NEE · Utilities(electric services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Nextera Energy Inc reported revenue of $25.8 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $88.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 33.7% went to dividends; the share count rose 11.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.91 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202525.8B
Operating margin32.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital4.6%4.8% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.1×net debt 90.2B
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
4-for-1 before fiscal 2018.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2016Operating income 4.5B
2017Operating income 5.2B
2018Revenue 15.4BOperating income 4.3B
2019Revenue 17.5BOperating income 5.4B
2020Revenue 17.0BOperating income 5.1B
2021Revenue 18.8BOperating income 2.9B
2022Revenue 23.0BOperating income 4.1B
2023Revenue 24.8BOperating income 10.2B
2024Revenue 23.5BOperating income 7.5B
2025Revenue 25.8BOperating income 8.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.9%
+8.7%
—
Operating income
+26.6%
+10.1%
+7.1%
Net income
+18.1%
+18.5%
+10.0%
Earnings per share
+16.3%
+17.4%
+8.7%
Dividend per share
+10.1%
+10.2%
+11.3%
Shares
+1.5%
+1.0%
+1.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016
2017
2018Operating 27.8%Net 43.1%
2019Operating 30.6%Net 21.5%
2020Operating 30.1%Net 17.2%
2021Operating 15.5%Net 19.0%
2022Operating 17.7%Net 18.0%
2023Operating 41.3%Net 29.5%
2024Operating 31.8%Net 29.6%
2025Operating 32.1%Net 26.5%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2016Return on invested capital 5.6%
2017Return on invested capital 7.2%
2018Return on invested capital 5.3%
2019Return on invested capital 6.2%
2020Return on invested capital 6.1%
2021Return on invested capital 2.9%
2022Return on invested capital 3.4%
2023Return on invested capital 7.6%
2024Return on invested capital 5.4%
2025Return on invested capital 4.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
12.5%
Return on assets
3.2%
Asset turnover
0.12×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Net income 2.9B
2017Net income 5.4B
2018Net income 6.6B
2019Net income 3.8B
2020Net income 2.9B
2021Net income 3.6B
2022Net income 4.1B
2023Net income 7.3B
2024Net income 6.9B
2025Net income 6.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
88.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 34%29.8B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 66%58.6B
Over the same years it paid 1.2B in stock. The share count rose 11.1%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00$4.00
2016Earnings per share $1.56Dividend per share $0.87
2017Earnings per share $2.85Dividend per share $0.98
2018Earnings per share $3.48Dividend per share $1.10
2019Earnings per share $1.94Dividend per share $1.24
2020Earnings per share $1.48Dividend per share $1.39
2021Earnings per share $1.81Dividend per share $1.53
2022Earnings per share $2.10Dividend per share $1.69
2023Earnings per share $3.60Dividend per share $1.86
2024Earnings per share $3.37Dividend per share $2.06
2025Earnings per share $3.30Dividend per share $2.26
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
1.8B1.9B2.0B2.1B
2016Diluted shares 1.9B
2017Diluted shares 1.9B
2018Diluted shares 1.9B
2019Diluted shares 1.9B
2020Diluted shares 2.0B
2021Diluted shares 2.0B
2022Diluted shares 2.0B
2023Diluted shares 2.0B
2024Diluted shares 2.1B
2025Diluted shares 2.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
025.0B50.0B75.0B100.0B
2016Net debt 29.1B
2017Net debt 31.4B
2018Net debt 28.9B
2019Net debt 39.1B
2020Net debt 45.0B
2021Net debt 52.1B
2022Net debt 60.3B
2023Net debt 65.6B
2024Net debt 79.0B
2025Net debt 90.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.1×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.60 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 57d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.91distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.04 × 6.56-0.28
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.17 × 3.26+0.54
Operating income ÷ assets 0.04 × 6.72+0.26
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.37 × 1.05+0.39
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.45below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.10+1.01
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.39
Sales growth 1.10+0.98
Slower depreciation 0.94+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.12
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 6.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.