dividend per share $2.16
2018Earnings per share $-1.30Free cash flow per share $-4.09Dividend per share $2.42
2019Earnings per share $3.77Free cash flow per share $-15.20Dividend per share $2.38
2020Earnings per share $1.98Free cash flow per share $-11.29Dividend per share $2.48
2021Earnings per share $2.43Free cash flow per share $-14.46Dividend per share $2.60
2022Earnings per share $2.15Free cash flow per share $-6.69Dividend per share $2.74
2023Earnings per share $3.11Free cash flow per share $-5.32Dividend per share $2.89
2024Earnings per share $3.31Free cash flow per share $-1.79Dividend per share $3.09
2025Earnings per share $11.55Free cash flow per share $-1.85Dividend per share $3.30
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
320.0M340.0M360.0M380.0M400.0M
2016Diluted shares 330.0M
2017Diluted shares 328.0M
2018Diluted shares 326.0M
2019Diluted shares 341.0M
2020Diluted shares 374.0M
2021Diluted shares 380.0M
2022Diluted shares 383.0M
2023Diluted shares 385.0M
2024Diluted shares 388.0M
2025Diluted shares 386.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Net debt 11.1B
2017Net debt 11.0B
2018Net debt 14.6B
2019Net debt 18.3B
2020Net debt 20.6B
2021Net debt 24.9B
2022Net debt 28.7B
2023Net debt 32.7B
2024Net debt 35.4B
2025Net debt 37.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.7×
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.73 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 28d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.93distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.03 × 6.56-0.20
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.11 × 3.26+0.37
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.51
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.24 × 1.05+0.25
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.79below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.61+0.57
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.09+0.44
Sales growth 1.10+0.98
Slower depreciation 0.95+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.01-0.07
Leverage rising 1.01-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 3.7 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$-30.33discounted at 6.0% a year · 73% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
-2.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
2.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.4×
Free cash flow yield
—
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today7.1B
Everything after, today19.1B
The whole business26.1B
Minus net debt-37.8B
What belongs to shareholders-11.7B
Divided among 386.0M shares: <strong>$-30.33</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-6.0B-4.0B-2.0B02.0B
2016Reported -529.0M
2017Reported -270.0M
2018Reported -1.4B
2019Reported -5.2B
2020Reported -4.2B
2021Reported -5.5B
2022Reported -2.6B
2023Reported -2.1B
2024Reported -750.0M
2025Reported -772.0M
2026Projected 766.9M
2027Projected 820.1M
2028Projected 872.5M
2029Projected 923.4M
2030Projected 972.2M
2031Projected 1.0B
2032Projected 1.1B
2033Projected 1.1B
2034Projected 1.1B
2035Projected 1.2B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
20.8B
22.2B
23.6B
25.0B
26.3B
27.6B
28.7B
29.8B
30.7B
31.4B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
3.7%
Free cash flow
766.9M
820.1M
872.5M
923.4M
972.2M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
Worth today
723.5M
730.0M
732.8M
731.7M
726.8M
718.1M
705.8M
689.9M
670.8M
648.7M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.0%
-28
-17
-3
19
56
5.5%
-37
-29
-19
-4
17
6.0%
-44
-38
-30
-20
-6
6.5%
-49
-45
-39
-32
-22
7.0%
-54
-50
-46
-40
-33
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
2.9%
-51
-47
-42
-37
-32
3.3%
-46
-41
-36
-31
-25
3.7%
-41
-36
-30
-24
-18
4.1%
-36
-31
-24
-18
-10
4.4%
-31
-25
-19
-11
-3
All the inputs moving at once
4,923 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-72.35
Median$-31.47
90th percentile$38.13
$-100.00$0.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$-54.38</b> and <b>$-0.21</b>; one in ten below $-72.35, one in ten above $38.13.
Does the long run make sense?
2.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 2.0 times that year's EBITDA.
3%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 87% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 3% on the new capital — it has earned 5% on average over the last five years.
73%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$37,7001 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.