VSNT · Communication(television broadcasting stations) · 4 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Versant Media Group, Inc. reported revenue of $6.7 billion in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20256.7B
Operating margin19.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital8.6%10.6% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.8B27.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.7×net debt 928.0M
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02B4B6B8B
2022
2023Revenue 7.4BOperating income 2.1B
2024Revenue 7.1BOperating income 1.8B
2025Revenue 6.7BOperating income 1.3B
2022202320242025
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0%10%20%30%40%
2022
2023Operating 27.8%Net 20.7%Free cash flow 31.9%
2024Operating 26.1%Net 19.3%Free cash flow 30.5%
2025Operating 19.0%Net 13.9%Free cash flow 27.7%
2022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%5%10%15%
2022
2023
2024Return on invested capital 12.6%
2025Return on invested capital 8.6%
2022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
9.0%
Return on assets
7.5%
Asset turnover
0.54×
Overheads (SG&A)
22.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
01B2B3B
2022
2023Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.4B
2024Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 2.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2025Net income 930.0MFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.8B
2022202320242025
Where 4 years of operating cash went, 2022–2025
6.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 4%277.0M
Acquisitions 0%24.0M
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 95%6.4B
Over the same years it paid 60.0M in stock.
Per share
Shares outstanding
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-0.25B00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2022
2023
2024Net debt -8.0M
2025Net debt 928.0M
2022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.7×
Interest coverage
98× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
4.02 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 63d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.47below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.98+0.90
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.87+0.35
Sales growth 0.95+0.84
Slower depreciation 2.24+0.26
Overheads vs sales 1.33-0.23
Profit not in cash -0.09-0.41
Leverage rising 2.66-0.87
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.