WD · Financials(finance services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Walker & Dunlop, Inc. reported revenue of $320.0 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 22.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 379.5% in 2016 to 44.9%. Of the $2.8 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 18.5% went to dividends and 10.5% to buybacks; the share count rose 9.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 6 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025320.0M+22.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin44.9%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay-706.8M-220.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score2/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Revenue 51.5MOperating income 195.6M
2017Revenue 82.4MOperating income 243.4M
2018Revenue 95.7MOperating income 223.0M
2019Revenue 127.5MOperating income 244.7M
2020Revenue 125.6MOperating income 338.8M
2021Revenue 363.5MOperating income 384.8M
2022Revenue 430.0MOperating income 314.3M
2023Revenue 258.2MOperating income 188.5M
2024Revenue 265.4MOperating income 201.2M
2025Revenue 320.0MOperating income 143.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-9.4%
+20.6%
+22.5%
Operating income
-23.0%
-15.8%
-3.4%
Net income
-35.9%
-25.6%
-7.5%
Earnings per share
-36.4%
-26.6%
-8.4%
Dividend per share
+3.9%
+13.5%
—
Shares
+0.7%
+1.4%
+1.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
3.2%
Return on assets
1.1%
Asset turnover
0.06×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2016Net income 113.9MFree cash flow 757.0MAfter stock-based pay 738.5M
2017Net income 211.1MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2018Net income 161.4MFree cash flow 59.4MAfter stock-based pay 35.4M
2019Net income 173.4MFree cash flow 422.9MAfter stock-based pay 398.8M
2020Net income 246.2MFree cash flow -1.4BAfter stock-based pay -1.4B
2021Net income 265.8MFree cash flow 861.2MAfter stock-based pay 824.7M
2022Net income 213.8MFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2023Net income 107.4MFree cash flow -16.7MAfter stock-based pay -44.6M
2024Net income 108.2MFree cash flow 116.4MAfter stock-based pay 89.1M
2025Net income 56.2MFree cash flow -680.1MAfter stock-based pay -706.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 3%96.2M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 19%523.9M
Share buybacks 11%297.7M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 68%1.9B
Over the same years it paid 268.4M in stock. The share count rose 9.3%. 29.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-50.00$-25.00$0.00$25.00$50.00
2016Earnings per share $3.73Free cash flow per share $24.79
2017Earnings per share $6.73Free cash flow per share $33.85
2018Earnings per share $5.14Free cash flow per share $1.89Dividend per share $1.00
2019Earnings per share $5.63Free cash flow per share $13.72Dividend per share $1.21
2020Earnings per share $7.92Free cash flow per share $-45.50Dividend per share $1.46
2021Earnings per share $8.43Free cash flow per share $27.31Dividend per share $2.04
2022Earnings per share $6.54Free cash flow per share $47.75Dividend per share $2.45
2023Earnings per share $3.27Free cash flow per share $-0.51Dividend per share $2.58
2024Earnings per share $3.26Free cash flow per share $3.51Dividend per share $2.67
2025Earnings per share $1.69Free cash flow per share $-20.38Dividend per share $2.75
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
30.0M31.0M32.0M33.0M34.0M
2016Diluted shares 30.5M
2017Diluted shares 31.4M
2018Diluted shares 31.4M
2019Diluted shares 30.8M
2020Diluted shares 31.1M
2021Diluted shares 31.5M
2022Diluted shares 32.7M
2023Diluted shares 32.9M
2024Diluted shares 33.2M
2025Diluted shares 33.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
2of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✕Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zerofailed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (56M against -664M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
Capital spending (16M) is well below depreciation (239M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$301.39discounted at 10.2% a year · 55% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
178.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
26.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
31.4×
Free cash flow yield
-7.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.6B
Everything after, today5.5B
The whole business10.1B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders10.1B
Divided among 33.4M shares: <strong>$301.39</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2016Reported 738.5M
2017Reported 1.0B
2018Reported 35.4M
2019Reported 398.8M
2020Reported -1.4B
2021Reported 824.7M
2022Reported 1.5B
2023Reported -44.6M
2024Reported 89.1M
2025Reported -706.8M
2026Projected 445.6M
2027Projected 528.1M
2028Projected 615.2M
2029Projected 704.4M
2030Projected 792.5M
2031Projected 875.7M
2032Projected 950.1M
2033Projected 1.0B
2034Projected 1.1B
2035Projected 1.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
385.6M
456.9M
532.3M
609.4M
685.6M
757.6M
822.0M
875.5M
914.8M
937.7M
Growth
20.5%
18.5%
16.5%
14.5%
12.5%
10.5%
8.5%
6.5%
4.5%
2.5%
Cash margin
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
115.6%
Free cash flow
445.6M
528.1M
615.2M
704.4M
792.5M
875.7M
950.1M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
Worth today
404.5M
435.1M
460.1M
478.2M
488.3M
489.7M
482.3M
466.3M
442.3M
411.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
312
330
351
376
404
9.7%
291
307
325
345
369
10.2%
272
286
301
319
339
10.7%
256
268
281
296
314
11.2%
241
251
263
276
291
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
16.5%
18.5%
20.5%
22.5%
24.5%
92.5%
218
235
253
273
294
104.0%
238
257
277
299
322
115.6%
258
279
301
325
351
127.1%
279
301
325
351
379
138.7%
299
323
349
377
407
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 17.3%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$183.66
Median$228.48
90th percentile$291.67
$200.00$300.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$202.83</b> and <b>$259.19</b>; one in ten below $183.66, one in ten above $291.67.
Does the long run make sense?
12.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.9 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
55%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 27.9%) = <strong>4.81%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.