SM · Energy(crude petroleum & natural gas) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
SM Energy Co reported revenue of $3.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -87.0% in 2016 to 31.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.77 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.2B+11.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin31.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—4.0% on average over 1 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 1.2BOperating income -1.1B
2017Revenue 1.1BOperating income -163.7M
2018Revenue 2.1BOperating income 836.3M
2019Revenue 1.6BOperating income -70.0M
2020Revenue 1.1BOperating income -1.1B
2021Revenue 2.6BOperating income 209.1M
2022Revenue 3.4BOperating income 1.6B
2023Revenue 2.4BOperating income 987.0M
2024Revenue 2.7BOperating income 1.1B
2025Revenue 3.2BOperating income 1.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-2.1%
+22.9%
+11.2%
Operating income
-14.1%
—
—
Net income
-16.5%
—
—
Earnings per share
-14.3%
—
—
Dividend per share
+71.6%
+109.1%
+25.8%
Shares
-2.5%
+0.2%
+4.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-100.0%-50.0%0.0%50.0%100.0%
2016Operating -87.0%Net -62.2%
2017Gross 55.0%Operating -14.5%Net -14.2%
2018Gross 76.4%Operating 40.5%Net 24.6%
2019Gross 68.5%Operating -4.4%Net -11.8%
2020Operating -94.9%Net -67.9%
2021Operating 8.0%Net 1.4%
2022Operating 47.0%Net 33.1%
2023Operating 41.6%Net 34.5%
2024Operating 40.0%Net 28.6%
2025Operating 31.7%Net 20.5%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
-40.0%-30.0%-20.0%-10.0%-0.0%10.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Return on invested capital -30.3%
2021Return on invested capital 4.0%
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
13.5%
Return on assets
7.0%
Asset turnover
0.34×
Overheads (SG&A)
5.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income -757.7M
2017Net income -160.8M
2018Net income 508.4M
2019Net income -187.0M
2020Net income -764.6M
2021Net income 36.2M
2022Net income 1.1B
2023Net income 818.0M
2024Net income 770.0M
2025Net income 648.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
11.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 3%314.6M
Share buybacks 3%384.2M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 94%10.9B
Over the same years it paid 224.4M in stock. The share count rose 50.2%. 159.8M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $-9.90Dividend per share $0.10
2017Earnings per share $-1.44Dividend per share $0.10
2018Earnings per share $4.48Dividend per share $0.10
2019Earnings per share $-1.66Dividend per share $0.10
2020Earnings per share $-6.72Dividend per share $0.02
2021Earnings per share $0.29Dividend per share $0.02
2022Earnings per share $8.96Dividend per share $0.16
2023Earnings per share $6.87Dividend per share $0.61
2024Earnings per share $6.64Dividend per share $0.73
2025Earnings per share $5.63Dividend per share $0.80
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
60.0M80.0M100.0M120.0M140.0M
2016Diluted shares 76.6M
2017Diluted shares 111.4M
2018Diluted shares 113.5M
2019Diluted shares 112.5M
2020Diluted shares 113.7M
2021Diluted shares 123.7M
2022Diluted shares 124.1M
2023Diluted shares 119.0M
2024Diluted shares 116.0M
2025Diluted shares 115.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020Net debt 2.2B
2021Net debt 1.7B
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.69 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 38d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.77safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.04 × 6.56-0.25
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.36 × 3.26+1.16
Operating income ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.72+0.73
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.08 × 1.05+1.14
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.14below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.78+0.72
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.49+0.60
Sales growth 1.17+1.05
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.15-0.69
Leverage rising 1.37-0.45
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$787,5722 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.