SIGI · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Selective Insurance Group Inc reported revenue of $5.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 9.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 10.6% in 2016 to 12.0%. Of the $6.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 8.7% went to dividends; the share count rose 3.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20255.3B+9.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin12.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—9.5% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.2B21.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Revenue 2.3BOperating income 242.7M
2017Revenue 2.5BOperating income 286.3M
2018Revenue 2.6BOperating income 236.1M
2019Revenue 2.8BOperating income 370.1M
2020Revenue 2.9BOperating income 333.8M
2021Revenue 3.4BOperating income 534.5M
2022Revenue 3.6BOperating income 309.0M
2023Revenue 4.2BOperating income 487.2M
2024Revenue 4.9BOperating income 286.9M
2025Revenue 5.3BOperating income 638.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+14.5%
+12.8%
+9.9%
Operating income
+27.4%
+13.9%
+11.4%
Net income
+27.5%
+13.6%
+12.7%
Earnings per share
+27.4%
+13.3%
+12.3%
Free cash flow per share
+15.3%
+17.3%
—
Dividend per share
+11.4%
+11.0%
+11.4%
Shares
+0.1%
+0.3%
+0.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Operating 10.6%Net 6.9%
2017Operating 11.6%Net 6.8%
2018Operating 9.1%Net 6.9%Free cash flow 17.0%
2019Operating 13.0%Net 9.5%Free cash flow 15.7%
2020Operating 11.4%Net 8.4%Free cash flow 18.2%
2021Operating 15.8%Net 12.0%Free cash flow 22.2%
2022Operating 8.7%Net 6.3%Free cash flow 21.8%
2023Operating 11.5%Net 8.6%Free cash flow 17.4%
2024Operating 5.9%Net 4.3%Free cash flow 22.0%
2025Operating 12.0%Net 8.7%Free cash flow 22.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Return on invested capital 8.9%
2017Return on invested capital 8.6%
2018Return on invested capital 8.9%
2019Return on invested capital 10.9%
2020Return on invested capital 8.3%
2021Return on invested capital 12.2%
2022Return on invested capital 8.2%
2023Return on invested capital 11.2%
2024Return on invested capital 6.3%
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M
2016Economic profit -25.4M
2017Economic profit -34.3M
2018Economic profit -27.4M
2019Economic profit 19.6M
2020Economic profit -63.1M
2021Economic profit 72.3M
2022Economic profit -60.3M
2023Economic profit 36.5M
2024Economic profit -138.8M
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
12.9%
Return on assets
3.1%
Asset turnover
0.35×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 158.5M
2017Net income 168.8M
2018Net income 178.9MFree cash flow 438.8MAfter stock-based pay 424.3M
2019Net income 271.6MFree cash flow 446.5MAfter stock-based pay 427.4M
2020Net income 246.4MFree cash flow 532.0MAfter stock-based pay 515.8M
2021Net income 403.8MFree cash flow 749.3MAfter stock-based pay 733.4M
2022Net income 224.9MFree cash flow 776.4MAfter stock-based pay 758.0M
2023Net income 365.2MFree cash flow 736.3MAfter stock-based pay 717.9M
2024Net income 207.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2025Net income 466.4MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
6.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 3%209.5M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 9%593.8M
Share buybacks 3%176.3M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 86%5.9B
Over the same years it paid 170.9M in stock. The share count rose 3.9%. 5.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2016Earnings per share $2.70Dividend per share $0.57
2017Earnings per share $2.84Dividend per share $0.62
2018Earnings per share $3.00Free cash flow per share $7.35Dividend per share $0.70
2019Earnings per share $4.53Free cash flow per share $7.44Dividend per share $0.79
2020Earnings per share $4.09Free cash flow per share $8.82Dividend per share $0.90
2021Earnings per share $6.66Free cash flow per share $12.35Dividend per share $0.99
2022Earnings per share $3.69Free cash flow per share $12.75Dividend per share $1.10
2023Earnings per share $5.99Free cash flow per share $12.08Dividend per share $1.21
2024Earnings per share $3.38Free cash flow per share $17.45Dividend per share $1.39
2025Earnings per share $7.64Free cash flow per share $19.56Dividend per share $1.52
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
58.0M59.0M60.0M61.0M62.0M
2016Diluted shares 58.7M
2017Diluted shares 59.4M
2018Diluted shares 59.7M
2019Diluted shares 60.0M
2020Diluted shares 60.3M
2021Diluted shares 60.7M
2022Diluted shares 60.9M
2023Diluted shares 61.0M
2024Diluted shares 61.3M
2025Diluted shares 61.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net debt 401.3M
2017Net debt 394.4M
2018Net debt 422.6M
2019Net debt 542.6M
2020Net debt 535.5M
2021Net debt 461.0M
2022Net debt 479.5M
2023Net debt 490.7M
2024Net debt 444.9M
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
13× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$131.19discounted at 10.2% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
17.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
11.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.5×
Free cash flow yield
14.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today3.8B
Everything after, today4.2B
The whole business8.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders8.0B
Divided among 61.1M shares: <strong>$131.19</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016
2017
2018Reported 424.3M
2019Reported 427.4M
2020Reported 515.8M
2021Reported 733.4M
2022Reported 758.0M
2023Reported 717.9M
2024Reported 1.0B
2025Reported 1.2B
2026Projected 445.0M
2027Projected 497.7M
2028Projected 550.8M
2029Projected 603.1M
2030Projected 653.4M
2031Projected 700.2M
2032Projected 742.2M
2033Projected 778.1M
2034Projected 806.6M
2035Projected 826.8M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
6.0B
6.7B
7.5B
8.2B
8.9B
9.5B
10.1B
10.5B
10.9B
11.2B
Growth
13.0%
11.8%
10.7%
9.5%
8.3%
7.2%
6.0%
4.8%
3.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
7.4%
Free cash flow
445.0M
497.7M
550.8M
603.1M
653.4M
700.2M
742.2M
778.1M
806.6M
826.8M
Worth today
404.0M
410.1M
411.9M
409.4M
402.6M
391.6M
376.8M
358.5M
337.4M
313.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
136
143
152
162
174
9.7%
127
133
141
150
160
10.2%
119
125
131
139
147
10.7%
112
117
123
129
136
11.2%
106
110
115
121
127
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
9.0%
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
5.9%
95
103
111
120
129
6.6%
103
112
121
131
141
7.4%
112
121
131
142
153
8.1%
121
131
141
153
165
8.9%
129
140
152
164
178
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$89.95
Median$131.26
90th percentile$186.72
$100.00$150.00$200.00$250.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$108.35</b> and <b>$158.28</b>; one in ten below $89.95, one in ten above $186.72.
Does the long run make sense?
7.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 7.8 times that year's EBITDA.
11%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 22% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 11% on the new capital — it has earned 9% on average over the last five years.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 20.9%) = <strong>5.28%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.6M1 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.