CTBI · Financials(state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $846.6 million its operations generated over 10 years, 33.4% went to dividends and 5.1% back into the business; the share count rose 2.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital21.7%16.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay95.6M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.0×net debt 9.4M
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0100M200M300M400M
2016Operating income 80.0M
2017Operating income 86.8M
2018Operating income 99.8M
2019Operating income 112.5M
2020Operating income 95.7M
2021Operating income 125.7M
2022Operating income 129.7M
2023Operating income 194.1M
2024Operating income 292.7M
2025Operating income 346.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+38.7%
+29.3%
+17.7%
Net income
+6.2%
+10.5%
+8.4%
Earnings per share
+5.8%
+10.2%
+8.1%
Free cash flow per share
+1.0%
+9.5%
+5.6%
Dividend per share
+5.9%
+5.5%
+5.2%
Shares
+0.4%
+0.3%
+0.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%10%20%30%
2016Return on invested capital 7.5%
2017Return on invested capital 8.3%
2018Return on invested capital 10.5%
2019Return on invested capital 11.9%
2020Return on invested capital 8.0%
2021Return on invested capital 10.3%
2022Return on invested capital 11.6%
2023Return on invested capital 15.5%
2024Return on invested capital 21.4%
2025Return on invested capital 21.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
11.5%
Return on assets
1.5%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
050M100M150M
2016Net income 47.3MFree cash flow 57.9MAfter stock-based pay 57.5M
2017Net income 51.5MFree cash flow 60.0MAfter stock-based pay 59.3M
2018Net income 59.2MFree cash flow 62.7MAfter stock-based pay 61.9M
2019Net income 64.5MFree cash flow 80.9MAfter stock-based pay 80.0M
2020Net income 59.5MFree cash flow 60.9MAfter stock-based pay 60.0M
2021Net income 87.9MFree cash flow 113.3MAfter stock-based pay 112.5M
2022Net income 81.8MFree cash flow 93.5MAfter stock-based pay 92.1M
2023Net income 78.0MFree cash flow 79.5MAfter stock-based pay 78.0M
2024Net income 82.8MFree cash flow 97.2MAfter stock-based pay 95.9M
2025Net income 98.1MFree cash flow 97.4MAfter stock-based pay 95.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
846.6M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 5%43.4M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 33%282.4M
Share buybacks 0%1.5M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 61%519.4M
Over the same years it paid 10.5M in stock. The share count rose 2.7%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$2$4$6$8
2016Earnings per share $2.70Free cash flow per share $3.30Dividend per share $1.26
2017Earnings per share $2.92Free cash flow per share $3.40Dividend per share $1.30
2018Earnings per share $3.35Free cash flow per share $3.54Dividend per share $1.38
2019Earnings per share $3.64Free cash flow per share $4.56Dividend per share $1.48
2020Earnings per share $3.35Free cash flow per share $3.43Dividend per share $1.53
2021Earnings per share $4.94Free cash flow per share $6.36Dividend per share $1.57
2022Earnings per share $4.58Free cash flow per share $5.24Dividend per share $1.68
2023Earnings per share $4.36Free cash flow per share $4.44Dividend per share $1.80
2024Earnings per share $4.61Free cash flow per share $5.41Dividend per share $1.86
2025Earnings per share $5.43Free cash flow per share $5.40Dividend per share $1.99
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
17.4M17.6M17.8M18.0M18.2M
2016Diluted shares 17.6M
2017Diluted shares 17.7M
2018Diluted shares 17.7M
2019Diluted shares 17.7M
2020Diluted shares 17.8M
2021Diluted shares 17.8M
2022Diluted shares 17.9M
2023Diluted shares 17.9M
2024Diluted shares 18.0M
2025Diluted shares 18.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-100M0100M200M
2016Net debt 111.2M
2017Net debt 75.9M
2018Net debt 92.4M
2019Net debt -29.9M
2020Net debt 18.1M
2021Net debt -40.2M
2022Net debt 145.1M
2023Net debt 18.6M
2024Net debt -64.8M
2025Net debt 9.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.0×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$307,5321 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (state commercial banks) first, then the rest of financials.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.