EFX · Industrials(services-consumer credit reporting, collection agencies) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Equifax Inc reported revenue of $6.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 7.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 26.2% in 2016 to 18.0%, and it earned 8.4% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $9.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 63.1% went to acquisitions and 43.4% back into the business; the share count rose 2.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.56 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20256.1B+7.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin18.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital8.4%8.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.1B17.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.7×net debt 4.9B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Revenue 3.1BOperating income 825.1M
2017Revenue 3.4BOperating income 831.7M
2018Revenue 3.4BOperating income 448.0M
2019Revenue 3.5BOperating income -335.4M
2020Revenue 4.1BOperating income 676.6M
2021Revenue 4.9BOperating income 1.1B
2022Revenue 5.1BOperating income 1.1B
2023Revenue 5.3BOperating income 933.6M
2024Revenue 5.7BOperating income 1.0B
2025Revenue 6.1BOperating income 1.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+5.8%
+8.0%
+7.6%
Operating income
+1.2%
+10.1%
+3.2%
Net income
-1.7%
+4.9%
+3.4%
Earnings per share
-2.0%
+4.7%
+3.1%
Free cash flow per share
+104.1%
+16.4%
+6.1%
Dividend per share
+6.6%
+4.0%
+4.1%
Shares
+0.2%
+0.2%
+0.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Operating 26.2%Net 15.5%Free cash flow 20.7%
2017Operating 24.7%Net 17.5%Free cash flow 17.8%
2018Operating 13.1%Net 9.1%Free cash flow 10.3%
2019Operating -9.6%Net -11.0%Free cash flow -2.4%
2020Operating 16.4%Net 12.6%Free cash flow 12.7%
2021Operating 23.1%Net 15.1%Free cash flow 17.6%
2022Operating 20.6%Net 13.6%Free cash flow 2.6%
2023Operating 17.7%Net 10.4%Free cash flow 9.8%
2024Operating 18.3%Net 10.6%Free cash flow 14.3%
2025Operating 18.0%Net 10.9%Free cash flow 18.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.8%
-10.0%-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Return on invested capital 10.5%
2017Return on invested capital 11.3%
2018Return on invested capital 6.7%
2019Return on invested capital -6.1%
2020Return on invested capital 6.9%
2021Return on invested capital 10.1%
2022Return on invested capital 8.2%
2023Return on invested capital 7.0%
2024Return on invested capital 8.0%
2025Return on invested capital 8.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2016Economic profit 195.8M
2017Economic profit 263.8M
2018Economic profit -9.7M
2019Economic profit -772.3M
2020Economic profit 3.1M
2021Economic profit 289.7M
2022Economic profit 128.4M
2023Economic profit 16.3M
2024Economic profit 109.6M
2025Economic profit 149.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
14.3%
Return on assets
5.6%
Asset turnover
0.51×
Overheads (SG&A)
26.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 488.8MFree cash flow 649.5MAfter stock-based pay 612.4M
2017Net income 587.3MFree cash flow 597.8MAfter stock-based pay 559.5M
2018Net income 310.5MFree cash flow 350.3MAfter stock-based pay 307.8M
2019Net income -384.1MFree cash flow -85.8MAfter stock-based pay -135.5M
2020Net income 520.1MFree cash flow 524.9MAfter stock-based pay 470.2M
2021Net income 744.2MFree cash flow 865.8MAfter stock-based pay 810.9M
2022Net income 696.2MFree cash flow 132.6MAfter stock-based pay 70.0M
2023Net income 545.3MFree cash flow 515.5MAfter stock-based pay 443.7M
2024Net income 604.1MFree cash flow 813.0MAfter stock-based pay 731.4M
2025Net income 660.3MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
9.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 43%4.2B
Acquisitions 63%6.1B
Dividends 20%1.9B
Share buybacks 11%1.1B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -37%-3.6B
Over the same years it paid 571.6M in stock. The share count rose 2.5%. 502.9M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $4.04Free cash flow per share $5.36Dividend per share $1.30
2017Earnings per share $4.83Free cash flow per share $4.92Dividend per share $1.54
2018Earnings per share $2.56Free cash flow per share $2.89Dividend per share $1.55
