SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Hess Midstream LP

HESM · Energy (crude petroleum & natural gas) · 9 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Hess Midstream LP reported revenue of $1.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 13.7% a year over the previous 8 years. Its operating margin widened from 45.4% in 2017 to 62.2%. Of the $6.4 billion its operations generated over 9 years, 35.4% went to buybacks and 34.3% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 1.6B +13.7% a year over 8 years
Operating margin 62.2% gross margin —
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay 726.6M 44.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA 3.1× net debt 3.8B
Piotroski F-score 6/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs8 yrs
Revenue+8.3%+8.2%+13.7%
Operating income+8.4%+11.8%+18.3%
Net income+61.4%+71.2%+30.8%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
—
Return on assets
8.0%
Asset turnover
0.37×
Overheads (SG&A)
1.8% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 9 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025

6.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 34% 2.2B
  • Acquisitions 1% 89.2M
  • Dividends 0% 0
  • Share buybacks 35% 2.2B
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 29% 1.8B

Over the same years it paid 12.2M in stock. 2.2B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Shares outstanding

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.1×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.85 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 32d

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

6of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell failed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before passed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reported no data
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

-3.03below the -1.78 line
  • Receivables vs sales 0.98+0.90
  • Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
  • Soft assets 1.20+0.49
  • Sales growth 1.08+0.97
  • Slower depreciation 0.96+0.11
  • Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
  • Profit not in cash -0.14-0.67
  • Leverage rising 1.01-0.33

Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Net debt is 3.1 times EBITDA.

Benign

A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.

Worrying

Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +8.2% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 14.3%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 8 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines120 awards · 7 option exercises · 4 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
8 Mar 2026 Stein Jonathan C.Chief Executive Officer Exercised options 2,066 — — 62,011
8 Mar 2026 Stein Jonathan C.Chief Executive Officer Shares withheld for taxes 1,048 $38.92 $40,788 60,963
8 Mar 2026 Reddy J PatrickDirector Exercised options 1,612 — — 24,437
8 Mar 2026 Letwin Stephen J JDirector Exercised options 1,612 — — 32,423
8 Mar 2026 Bast Michael ScottPresident and COO Exercised options 1,327 — — 2,127
8 Mar 2026 Bast Michael ScottPresident and COO Shares withheld for taxes 344 $38.92 $13,388 1,783
8 Mar 2026 Bast Michael ScottPresident and COO Exercised options 1,189 — — 2,972
8 Mar 2026 Bast Michael ScottPresident and COO Shares withheld for taxes 308 $38.92 $11,987 2,664
8 Mar 2026 Bast Michael ScottPresident and COO Exercised options 929 — — 3,593
8 Mar 2026 Bast Michael ScottPresident and COO Shares withheld for taxes 241 $38.92 $9,380 3,352
8 Mar 2026 Niemiec David WDirector Exercised options 1,612 — — 50,527
4 Mar 2026 Chevron CorpDirector Other · indirect 455,811 — — 77.8M

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Tudor Investment 30 Jun 2026 654,959 $24.6M 0.1% Reduced
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 149,973 $5.6M 0.0% Added to

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (crude petroleum & natural gas) first, then the rest of energy.

Every figure, year by year

9 fiscal years · 30 measures
201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue579.5M712.7M848.3M1.1B1.2B1.3B1.3B1.5B1.6B
Revenue growth—+23.0%+19.0%+28.7%+10.2%+5.9%+5.8%+10.9%+8.4%
Operating income263.1M378.2M376.6M576.5M727.2M791.2M816.9M919.0M1.0B
Net income41.2M70.8M70.1M24.0M46.4M83.9M118.6M223.1M352.9M
Margins
Gross margin—————————
Operating margin45.4%53.1%44.4%52.8%60.4%62.0%60.6%61.5%62.2%
Net margin7.1%9.9%8.3%2.2%3.9%6.6%8.8%14.9%21.8%
Free cash flow margin33.2%31.6%19.4%31.2%52.5%48.8%47.7%42.4%44.9%
R&D ÷ revenue—————————
SG&A ÷ revenue2.4%2.0%6.2%1.9%1.9%1.8%1.9%1.7%1.8%
Cash
Free cash flow192.3M225.0M164.3M340.6M632.3M622.9M642.9M634.2M728.2M
Stock-based pay200,000900,0001.5M1.5M1.4M1.6M1.7M1.8M1.6M
Free cash flow after stock pay192.1M224.1M162.8M339.1M630.9M621.3M641.2M632.4M726.6M
Free cash flow to the firm——212.6M423.7M712.8M701.8M751.6M705.2M808.1M
Free cash flow ÷ net income4.7×3.2×2.3×14.2×13.6×7.4×5.4×2.8×2.1×
Capex ÷ revenue24.9%33.9%36.1%27.6%13.6%18.7%16.6%20.5%15.8%
Returns
Return on invested capital—————————
Return on equity—————————
Return on assets—2.4%2.1%0.7%1.3%2.3%3.1%5.4%8.0%
Asset turnover—0.2×0.3×0.3×0.3×0.4×0.4×0.4×0.4×
Economic profit—————————
Per share
Earnings per share—————————
Free cash flow per share—————————
Dividend per share—————————
Payout ratio—————————
Book value per share—————————
Diluted shares—————————
Balance sheet
Net debt—871.8M1.8B1.9B2.6B2.9B3.2B3.5B3.8B
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—1.7×3.4×2.6×2.9×3.0×3.2×3.1×3.1×
Interest coverage—————————
Current ratio—1.3×0.5×0.8×0.8×0.8×0.7×0.7×0.8×
Cash conversion cycle (days)—————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—24556576
Altman Z''—————————
Beneish M——-3.01-3.01-3.35-3.39-3.27-2.99-3.03

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.