VZ · Communication(telephone communications (no radiotelephone)) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Verizon Communications Inc reported revenue of $138.2 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $300.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 28.3% went to dividends and 5.6% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.53 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025138.2B
Operating margin21.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital18.3%20.4% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash430.0M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
050.0B100.0B150.0B
2018
2018Revenue 130.9BOperating income 22.3B
2019
2019Revenue 131.9BOperating income 30.4B
2020Revenue 128.3BOperating income 28.8B
2021Revenue 133.6BOperating income 32.4B
2022Revenue 136.8BOperating income 30.5B
2023Revenue 134.0BOperating income 22.9B
2024Revenue 134.8BOperating income 28.7B
2025Revenue 138.2BOperating income 29.3B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.3%
+1.5%
—
Operating income
-1.3%
+0.3%
—
Net income
-6.9%
-0.7%
—
Earnings per share
-7.1%
-1.1%
—
Dividend per share
+1.8%
+1.9%
—
Shares
+0.2%
+0.4%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2018
2018Operating 17.0%Net 11.9%Free cash flow 13.5%
2019
2019Operating 23.0%Net 14.6%
2020Operating 22.4%Net 13.9%
2021Operating 24.3%Net 16.5%
2022Operating 22.3%Net 15.5%
2023Operating 17.1%Net 8.7%
2024Operating 21.3%Net 13.0%
2025Operating 21.2%Net 12.4%
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 29.4%
2019
2019Return on invested capital 35.9%
2020Return on invested capital 29.3%
2021Return on invested capital 27.5%
2022Return on invested capital 22.9%
2023Return on invested capital 15.3%
2024Return on invested capital 18.2%
2025Return on invested capital 18.3%
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
16.2%
Return on assets
4.2%
Asset turnover
0.34×
Overheads (SG&A)
24.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2018
2018Net income 15.5BFree cash flow 17.7B
2019
2019Net income 19.3B
2020Net income 17.8B
2021Net income 22.1B
2022Net income 21.3B
2023Net income 11.6B
2024Net income 17.5B
2025Net income 17.2B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2025
300.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 6%16.7B
Acquisitions 2%5.1B
Dividends 28%85.0B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 64%193.3B
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2018
2018Earnings per share $3.76Free cash flow per share $4.28Dividend per share $2.36
2019
2019Earnings per share $4.65Dividend per share $2.42
2020Earnings per share $4.30Dividend per share $2.47
2021Earnings per share $5.32Dividend per share $2.52
2022Earnings per share $5.06Dividend per share $2.57
2023Earnings per share $2.76Dividend per share $2.62
2024Earnings per share $4.15Dividend per share $2.66
2025Earnings per share $4.06Dividend per share $2.71
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
4.1B4.2B4.2B4.2B4.2B4.2B
2018
2018Diluted shares 4.1B
2019
2019Diluted shares 4.1B
2020Diluted shares 4.1B
2021Diluted shares 4.2B
2022Diluted shares 4.2B
2023Diluted shares 4.2B
2024Diluted shares 4.2B
2025Diluted shares 4.2B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-20.0B-10.0B010.0B20.0B
2018
2018Net debt 4.4B
2019
2019Net debt 8.2B
2020Net debt -16.3B
2021Net debt 4.5B
2022Net debt 7.4B
2023Net debt 10.9B
2024Net debt 18.4B
2025Net debt -430.0M
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.0×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.91 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.53grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.09
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.23 × 3.26+0.76
Operating income ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.72+0.49
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.35 × 1.05+0.37
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.67below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.96+0.39
Sales growth 1.03+0.91
Slower depreciation 0.99+0.11
Overheads vs sales 0.97-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.23
Leverage rising 0.92-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.