CWEN · Utilities(electric services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Clearway Energy, Inc. reported revenue of $1.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 27.8% in 2020 to 11.2%, and it earned 1.5% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $4.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 42.2% went to dividends and 28.7% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 2 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 0.73 is in the distress zone; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.4B+2.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin11.2%gross margin 62.9%
Return on invested capital1.5%2.2% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow369.0M25.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA9.9×net debt 8.4B
Piotroski F-score2/2tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2020Revenue 1.2BOperating income 333.0M
2021Revenue 1.3BOperating income 267.0M
2022Revenue 1.2BOperating income 1.5B
2023
2023Revenue 1.3BOperating income 263.0M
2024Revenue 1.4BOperating income 196.0M
2025
2025
2025
2025Revenue 1.4BOperating income 160.0M
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
—
+1.7%
+2.0%
Operating income
—
-9.5%
-7.8%
Net income
—
+16.4%
+23.7%
Earnings per share
—
+16.4%
+23.7%
Free cash flow per share
—
-5.5%
-1.5%
Dividend per share
—
+2.9%
+6.1%
Shares
—
+0.0%
+0.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2020Return on invested capital 3.9%
2021Return on invested capital 2.9%
2022Return on invested capital 11.2%
2023
2023Return on invested capital 2.3%
2024Return on invested capital 2.9%
2025
2025
2025
2025Return on invested capital 1.5%
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2020Economic profit -313.5M
2021Economic profit -473.3M
2022Economic profit 436.6M
2023
2023Economic profit -640.4M
2024Economic profit -541.5M
2025
2025
2025
2025Economic profit -824.7M
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
2.9%
Return on assets
1.0%
Asset turnover
0.09×
Overheads (SG&A)
2.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2020Net income 25.0MFree cash flow 421.0MAfter stock-based pay 418.0M
2021Net income 51.0MFree cash flow 550.0MAfter stock-based pay 546.0M
2022Net income 582.0MFree cash flow 675.0M
2023Net income 8.0M
2023Net income 79.0MFree cash flow 490.0M
2024Net income 88.0MFree cash flow 483.0M
2025
2025
2025
2025Net income 169.0MFree cash flow 369.0M
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2020–2025
4.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 29%1.2B
Acquisitions 20%857.0M
Dividends 42%1.8B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 9%360.0M
Over the same years it paid 7.0M in stock. The share count barely moved.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2020Earnings per share $0.71Free cash flow per share $12.03Dividend per share $6.03
2021Earnings per share $1.46Free cash flow per share $15.71Dividend per share $7.66
2022Earnings per share $16.63Free cash flow per share $19.29Dividend per share $8.26
2023
2023Earnings per share $2.26Free cash flow per share $14.00Dividend per share $8.89
2024Earnings per share $2.51Free cash flow per share $13.80Dividend per share $9.54
2025
2025
2025
2025Earnings per share $4.83Free cash flow per share $10.54Dividend per share $10.23
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
30.0M32.0M34.0M36.0M38.0M40.0M
2020Diluted shares 35.0M
2021Diluted shares 35.0M
2022Diluted shares 35.0M
2023
2023Diluted shares 35.0M
2024Diluted shares 35.0M
2025
2025
2025
2025Diluted shares 35.0M
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2020Net debt 6.7B
2021Net debt 7.5B
2022Net debt 6.2B
2023
2023Net debt 7.5B
2024Net debt 6.8B
2025
2025
2025
2025Net debt 8.4B
2020202120222023202320242025202520252025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
9.9×
Interest coverage
0× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.13 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
2of 2 tests passed
–ProfitableReturn on assets above zero — not reportedno data
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
–Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.73distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.56+0.05
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.01 × 3.26+0.04
Operating income ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.72+0.06
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.54 × 1.05+0.57
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (319M) is well below depreciation (682M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is -32.0%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 9.9 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$152.10discounted at 7.2% a year · 65% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
31.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
16.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
9.6×
Free cash flow yield
6.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.8B
Everything after, today8.9B
The whole business13.7B
Minus net debt-8.4B
What belongs to shareholders5.3B
Divided among 35.0M shares: <strong>$152.10</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2020Reported 418.0M
2021Reported 546.0M
2022
2023
2023
2024
2025
2025
2025
2025
2026Projected 600.0M
2027Projected 625.7M
2028Projected 651.1M
2029Projected 676.0M
2030Projected 700.5M
2031Projected 724.2M
2032Projected 747.1M
2033Projected 769.1M
2034Projected 790.1M
2035Projected 809.8M
2020202220232025202520262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.5B
1.6B
1.6B
1.7B
1.7B
1.8B
1.9B
1.9B
2.0B
2.0B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
40.2%
Free cash flow
600.0M
625.7M
651.1M
676.0M
700.5M
724.2M
747.1M
769.1M
790.1M
809.8M
Worth today
559.8M
544.6M
528.7M
512.2M
495.1M
477.6M
459.7M
441.5M
423.1M
404.6M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.2%
165
206
259
327
421
6.7%
126
158
199
250
317
7.2%
94
120
152
192
242
7.7%
66
88
114
145
184
8.2%
43
61
82
108
139
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
32.1%
36
60
87
116
147
36.2%
63
90
120
152
186
40.2%
90
120
152
187
225
44.2%
116
149
185
223
264
48.2%
143
179
217
258
303
All the inputs moving at once
4,997 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 6.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$39.61
Median$152.74
90th percentile$358.48
$0.00$200.00$400.00$600.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$86.70</b> and <b>$242.93</b>; one in ten below $39.61, one in ten above $358.48.
Does the long run make sense?
14.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 14.9 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
65%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 10 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.