DTE · Utilities(electric services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $28.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 24.9% went to dividends and 13.8% to acquisitions; the share count rose 15.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 0.81 is in the distress zone; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital5.8%5.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.2×net debt 26.0B
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05B10B15B
2016Revenue 10.6BOperating income 1.5B
2017Revenue 12.6BOperating income 1.7B
2018Operating income 1.6B
2019Operating income 1.4B
2020Operating income 1.6B
2021Operating income 1.5B
2022Operating income 1.7B
2023Operating income 2.2B
2024Operating income 2.1B
2025Operating income 2.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+10.7%
+8.8%
+5.3%
Net income
+10.5%
+1.3%
+6.0%
Earnings per share
+8.5%
-0.1%
+4.3%
Dividend per share
+6.4%
+1.3%
+4.0%
Shares
+1.8%
+1.4%
+1.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0%5%10%15%
2016Operating 14.0%Net 8.2%
2017Operating 13.6%Net 9.0%
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%2%4%6%8%
2016Return on invested capital 5.6%
2017Return on invested capital 7.0%
2018Return on invested capital 6.7%
2019Return on invested capital 4.5%
2020Return on invested capital 4.7%
2021Return on invested capital 4.4%
2022Return on invested capital 5.7%
2023Return on invested capital 6.2%
2024Return on invested capital 5.8%
2025Return on invested capital 5.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
11.9%
Return on assets
2.7%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
00.5B1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 868.0M
2017Net income 1.1B
2018Net income 1.1B
2019Net income 1.2B
2020Net income 1.4B
2021Net income 907.0M
2022Net income 1.1B
2023Net income 1.4B
2024Net income 1.4B
2025Net income 1.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
28.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 14%4.0B
Dividends 25%7.1B
Share buybacks 1%205.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 61%17.3B
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$2$4$6$8
2016Earnings per share $4.85Dividend per share $2.97
2017Earnings per share $6.34Dividend per share $3.31
2018Earnings per share $6.19Dividend per share $3.43
2019Earnings per share $6.32Dividend per share $3.74
2020Earnings per share $7.09Dividend per share $3.94
2021Earnings per share $4.68Dividend per share $4.08
2022Earnings per share $5.53Dividend per share $3.49
2023Earnings per share $6.78Dividend per share $3.65
2024Earnings per share $6.78Dividend per share $3.91
2025Earnings per share $7.06Dividend per share $4.21
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
170M180M190M200M210M
2016Diluted shares 179.0M
2017Diluted shares 179.0M
2018Diluted shares 181.0M
2019Diluted shares 185.0M
2020Diluted shares 193.0M
2021Diluted shares 194.0M
2022Diluted shares 196.0M
2023Diluted shares 206.0M
2024Diluted shares 207.0M
2025Diluted shares 207.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010B20B30B
2016Net debt 10.9B
2017Net debt 11.6B
2018Net debt 11.5B
2019Net debt 17.5B
2020Net debt 19.2B
2021Net debt 18.2B
2022Net debt 19.3B
2023Net debt 21.0B
2024Net debt 23.2B
2025Net debt 26.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.2×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.80 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.81distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.56-0.13
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.10 × 3.26+0.33
Operating income ÷ assets 0.04 × 6.72+0.30
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.29 × 1.05+0.31
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 5.7%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 6.2 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$822,2802 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (electric services) first, then the rest of utilities.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.