CRI · Consumer discretionary(apparel & other finishd prods of fabrics & similar matl) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-03
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Carters Inc reported revenue of $2.9 billion in fiscal 2026, after shrinking 1.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 13.3% in 2016 to 5.0%, and it earned 7.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $3.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 50.2% went to buybacks and 24.0% to dividends; the share count fell 29.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.11 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20262.9B-1.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin5.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital7.8%16.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay48.4M1.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.4×net debt 80.1M
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 3.2BOperating income 425.9M
2017Revenue 3.4BOperating income 419.6M
2018Revenue 3.5BOperating income 391.4M
2019Revenue 3.5BOperating income 371.9M
2021Revenue 3.0BOperating income 189.9M
2022Revenue 3.5BOperating income 497.1M
2022Revenue 3.2BOperating income 379.2M
2023Revenue 2.9BOperating income 323.4M
2024Revenue 2.8BOperating income 254.7M
2026Revenue 2.9BOperating income 143.9M
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-3.4%
-0.8%
-1.1%
Operating income
-27.6%
-5.4%
-11.4%
Net income
-28.4%
-3.5%
-10.8%
Earnings per share
-26.1%
+0.5%
-7.3%
Free cash flow per share
+16.2%
-31.4%
-11.1%
Dividend per share
-19.4%
+21.3%
+2.1%
Shares
-3.0%
-4.0%
-3.8%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Return on invested capital 20.3%
2017Return on invested capital 22.0%
2018Return on invested capital 21.2%
2019Return on invested capital 20.3%
2021Return on invested capital 8.0%
2022Return on invested capital 19.8%
2022Return on invested capital 21.2%
2023Return on invested capital 18.5%
2024Return on invested capital 15.1%
2026Return on invested capital 7.8%
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
Economic profit
Economic profit
-100.0M0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2016Economic profit 166.0M
2017Economic profit 204.7M
2018Economic profit 190.9M
2019Economic profit 178.9M
2021Economic profit -2.8M
2022Economic profit 227.0M
2022Economic profit 184.1M
2023Economic profit 139.3M
2024Economic profit 94.4M
2026Economic profit -5.6M
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
9.9%
Return on assets
3.6%
Asset turnover
1.13×
Overheads (SG&A)
41.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net income 257.7MFree cash flow 280.7MAfter stock-based pay 263.8M
2017Net income 302.8MFree cash flow 260.1MAfter stock-based pay 242.6M
2018Net income 282.1MFree cash flow 292.4MAfter stock-based pay 277.7M
2019Net income 263.8MFree cash flow 325.8MAfter stock-based pay 309.3M
2021Net income 109.7MFree cash flow 555.6MAfter stock-based pay 542.8M
2022Net income 339.7MFree cash flow 230.8MAfter stock-based pay 209.8M
2022Net income 250.0MFree cash flow 48.0MAfter stock-based pay 26.1M
2023Net income 232.5MFree cash flow 469.3MAfter stock-based pay 449.8M
2024Net income 185.5MFree cash flow 242.6MAfter stock-based pay 224.8M
2026Net income 91.8MFree cash flow 68.6MAfter stock-based pay 48.4M
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2026
3.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 17%563.6M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 24%799.6M
Share buybacks 50%1.7B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 9%300.4M
Over the same years it paid 178.9M in stock. The share count fell 29.7%. 1.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2016Earnings per share $5.12Free cash flow per share $5.57Dividend per share $1.32
2017Earnings per share $6.29Free cash flow per share $5.40Dividend per share $1.47
2018Earnings per share $6.05Free cash flow per share $6.27Dividend per share $1.79
2019Earnings per share $5.90Free cash flow per share $7.29Dividend per share $2.00
2021Earnings per share $2.53Free cash flow per share $12.80Dividend per share $0.60
2022Earnings per share $7.90Free cash flow per share $5.37Dividend per share $1.40
2022Earnings per share $6.44Free cash flow per share $1.24Dividend per share $3.04
2023Earnings per share $6.35Free cash flow per share $12.82Dividend per share $3.06
2024Earnings per share $5.22Free cash flow per share $6.83Dividend per share $3.27
2026Earnings per share $2.59Free cash flow per share $1.94Dividend per share $1.59
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
35.0M40.0M45.0M50.0M55.0M
2016Diluted shares 50.4M
2017Diluted shares 48.1M
2018Diluted shares 46.6M
2019Diluted shares 44.7M
2021Diluted shares 43.4M
2022Diluted shares 43.0M
2022Diluted shares 38.9M
2023Diluted shares 36.6M
2024Diluted shares 35.5M
2026Diluted shares 35.4M
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net debt 281.0M
2017Net debt 438.8M
2018Net debt 423.2M
2019Net debt 380.4M
2021Net debt -112.8M
2022Net debt 7.1M
2022Net debt 404.9M
2023Net debt 146.1M
2024Net debt 85.2M
2026Net debt 80.1M
2016201720182019202120222022202320242026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.4×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.51 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 22d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.11safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.30 × 6.56+1.96
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.36 × 3.26+1.18
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.38
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.56 × 1.05+0.59
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.64below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.90+0.83
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.95+0.38
Sales growth 1.02+0.91
Slower depreciation 1.06+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.06-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.01-0.06
Leverage rising 1.01-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$100.66discounted at 8.2% a year · 57% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
38.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
18.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.3×
Free cash flow yield
1.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.6B
Everything after, today2.1B
The whole business3.6B
Minus net debt-80.1M
What belongs to shareholders3.6B
Divided among 35.4M shares: <strong>$100.66</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Reported 263.8M
2017Reported 242.6M
2018Reported 277.7M
2019Reported 309.3M
2021Reported 542.8M
2022Reported 209.8M
2022Reported 26.1M
2023Reported 449.8M
2024Reported 224.8M
2026Reported 48.4M
2027Projected 231.2M
2028Projected 229.8M
2029Projected 229.3M
2030Projected 229.7M
2031Projected 230.9M
2032Projected 233.1M
2033Projected 236.2M
2034Projected 240.3M
2035Projected 245.4M
2036Projected 251.5M
2016201820212022202420272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
2.9B
2.9B
2.8B
2.9B
2.9B
2.9B
2.9B
3.0B
3.0B
3.1B
Growth
-1.0%
-0.6%
-0.2%
0.2%
0.6%
0.9%
1.3%
1.7%
2.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
8.1%
Free cash flow
231.2M
229.8M
229.3M
229.7M
230.9M
233.1M
236.2M
240.3M
245.4M
251.5M
Worth today
213.8M
196.5M
181.2M
167.9M
156.1M
145.7M
136.5M
128.4M
121.2M
114.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.1%
104
112
122
135
151
7.6%
96
102
111
120
133
8.2%
88
94
101
109
118
8.6%
82
87
93
99
107
9.2%
77
81
86
91
97
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-5.0%
-3.0%
-1.0%
1.0%
3.0%
6.5%
71
78
85
92
100
7.2%
78
85
93
101
110
8.1%
84
92
101
110
120
8.9%
91
99
109
119
130
9.7%
97
107
117
128
139
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$68.02
Median$100.84
90th percentile$150.79
$50.00$100.00$150.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$82.08</b> and <b>$123.96</b>; one in ten below $68.02, one in ten above $150.79.
Does the long run make sense?
21.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 21.7 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
57%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.