2019Earnings per share $-3.15Free cash flow per share $-0.70Dividend per share $1.55
2020Earnings per share $4.24Free cash flow per share $4.27Dividend per share $1.54
2021Earnings per share $6.02Free cash flow per share $7.00Dividend per share $1.54
2022Earnings per share $5.65Free cash flow per share $1.08Dividend per share $1.55
2023Earnings per share $4.40Free cash flow per share $4.16Dividend per share $1.55
2024Earnings per share $4.84Free cash flow per share $6.51Dividend per share $1.55
2025Earnings per share $5.32Free cash flow per share $9.14Dividend per share $1.88
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
121.0M122.0M123.0M124.0M125.0M
2016Diluted shares 121.1M
2017Diluted shares 121.5M
2018Diluted shares 121.4M
2019Diluted shares 122.0M
2020Diluted shares 122.8M
2021Diluted shares 123.6M
2022Diluted shares 123.3M
2023Diluted shares 123.9M
2024Diluted shares 124.9M
2025Diluted shares 124.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net debt 2.5B
2017Net debt 2.4B
2018Net debt 2.4B
2019Net debt 3.0B
2020Net debt 2.7B
2021Net debt 5.1B
2022Net debt 5.5B
2023Net debt 5.5B
2024Net debt 4.8B
2025Net debt 4.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.7×
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.60 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 61d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.56grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.08 × 6.56-0.51
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.54 × 3.26+1.77
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.62
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.65 × 1.05+0.68
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.83below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.99+0.91
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.99+0.40
Sales growth 1.07+0.95
Slower depreciation 0.97+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.04-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.08-0.38
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (481M) is well below depreciation (727M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$159.57discounted at 6.8% a year · 68% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
30.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
13.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
4.1×
Free cash flow yield
5.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today8.0B
Everything after, today16.7B
The whole business24.7B
Minus net debt-4.9B
What belongs to shareholders19.8B
Divided among 124.1M shares: <strong>$159.57</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Reported 612.4M
2017Reported 559.5M
2018Reported 307.8M
2019Reported -135.5M
2020Reported 470.2M
2021Reported 810.9M
2022Reported 70.0M
2023Reported 443.7M
2024Reported 731.4M
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Projected 891.6M
2027Projected 957.5M
2028Projected 1.0B
2029Projected 1.1B
2030Projected 1.1B
2031Projected 1.2B
2032Projected 1.3B
2033Projected 1.3B
2034Projected 1.3B
2035Projected 1.4B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
6.6B
7.0B
7.5B
8.0B
8.4B
8.8B
9.2B
9.6B
9.9B
10.1B
Growth
8.0%
7.4%
6.8%
6.2%
5.6%
4.9%
4.3%
3.7%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
13.6%
Free cash flow
891.6M
957.5M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
Worth today
834.5M
838.7M
838.2M
832.9M
822.8M
808.2M
789.2M
766.2M
739.4M
709.3M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.8%
167
190
221
262
321
6.3%
145
163
186
216
257
6.8%
127
142
160
182
211
7.3%
113
124
139
156
178
7.8%
100
110
122
136
153
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%
10.9%
100
112
126
140
156
12.2%
114
128
143
159
176
13.6%
128
143
160
177
196
14.9%
142
159
177
196
217
16.3%
156
174
193
214
237
All the inputs moving at once
4,983 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$99.44
Median$159.38
90th percentile$272.74
$200.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$124.76</b> and <b>$209.36</b>; one in ten below $99.44, one in ten above $272.74.
Does the long run make sense?
10.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 10.7 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
68%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$7.4M9 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.